A computer components & hardware forum. HardwareBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » HardwareBanter forum » Motherboards » Gigabyte Motherboards
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

Boot from SATA 81NXP



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old July 25th 03, 04:16 PM
La Pedrera
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Boot from SATA 81NXP

I purchased a SATA drive and have cloned it over (using Ghost) and now want
to boot from this drive * much faster than my old 10gb ATA one *.

I still want to have the other drive connected and accessible.

How do I change this? I see the setting in the bios for BOOT ORDER, but when
set to SATA it still just skips right over the drive.. .


  #2  
Old July 25th 03, 08:01 PM
Axl
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Where do you have your old one connected?

"La Pedrera" skrev i meddelandet
le.rogers.com...
I purchased a SATA drive and have cloned it over (using Ghost) and now

want
to boot from this drive * much faster than my old 10gb ATA one *.

I still want to have the other drive connected and accessible.

How do I change this? I see the setting in the bios for BOOT ORDER, but

when
set to SATA it still just skips right over the drive.. .





  #3  
Old July 25th 03, 09:01 PM
Bob Davis
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I've heard that current versions of Ghost are not compatible with SATA
drives and renders them as inactive (non-bootable) partitions. One person
has reported (not sure which newsgroup) that he was able to revive his using
Partition Magic v8, and that at that point all was well.

Does your SATA drive have disk cloning software in the package like most
modern PATA drives do? You might check, and make sure it will work going
from PATA to SATA.

"La Pedrera" wrote in message
le.rogers.com...
I purchased a SATA drive and have cloned it over (using Ghost) and now

want
to boot from this drive * much faster than my old 10gb ATA one *.

I still want to have the other drive connected and accessible.

How do I change this? I see the setting in the bios for BOOT ORDER, but

when
set to SATA it still just skips right over the drive.. .




  #4  
Old July 26th 03, 04:20 AM
La Pedrera
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Right where it was originally..

"Axl" wrote in message
...
Where do you have your old one connected?

"La Pedrera" skrev i meddelandet
le.rogers.com...
I purchased a SATA drive and have cloned it over (using Ghost) and now

want
to boot from this drive * much faster than my old 10gb ATA one *.

I still want to have the other drive connected and accessible.

How do I change this? I see the setting in the bios for BOOT ORDER, but

when
set to SATA it still just skips right over the drive.. .







  #5  
Old July 26th 03, 04:36 AM
La Pedrera
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Right where it originally was.. on the primary master (hdd-0 as per the bios
when I had it set to boot).
It adjusting the boot order to SATA all that is rquired, or do I have to
change the first boot device still??

If I had merely 2 SATA devices, how would it know which one to boot from?

"Axl" wrote in message
...
Where do you have your old one connected?

"La Pedrera" skrev i meddelandet
le.rogers.com...
I purchased a SATA drive and have cloned it over (using Ghost) and now

want
to boot from this drive * much faster than my old 10gb ATA one *.

I still want to have the other drive connected and accessible.

How do I change this? I see the setting in the bios for BOOT ORDER, but

when
set to SATA it still just skips right over the drive.. .







  #6  
Old July 27th 03, 01:54 AM
Richard Dower
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default


"La Pedrera" wrote in message
le.rogers.com...
Right where it originally was.. on the primary master (hdd-0 as per the

bios
when I had it set to boot).
It adjusting the boot order to SATA all that is rquired, or do I have to
change the first boot device still??

If I had merely 2 SATA devices, how would it know which one to boot from?


I might be wrong, but i have the boot order as: floppy/CD-ROM/SCSI.
There is no option for a boot device to boot from "SATA".


 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Asus P4C800 Deluxe ATA SATA and RAID Promise FastTrack 378 Drivers and more. Julian Asus Motherboards 2 August 11th 04 12:43 PM
A7N8X Deluxe SATA SetUp Bill Tarkington Asus Motherboards 11 June 25th 04 12:44 PM
Boot from SATA (Varation!) Kidda Asus Motherboards 2 February 19th 04 08:46 AM
SATA Windows 98 Boot Failure [email protected] Homebuilt PC's 3 December 11th 03 10:55 PM
A7N8X Maxtor SATA drive no boot Phut Asus Motherboards 1 July 23rd 03 10:58 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2022 HardwareBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.