A computer components & hardware forum. HardwareBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » HardwareBanter forum » Video Cards » Nvidia Videocards
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

Slow loading application



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old September 10th 03, 04:30 AM
Joseph Lee Jennings
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Slow loading application

Hello,

I have been lurking in the newsgroup but i have hit a wall and wanted to =
run this by the experts. We have a form in our paradox 8 application =
that has 12 buttons with bitmaps and a section of the form is multab =
with 6 tabs that are user selected based on the button pressed. the =
problem i have run in to is we have been using a intel 850e motherboard =
with a nvidia gf2 video card and drivers. recently i switched our =
hardware to a 865perl motherboard. main differences between the builds =
is 850e board was rdram and a 533fsb cpu. the new board is ddr400 and =
800fsb. the old board had no problems with this form but the new =
hardware is having a hard time drawing the buttons and tabs. again this =
is this one form within our app.
has anyone found a similar problem and fixed it?

thanks to all who respond
Joe
  #2  
Old September 10th 03, 08:38 AM
Ron Merts
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Did you upgrade the CPU too, or are you still using the same CPU chip? If
you are using the original CPU then you really are only getting DDR266 or
maybe DDR333 speeds (320Mhz actually) so you are defeating the whole purpose
of the DDR400 and Dual-channel memory. Also, make certain your DIMMs are in
bank A and one in bank B (same position) or else you will be in
single-channel mode. If you have an "Intel board" going into the BIOS setup
will tell you what speed your memory is running and if you are in
dual-channel or single channel mode.

Ron

"Joseph Lee Jennings" wrote in message
...
Hello,

I have been lurking in the newsgroup but i have hit a wall and wanted to run
this by the experts. We have a form in our paradox 8 application that has 12
buttons with bitmaps and a section of the form is multab with 6 tabs that
are user selected based on the button pressed. the problem i have run in to
is we have been using a intel 850e motherboard with a nvidia gf2 video card
and drivers. recently i switched our hardware to a 865perl motherboard. main
differences between the builds is 850e board was rdram and a 533fsb cpu. the
new board is ddr400 and 800fsb. the old board had no problems with this form
but the new hardware is having a hard time drawing the buttons and tabs.
again this is this one form within our app.
has anyone found a similar problem and fixed it?

thanks to all who respond
Joe


  #3  
Old September 10th 03, 11:56 AM
Joseph Lee Jennings
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Ron,

I went to the new p4 2.4 800fsb at the same time as for the memory i =
originally was only
installing 1 stick of ddr400 and did not realize 2 was needed until the =
other day. right now
the test machine has 2 256meg ddr400 and the bios shows us in dual mode =
as well as 800fsb=20
the new board configuation i also have the gf fx5200ef by albatron. i =
tried all the driver sets from=20
the latest back to 43.51 and it seemed to improve then after verifying =
it somewhat worked better
with 43.51 it just quit working and i am back at a slow loading form.
we ordered a ati and a matrox card for today as my developer thinks it =
might be a compatibility issue between nvidia cards and the intel =
865perl motherboard.


=20
"Ron Merts" wrote in message =
...
Did you upgrade the CPU too, or are you still using the same CPU chip? =

If
you are using the original CPU then you really are only getting DDR266 =

or
maybe DDR333 speeds (320Mhz actually) so you are defeating the whole =

purpose
of the DDR400 and Dual-channel memory. Also, make certain your DIMMs =

are in
bank A and one in bank B (same position) or else you will be in
single-channel mode. If you have an "Intel board" going into the BIOS =

setup
will tell you what speed your memory is running and if you are in
dual-channel or single channel mode.
=20
Ron
=20
"Joseph Lee Jennings" wrote in message
...
Hello,
=20
I have been lurking in the newsgroup but i have hit a wall and wanted =

to run
this by the experts. We have a form in our paradox 8 application that =

has 12
buttons with bitmaps and a section of the form is multab with 6 tabs =

that
are user selected based on the button pressed. the problem i have run =

in to
is we have been using a intel 850e motherboard with a nvidia gf2 video =

card
and drivers. recently i switched our hardware to a 865perl =

motherboard. main
differences between the builds is 850e board was rdram and a 533fsb =

cpu. the
new board is ddr400 and 800fsb. the old board had no problems with =

this form
but the new hardware is having a hard time drawing the buttons and =

tabs.
again this is this one form within our app.
has anyone found a similar problem and fixed it?
=20
thanks to all who respond
Joe
=20

  #4  
Old September 12th 03, 09:05 AM
Ron Merts
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Maybe, but probably not. I've used an eVGA FX 5200 (128Mb, 128-bit
datapath) and an eVGA FX 5900 Ultra on a 865PERLK motherboard with no
problems. On your video card, does it had 4 or 8 memory chips? If you see
only 4 then that's probably your culprit as you most likely have a 64-bit
datapath version of the card - which equals REALLY slow performance video
wise.

Ron

"Joseph Lee Jennings" wrote in message
...
Ron,

I went to the new p4 2.4 800fsb at the same time as for the memory i
originally was only
installing 1 stick of ddr400 and did not realize 2 was needed until the
other day. right now
the test machine has 2 256meg ddr400 and the bios shows us in dual mode as
well as 800fsb
the new board configuation i also have the gf fx5200ef by albatron. i tried
all the driver sets from
the latest back to 43.51 and it seemed to improve then after verifying it
somewhat worked better
with 43.51 it just quit working and i am back at a slow loading form.
we ordered a ati and a matrox card for today as my developer thinks it might
be a compatibility issue between nvidia cards and the intel 865perl
motherboard.



"Ron Merts" wrote in message
...
Did you upgrade the CPU too, or are you still using the same CPU chip? If
you are using the original CPU then you really are only getting DDR266 or
maybe DDR333 speeds (320Mhz actually) so you are defeating the whole

purpose
of the DDR400 and Dual-channel memory. Also, make certain your DIMMs are

in
bank A and one in bank B (same position) or else you will be in
single-channel mode. If you have an "Intel board" going into the BIOS

setup
will tell you what speed your memory is running and if you are in
dual-channel or single channel mode.

Ron

"Joseph Lee Jennings" wrote in message
...
Hello,

I have been lurking in the newsgroup but i have hit a wall and wanted to

run
this by the experts. We have a form in our paradox 8 application that has

12
buttons with bitmaps and a section of the form is multab with 6 tabs that
are user selected based on the button pressed. the problem i have run in

to
is we have been using a intel 850e motherboard with a nvidia gf2 video

card
and drivers. recently i switched our hardware to a 865perl motherboard.

main
differences between the builds is 850e board was rdram and a 533fsb cpu.

the
new board is ddr400 and 800fsb. the old board had no problems with this

form
but the new hardware is having a hard time drawing the buttons and tabs.
again this is this one form within our app.
has anyone found a similar problem and fixed it?

thanks to all who respond
Joe




  #5  
Old September 14th 03, 10:29 AM
Joseph Lee Jennings
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Ron,

I checked the card and it is the albatron fx5200ep and it is the 64bit =
version.=20
One question would be why the mem bus would cause us not to be able to =
load a form with about a dozen bitmaps into system ram then to video. =
unless the 64bit bottlenecks when system ram tries to push it to video =
ram. this would be a design flaw in the video card subsystem i would =
think?

the older parts we used on the old motherboard was the abit gf2mx400 =
then the albatron gf2 mx400 but i will have to try and find out the =
exact part numbers as both mfg had 64bit and 128 bit versions of these =
cards as well.

unless it is the new 8xagp bus thinking it is faster than it is hence =
causing a bottleneck.=20

Joe

"Ron Merts" wrote in message =
...
Maybe, but probably not. I've used an eVGA FX 5200 (128Mb, 128-bit
datapath) and an eVGA FX 5900 Ultra on a 865PERLK motherboard with no
problems. On your video card, does it had 4 or 8 memory chips? If =

you see
only 4 then that's probably your culprit as you most likely have a =

64-bit
datapath version of the card - which equals REALLY slow performance =

video
wise.
=20
Ron
=20
"Joseph Lee Jennings" wrote in message
...
Ron,
=20
I went to the new p4 2.4 800fsb at the same time as for the memory i
originally was only
installing 1 stick of ddr400 and did not realize 2 was needed until =

the
other day. right now
the test machine has 2 256meg ddr400 and the bios shows us in dual =

mode as
well as 800fsb
the new board configuation i also have the gf fx5200ef by albatron. i =

tried
all the driver sets from
the latest back to 43.51 and it seemed to improve then after verifying =

it
somewhat worked better
with 43.51 it just quit working and i am back at a slow loading form.
we ordered a ati and a matrox card for today as my developer thinks it =

might
be a compatibility issue between nvidia cards and the intel 865perl
motherboard.
=20
=20
=20
"Ron Merts" wrote in message
...
Did you upgrade the CPU too, or are you still using the same CPU =

chip? If
you are using the original CPU then you really are only getting =

DDR266 or
maybe DDR333 speeds (320Mhz actually) so you are defeating the whole

purpose
of the DDR400 and Dual-channel memory. Also, make certain your =

DIMMs are
in
bank A and one in bank B (same position) or else you will be in
single-channel mode. If you have an "Intel board" going into the =

BIOS
setup
will tell you what speed your memory is running and if you are in
dual-channel or single channel mode.

Ron

"Joseph Lee Jennings" wrote in message
...
Hello,

I have been lurking in the newsgroup but i have hit a wall and =

wanted to
run
this by the experts. We have a form in our paradox 8 application =

that has
12
buttons with bitmaps and a section of the form is multab with 6 tabs =

that
are user selected based on the button pressed. the problem i have =

run in
to
is we have been using a intel 850e motherboard with a nvidia gf2 =

video
card
and drivers. recently i switched our hardware to a 865perl =

motherboard.
main
differences between the builds is 850e board was rdram and a 533fsb =

cpu.
the
new board is ddr400 and 800fsb. the old board had no problems with =

this
form
but the new hardware is having a hard time drawing the buttons and =

tabs.
again this is this one form within our app.
has anyone found a similar problem and fixed it?

thanks to all who respond
Joe


=20

 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Slow hard drive in windows XP Wayne Morgan General 1 January 25th 04 08:11 PM
Slow hard drive in windows XP Wayne Morgan Homebuilt PC's 0 January 25th 04 03:26 PM
FIC or HIS for a 9600Pro? Phrederick General 8 December 16th 03 12:17 PM
FIC or HIS for a 9600Pro? Phrederick Ati Videocards 8 December 16th 03 12:17 PM
Slow Loading of programs on P4C800 Deluxe The Vicar Asus Motherboards 1 October 29th 03 02:06 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2022 HardwareBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.