A computer components & hardware forum. HardwareBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » HardwareBanter forum » Video Cards » Nvidia Videocards
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

Tweaking Doom3



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old August 10th 04, 06:37 PM
orlando
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Tweaking Doom3

http://ucguides.savagehelp.com/Doom3/FPSVisuals.htm

I followed the instructions there (i didnt creat an autoexec.cfg though,
i just pasted the tweak into base/Doomconfig.cfg) my performance jumped
from 13 to 40 fps (800*60,High Quality) (!!!)

Sys:[email protected],256MB [email protected],GF4 [email protected]/650

inredible! Try it!
  #2  
Old August 10th 04, 07:00 PM
Eric
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I wouldn't do it, unless you have low level vid card/CPU. I don't want to
compromise visual quality. Doom3 is all about visual quality.


"orlando" wrote in message
...
http://ucguides.savagehelp.com/Doom3/FPSVisuals.htm

I followed the instructions there (i didnt creat an autoexec.cfg though,
i just pasted the tweak into base/Doomconfig.cfg) my performance jumped
from 13 to 40 fps (800*60,High Quality) (!!!)

Sys:[email protected],256MB [email protected],GF4 [email protected]/650

inredible! Try it!



  #3  
Old August 10th 04, 07:48 PM
Granulated
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

On Tue, 10 Aug 2004 14:00:00 -0400 "Eric" meeped :

I wouldn't do it, unless you have low level vid card/CPU. I don't want to
compromise visual quality. Doom3 is all about visual quality.


yeh...doesn't it look...well..weird...without bumps.

--


) ___ ______
(__/_____) /) (, / )
/ __ _ (/ _ /---( __ _/_ _
/ (_(_/ (_(__/ )_(_(_ ) / ____)(_(_/ (_(__/_)_
(______) (_/ (

  #4  
Old August 10th 04, 09:17 PM
McGrandpa
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

orlando wrote:
http://ucguides.savagehelp.com/Doom3/FPSVisuals.htm

I followed the instructions there (i didnt creat an autoexec.cfg
though, i just pasted the tweak into base/Doomconfig.cfg) my
performance jumped from 13 to 40 fps (800*60,High Quality) (!!!)

Sys:[email protected],256MB [email protected],GF4 [email protected]/650

inredible! Try it!


I just discovered last night that if I don't put some things in an
autoexec.cfg then Doom often edits and excises certain entries. Like
seta com_allowConsole "1" gets removed from Doomconfig.cfg but stays put
in the autoexec.cfg

It's also easier to tweakruntweakrun keeping the autoexec open and
editing that, it's got a lot less in it.
McG.


  #5  
Old August 15th 04, 08:59 PM
First of One
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Anyone serious about play Doom3 online will probably turn off bumpmapping
and all the shadows. :-) For one thing, it should improve performance
dramatically. It also removes all the dark ambush spots.

--
"War is the continuation of politics by other means.
It can therefore be said that politics is war without
bloodshed while war is politics with bloodshed."


"Granulated" wrote in message
...
On Tue, 10 Aug 2004 14:00:00 -0400 "Eric" meeped :

I wouldn't do it, unless you have low level vid card/CPU. I don't want

to
compromise visual quality. Doom3 is all about visual quality.


yeh...doesn't it look...well..weird...without bumps.

--


) ___ ______
(__/_____) /) (, / )
/ __ _ (/ _ /---( __ _/_ _
/ (_(_/ (_(__/ )_(_(_ ) / ____)(_(_/ (_(__/_)_
(______) (_/ (



  #6  
Old August 15th 04, 09:14 PM
PRIVATE1964
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Anyone serious about play Doom3 online will probably turn off bumpmapping

Without bumps though wouldn't life be boring?
  #7  
Old August 15th 04, 10:54 PM
Biz
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default


"PRIVATE1964" wrote in message
...
Anyone serious about play Doom3 online will probably turn off bumpmapping


Without bumps though wouldn't life be boring?


Unfortunately the sad fact remains that online players are looking for one
thing, a way to get any advantage possible over the other online players.
They couldnt care less about PQ online.


 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DOOM3 on P4P800E deluxe 9800Pro ??? Art Simpson Asus Motherboards 5 August 11th 04 10:31 PM
Doom3 vs system shock 2 Dreamaker Ati Videocards 9 August 6th 04 07:40 PM
Tweaking guide all nVidia Cards..... IINet News Server Nvidia Videocards 2 May 28th 04 03:36 PM
Any new beta news on HL2 or Doom3 Jim Nvidia Videocards 3 February 13th 04 10:37 AM
confusion about doom3 vs HL2 benchmarks Sumedh Nvidia Videocards 15 September 16th 03 03:44 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2022 HardwareBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.