A computer components & hardware forum. HardwareBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » HardwareBanter forum » Processors » AMD x86-64 Processors
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

Athlon 64 questions



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old August 8th 04, 08:31 AM
Mike B
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Athlon 64 questions

My new athlon XP system just got fried..

I have some questions. I've heard the Athlon64 3200+ can beat a P4 3.2 EE in
most tests. Is this true, and is there any reason why one would buy the P4
over the A64 other than bias?

Also, i'm a bit confused now.. I see A64 3200+ listed at pricewatch.. some
are listed as 1600mhz, and some listed at 2.2ghz. is the 1600mhz just
describing the fsb? and do they all run at 2.2ghz?

Lastly, i see there are some that have 1mb of cache as apposed to 512 for
around the same price. Is there a catch that i'm missing?

--
www.geocities.com/mtb2k -personal website


  #2  
Old August 8th 04, 09:04 AM
George Hizinwak
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default


"Mike B" wrote in message
news:[email protected]_s02...
My new athlon XP system just got fried..

I have some questions. I've heard the Athlon64 3200+ can beat a P4 3.2 EE
in
most tests. Is this true, and is there any reason why one would buy the P4
over the A64 other than bias?

Also, i'm a bit confused now.. I see A64 3200+ listed at pricewatch.. some
are listed as 1600mhz, and some listed at 2.2ghz. is the 1600mhz just
describing the fsb? and do they all run at 2.2ghz?

Lastly, i see there are some that have 1mb of cache as apposed to 512 for
around the same price. Is there a catch that i'm missing?

--
www.geocities.com/mtb2k -personal website



Mike, your best bet would be to get an AMD XP 3500 939pin cpu, with a 939pin
based motherboard. This way you can get up to 4gigs of DDRAM without losing
speed. This combo uses Dual memory channel while the 754 design uses single
memory channel and thus when you use the 3rd DIMM slot the memory slows
down.



  #3  
Old August 8th 04, 01:33 PM
Derek Baker
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

George Hizinwak wrote:
"Mike B" wrote in message
news:[email protected]_s02...
My new athlon XP system just got fried..

I have some questions. I've heard the Athlon64 3200+ can beat a P4
3.2 EE in
most tests. Is this true, and is there any reason why one would buy
the P4 over the A64 other than bias?

Also, i'm a bit confused now.. I see A64 3200+ listed at
pricewatch.. some are listed as 1600mhz, and some listed at 2.2ghz.
is the 1600mhz just describing the fsb? and do they all run at
2.2ghz?

Lastly, i see there are some that have 1mb of cache as apposed to
512 for around the same price. Is there a catch that i'm missing?

--
www.geocities.com/mtb2k -personal website



Mike, your best bet would be to get an AMD XP 3500 939pin cpu, with a
939pin based motherboard. This way you can get up to 4gigs of DDRAM
without losing speed. This combo uses Dual memory channel while the
754 design uses single memory channel and thus when you use the 3rd
DIMM slot the memory slows down.


When you say slows down, what are you referring to: clock speed or timings?

--
Derek


  #4  
Old August 8th 04, 01:39 PM
Derek Baker
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Mike B wrote:
My new athlon XP system just got fried..

I have some questions. I've heard the Athlon64 3200+ can beat a P4
3.2 EE in most tests. Is this true, and is there any reason why one
would buy the P4 over the A64 other than bias?


I'd say some tests, rather than most.

You'd buy the P4 if media encoding was your main task.

Also, i'm a bit confused now.. I see A64 3200+ listed at pricewatch..
some are listed as 1600mhz, and some listed at 2.2ghz. is the 1600mhz
just describing the fsb? and do they all run at 2.2ghz?


Older 3200+s run at 2Ghz, newer ones at 2.2Ghz.

Lastly, I see there are some that have 1mb of cache as apposed to 512
for around the same price. Is there a catch that I'm missing?


Not much.

The 2Ghz models have 1Mb, the 2.2Ghz ones have 512Kb. The reduction makes
very little difference to the Athlon 64 - they upped the clock speed anyway
on those models - and it makes the chips cheaper to produce.

--
Derek


  #5  
Old August 8th 04, 01:57 PM
Derek Baker
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

George Hizinwak wrote:
"Mike B" wrote in message
news:[email protected]_s02...
My new athlon XP system just got fried..

I have some questions. I've heard the Athlon64 3200+ can beat a P4
3.2 EE in
most tests. Is this true, and is there any reason why one would buy
the P4 over the A64 other than bias?

Also, i'm a bit confused now.. I see A64 3200+ listed at
pricewatch.. some are listed as 1600mhz, and some listed at 2.2ghz.
is the 1600mhz just describing the fsb? and do they all run at
2.2ghz?

Lastly, i see there are some that have 1mb of cache as apposed to
512 for around the same price. Is there a catch that i'm missing?

--
www.geocities.com/mtb2k -personal website



Mike, your best bet would be to get an AMD XP 3500 939pin cpu, with a
939pin based motherboard. This way you can get up to 4gigs of DDRAM
without losing speed. This combo uses Dual memory channel while the
754 design uses single memory channel and thus when you use the 3rd
DIMM slot the memory slows down.


Assuming he needs that much memory. I've just ordered a Socket 754 K8N Neo
Platinum which 'only' takes 2GB. Its manual states it will run three DIMMs
at DDR400 speeds, the main reason I bought it.

--
Derek


  #6  
Old August 8th 04, 04:09 PM
Jason Cothran
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default


"Derek Baker" wrote in message
...
| George Hizinwak wrote:
| "Mike B" wrote in message
| news:[email protected]_s02...
| My new athlon XP system just got fried..
|
| I have some questions. I've heard the Athlon64 3200+ can beat a P4
| 3.2 EE in
| most tests. Is this true, and is there any reason why one would buy
| the P4 over the A64 other than bias?
|
| Also, i'm a bit confused now.. I see A64 3200+ listed at
| pricewatch.. some are listed as 1600mhz, and some listed at 2.2ghz.
| is the 1600mhz just describing the fsb? and do they all run at
| 2.2ghz?
|
| Lastly, i see there are some that have 1mb of cache as apposed to
| 512 for around the same price. Is there a catch that i'm missing?
|
| --
| www.geocities.com/mtb2k -personal website
|
|
|
| Mike, your best bet would be to get an AMD XP 3500 939pin cpu, with a
| 939pin based motherboard. This way you can get up to 4gigs of DDRAM
| without losing speed. This combo uses Dual memory channel while the
| 754 design uses single memory channel and thus when you use the 3rd
| DIMM slot the memory slows down.
|
| When you say slows down, what are you referring to: clock speed or
timings?
|

Latency slow downs associated with ECC registered RAM is what is likely
talking about.


  #7  
Old August 8th 04, 04:16 PM
Jason Cothran
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default


"Derek Baker" wrote in message
...
| Mike B wrote:
| My new athlon XP system just got fried..
|
| I have some questions. I've heard the Athlon64 3200+ can beat a P4
| 3.2 EE in most tests. Is this true, and is there any reason why one
| would buy the P4 over the A64 other than bias?
|
| I'd say some tests, rather than most.

Most is definately more accurate.

|
| You'd buy the P4 if media encoding was your main task.
|

Which is why most is the most accurate. That's pretty much it for the P4
crowd.

| Also, i'm a bit confused now.. I see A64 3200+ listed at pricewatch..
| some are listed as 1600mhz, and some listed at 2.2ghz. is the 1600mhz
| just describing the fsb? and do they all run at 2.2ghz?
|
| Older 3200+s run at 2Ghz, newer ones at 2.2Ghz.

Ignore the 1600MHz. That is the HTT speed.

Clawhammer processors are the 2GHz, 1MB cache ones. Newcastle cores are the
2.2GHz, 512KB cache ones

|
| Lastly, I see there are some that have 1mb of cache as apposed to 512
| for around the same price. Is there a catch that I'm missing?
|
| Not much.
|
| The 2Ghz models have 1Mb, the 2.2Ghz ones have 512Kb. The reduction makes
| very little difference to the Athlon 64 - they upped the clock speed
anyway
| on those models - and it makes the chips cheaper to produce.
|


  #8  
Old August 8th 04, 04:52 PM
Wes Newell
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

On Sun, 08 Aug 2004 07:31:40 +0000, Mike B wrote:

My new athlon XP system just got fried..

I have some questions. I've heard the Athlon64 3200+ can beat a P4 3.2 EE in
most tests.


Yes.

Is this true, and is there any reason why one would buy the P4
over the A64 other than bias?

Some apps that make use of HT will outperform the A64. If you use these a
lot, then a P4 might be the way to go.

Also, i'm a bit confused now.. I see A64 3200+ listed at pricewatch..
some are listed as 1600mhz, and some listed at 2.2ghz. is the 1600mhz
just describing the fsb? and do they all run at 2.2ghz?

The 1600MHz is referring to the hypertransport bus.AFAIK, there's two
models of the 3200+, one is 2GHz with 1M cache, the other is 2.2GHz with
512K cache. Get the 2.2 model. It will be faster in most cases.

Lastly, i see there are some that have 1mb of cache as apposed to 512
for around the same price. Is there a catch that i'm missing?


The clock speed of the cpu is faster on the one with less cache.. There's
many reviews of all the models at tech sites. I suggest you review them
for your applications.before buying. Since the bandwidth of the onboard
controller is so much better than the older method, dual channel doesn't
really bring a lot to the table except to get in your pocketbook. Socket
754 is very close to the performance of 939 all other things being equal.
But the max cpu speed slated for 754 is 3700+, so if you want faster than
that now then 939 would be the way to go. Otherwise, save your cash.
Prices are changing daily, so do your homework.

--
Abit KT7-Raid (KT133) Tbred B core CPU @2400MHz (24x100FSB)
http://mysite.verizon.net/res0exft/cpu.htm
  #9  
Old August 8th 04, 08:44 PM
Derek Baker
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Jason Cothran wrote:
"Derek Baker" wrote in message
...
George Hizinwak wrote:
"Mike B" wrote in message
news:[email protected]_s02...
My new athlon XP system just got fried..

I have some questions. I've heard the Athlon64 3200+ can beat a P4
3.2 EE in
most tests. Is this true, and is there any reason why one would buy
the P4 over the A64 other than bias?

Also, i'm a bit confused now.. I see A64 3200+ listed at
pricewatch.. some are listed as 1600mhz, and some listed at 2.2ghz.
is the 1600mhz just describing the fsb? and do they all run at
2.2ghz?

Lastly, i see there are some that have 1mb of cache as apposed to
512 for around the same price. Is there a catch that i'm missing?

--
www.geocities.com/mtb2k -personal website



Mike, your best bet would be to get an AMD XP 3500 939pin cpu, with
a 939pin based motherboard. This way you can get up to 4gigs of
DDRAM without losing speed. This combo uses Dual memory channel
while the 754 design uses single memory channel and thus when you
use the 3rd DIMM slot the memory slows down.


When you say slows down, what are you referring to: clock speed or
timings?


Latency slow downs associated with ECC registered RAM is what is
likely talking about.


Or possibly that some motherboards fall back to DDR333 with three DIMMs, for
example the K8N-E Deluxe that I also considered, and rejected for that
reason.

--
Derek


  #10  
Old August 13th 04, 02:27 PM
David Efflandt
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

On Sun, 08 Aug 2004 07:31:40 GMT, Mike B wrote:
My new athlon XP system just got fried..

I have some questions. I've heard the Athlon64 3200+ can beat a P4 3.2 EE in
most tests. Is this true, and is there any reason why one would buy the P4
over the A64 other than bias?


I when I compared my Dell P4 3 GHz Hyperthreaded PC3200 dual channel at
work with my HP Athlon64 3200+ (2GHz) PC3200 single channel at home, the
P4 beat the AMD64 in all Sandra math, multimedia, and memory tests. Yet
3DMark03 results with the same exact video card (FX 5700LE) were faster on
the AMD64. But it is not a fast enough video card to be cpu limited.
Bumping up HTT 10% on the 1g cache AMD64, which bumped cpu to 2.2 GHz, RAM
to 440, PCI bus (everything except AGP), bumped Sandra scores 10%, but had
almost no effect on 3DMark03 or Doom3 timedemo.

So maybe my AMD64's 1200 MHz FSB with 400 MHz interleave RAM is close to
P4's slightly faster math, 800 MHz FSB and dual-channel RAM in certain
tasks. Note that P4 RAM access in this case was only 68% efficient vs.
95% for the AMD64. So 1200/800 = 1.5 AMD vs. 68 * 2 / 95 = 1.43 P4
plus its math advantage which varies by test.

--
David Efflandt - All spam ignored http://www.de-srv.com/
 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Questions on MSI Athlon 64 Socket 754 MOBOs [email protected] General 3 November 30th 04 10:26 PM
How do I set my new AMD Athlon XP 2600+ 333FSB to 333FBS on my Asus A7N8X Deluxe mobo (and other questions)? TIA! Dunny Rummy Overclocking AMD Processors 1 December 19th 03 08:50 AM
Slowest Athlon 64 humbles fastest P4 in gaming Tone-EQ Overclocking AMD Processors 1 December 15th 03 05:09 PM
Athlon XP questions Aragorn General 8 August 20th 03 02:39 AM
quick questions regarding Athlon XP fred.do General 4 June 25th 03 06:07 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2022 HardwareBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.