A computer components & hardware forum. HardwareBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » HardwareBanter forum » Video Cards » Nvidia Videocards
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

How smooth is your AMD Athlon 2200+ with a GeForce4 Ti4200?



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old July 28th 03, 09:13 PM
White Spirit
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default How smooth is your AMD Athlon 2200+ with a GeForce4 Ti4200?

wrote:

Hello. I am wondering if something is wrong with my AMD Athlon 2200+
system (I don't overclock) when gaming with the newest games. You can
see my primary/gaming system specifications at:
http://alpha.zimage.com/~ant/antfarm.../computers.txt ... I am using
the latest updates for all my drivers, OS, etc.


In NVIDIA driver properties, I like to set High Quality (graphics),
Anisotropic to 8X and AA to 2X (sometimes disabled because of BF1942's
poor fonts). However, my newer games are not very smooth. Sometimes it
is sluggish (not too choppy) in C&C: Generals and BF1942. I use 1024x768
resolutions in them. Return to Castle Wolfenstein: Enemy Territory (in
Red Hat Linux 7.2 with compiled Kernel 2.4.20) uses 1152x864 resolution.


I ran Wolfenstain under RH 7.2 using a P4 1.3GHz with 128MB RDRAM and a
64MB NVidia GeForce3 Ti 500 at a resolution of 1280x1024 and it was very
smooth, only dropping slightly at times. I had anisotropic filtering
off and no AA.

What is the bottleneck?


I noticed you have two different types/speed RAM in your machine.
Trying removing one and see how that works. 256Mb RAM is be enough to
work with Wolfenstein to make a comparison.

I don't really want to upgrade my CPU again so
soon. I only had it since October 2002. Video card is a maybe, but I
wonder if upgrading it to a GeForce4 Ti4600 (I heard FX aren't great and
ATI has poor Linux driver support) will make a big difference. I also
had the video card since October 2002.


I have a Ti4600 and it wasn't the huge improvement over the Ti500 that I
expected.

What do you think? Thank you in advance.


My only are thoughts are to make sure that your settings are optimised
in the BIOS.

Also, make sure your CPU is running at the speed it should be.
Sometimes your BIOS can be a problem, in which case it will need to be
flashed.

  #2  
Old July 28th 03, 10:16 PM
PRIVATE1964
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I'm using a 4200 overclocked to 4600 speed and I run Wolf3D with only
2XAA and [email protected] all quality settings maxed out in the game. On the forest
map where he has to be quiet, right before he gets to the first house by the
lake I test the fps there because it seems to be the worse for the whole game.
I can get around constant 42fps with vsync enabled. Your not gonna gain that
much by going to a 4600, and unless you upgrade to a newer card your gonna have
to live with lower AA and AF settings
  #3  
Old July 29th 03, 06:46 AM
[email protected]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

White Spirit wrote:
wrote:


Hello. I am wondering if something is wrong with my AMD Athlon 2200+
system (I don't overclock) when gaming with the newest games. You can
see my primary/gaming system specifications at:
http://alpha.zimage.com/~ant/antfarm.../computers.txt ... I am using
the latest updates for all my drivers, OS, etc.


In NVIDIA driver properties, I like to set High Quality (graphics),
Anisotropic to 8X and AA to 2X (sometimes disabled because of BF1942's
poor fonts). However, my newer games are not very smooth. Sometimes it
is sluggish (not too choppy) in C&C: Generals and BF1942. I use 1024x768
resolutions in them. Return to Castle Wolfenstein: Enemy Territory (in
Red Hat Linux 7.2 with compiled Kernel 2.4.20) uses 1152x864 resolution.


I ran Wolfenstain under RH 7.2 using a P4 1.3GHz with 128MB RDRAM and a
64MB NVidia GeForce3 Ti 500 at a resolution of 1280x1024 and it was very
smooth, only dropping slightly at times. I had anisotropic filtering
off and no AA.


Is this RTCW:ET or the original? The original was smooth. The newer one (ET)
got a little choppy. This is with 2X AA and 8X Anisotrophic.


What is the bottleneck?


I noticed you have two different types/speed RAM in your machine.
Trying removing one and see how that works. 256Mb RAM is be enough to
work with Wolfenstein to make a comparison.


I used to have 512 MB of RAM before adding another 512 MB. It was the same.


I don't really want to upgrade my CPU again so
soon. I only had it since October 2002. Video card is a maybe, but I
wonder if upgrading it to a GeForce4 Ti4600 (I heard FX aren't great and
ATI has poor Linux driver support) will make a big difference. I also
had the video card since October 2002.


I have a Ti4600 and it wasn't the huge improvement over the Ti500 that I
expected.


Ti500? I have never heard of it. What is that in the Ti series scale?
Faster model than Ti4200?


What do you think? Thank you in advance.


My only are thoughts are to make sure that your settings are optimised
in the BIOS.


They are with Optimal setting. I don't know about BIOS to tweak it nor
do I want to overclock anything.


Also, make sure your CPU is running at the speed it should be.
Sometimes your BIOS can be a problem, in which case it will need to be
flashed.


I already have the newest BIOS.
--
"He who dislikes aardvarks was an ant in his former life." --unknown
/\___/\
/ /\ /\ \ Ant @ The Ant Farm: http://antfarm.ma.cx
| |o o| | E-mail: NT or NT
\ _ / Remove ANT if replying by e-mail from a newsgroup.
( )
  #4  
Old July 29th 03, 06:47 AM
[email protected]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

PRIVATE1964 wrote:
I'm using a 4200 overclocked to 4600 speed and I run Wolf3D with only
2XAA and [email protected] all quality settings maxed out in the game. On the forest
map where he has to be quiet, right before he gets to the first house by the
lake I test the fps there because it seems to be the worse for the whole game.
I can get around constant 42fps with vsync enabled. Your not gonna gain that
much by going to a 4600, and unless you upgrade to a newer card your gonna have
to live with lower AA and AF settings


Ah. I can't stand any resolutions less than 1024x768. Everything is so pixelly
even with a 17" monitor.
--
"He who dislikes aardvarks was an ant in his former life." --unknown
/\___/\
/ /\ /\ \ Ant @ The Ant Farm: http://antfarm.ma.cx
| |o o| | E-mail: NT or NT
\ _ / Remove ANT if replying by e-mail from a newsgroup.
( )
  #6  
Old July 29th 03, 08:58 AM
Bigguy
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Try with no AF or AA.... should run mighty smooth.

Also try with a fixed size swap file and then defrag....

AF + AA enabled is a major strain on the graphics card - Radeon Pro is a bit
better with full AA?

Guy
wrote:
Hello. I am wondering if something is wrong with my AMD Athlon 2200+
system (I don't overclock) when gaming with the newest games. You can
see my primary/gaming system specifications at:
http://alpha.zimage.com/~ant/antfarm.../computers.txt ... I am
using the latest updates for all my drivers, OS, etc.

In NVIDIA driver properties, I like to set High Quality (graphics),
Anisotropic to 8X and AA to 2X (sometimes disabled because of BF1942's
poor fonts). However, my newer games are not very smooth. Sometimes it
is sluggish (not too choppy) in C&C: Generals and BF1942. I use
1024x768 resolutions in them. Return to Castle Wolfenstein: Enemy
Territory (in Red Hat Linux 7.2 with compiled Kernel 2.4.20) uses
1152x864 resolution. Even with nothing running in the background for
both operating systems. Older games like Q3A and their mods are
smooth, but then they are old games.

What is the bottleneck? I don't really want to upgrade my CPU again so
soon. I only had it since October 2002. Video card is a maybe, but I
wonder if upgrading it to a GeForce4 Ti4600 (I heard FX aren't great
and ATI has poor Linux driver support) will make a big difference. I
also had the video card since October 2002.

What do you think? Thank you in advance.
o o| | E-mail: NT or NT

\ _ / Remove ANT if replying by e-mail from a newsgroup.
( )



  #9  
Old July 29th 03, 04:23 PM
PRIVATE1964
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I can run at 1024x768 with 2XAA and 4XAF, but I prefer 800x600. I can run
the game settings maxed out at 1024x768, 2XAA, 4XAF, but there might be a
couple of places where the framerate might dip below 42fps. I want the graphics
to be the best they can, with a good framerate. To me that is 42fps or higher.
Also the visual difference between 8XAF and 4XAF is slight, but the fps hit is
high. I tested this with screenshots from Wolf3D. Going to a newer FX card
might help with higher AA and AF settings, as someone mentioned but the
increase in framerate won't be all that much. Also I believe wold3d is very cpu
dependent. The only way your gonna see a very high improvement would be to get
one of the latest cards like the 5900 or ATI 9700/9800 radeon, but then your
cpu would be a big bottleneck for cpu dependent games.
 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is this Athlon compatible with my ASUS A7V266 MOBO ? Bill Schaible Asus Motherboards 4 February 24th 05 07:23 AM
How to identify Athlon CPU? A7N8X-E Dlx having trouble with 3200+ CPU. CPU fraud? Erik Harris Asus Motherboards 17 August 18th 04 09:46 PM
Athlon XP 3000+ running at 1750mhz on a7v8x-mx Mozaik Asus Motherboards 11 July 21st 04 05:42 PM
why would a athlon xp 2200 be green Bearclaw Overclocking AMD Processors 6 June 8th 04 10:29 PM
Confused about A7v266 with Athlon XP Bruce Asus Motherboards 7 January 18th 04 03:06 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004-2022 HardwareBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.