A computer components & hardware forum. HardwareBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » HardwareBanter forum » Video Cards » Nvidia Videocards
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

is it possible to modding a geforce 8800 into a quadro ?



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old March 10th 08, 07:09 PM posted to alt.comp.periphs.videocards.nvidia
g. bon
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 2
Default is it possible to modding a geforce 8800 into a quadro ?

Is there any hardware or software method to transform a geforce 8800 (GTS -
512MB) into a quadro ?
Where can we found the method to do it ?

thanks,

GB


  #2  
Old March 10th 08, 10:52 PM posted to alt.comp.periphs.videocards.nvidia
DaveW[_5_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 220
Default is it possible to modding a geforce 8800 into a quadro ?

Wrong. The hardware and GPU are different. No can do.

--
--DaveW


"g. bon" wrote in message
...
Is there any hardware or software method to transform a geforce 8800
(GTS - 512MB) into a quadro ?
Where can we found the method to do it ?

thanks,

GB



  #3  
Old March 10th 08, 11:09 PM posted to alt.comp.periphs.videocards.nvidia
Augustus
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 738
Default is it possible to modding a geforce 8800 into a quadro ?


"DaveW" wrote in message
. ..
Wrong. The hardware and GPU are different. No can do.


Wrong again, Dave W. I guess that's why the Quadro FX 4600 and 5600 use the
G80 90nm GPU which, wonder of wonders, is the exact same G80 GPU as the
8800GTX and 8800 Ultra. It can be done via softmod, but it's messy and does
not work as well as previous softmods of older cards. I would not recommend
it. Tons of threads out there, but this one is typical

http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread....ht=8800+quadro


  #4  
Old March 11th 08, 01:02 AM posted to alt.comp.periphs.videocards.nvidia
deimos[_2_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 225
Default is it possible to modding a geforce 8800 into a quadro ?

Augustus wrote:
"DaveW" wrote in message
. ..
Wrong. The hardware and GPU are different. No can do.


Wrong again, Dave W. I guess that's why the Quadro FX 4600 and 5600 use the
G80 90nm GPU which, wonder of wonders, is the exact same G80 GPU as the
8800GTX and 8800 Ultra. It can be done via softmod, but it's messy and does
not work as well as previous softmods of older cards. I would not recommend
it. Tons of threads out there, but this one is typical

http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread....ht=8800+quadro



NVIDIA's chip designation is based on the same cores (G80, G84, etc),
but they seem to be adding "GL onto them to differentiate Quadro's and I
doubt this is merely marketing. Older cards (GF6 series and before)
were easily modded to Quadro's with RivaTuner, but newer ones are a
total pain in the ass and professional applications like Solidworks may
not detect them as a Quadro.
  #5  
Old March 11th 08, 01:55 AM posted to alt.comp.periphs.videocards.nvidia
Augustus
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 738
Default is it possible to modding a geforce 8800 into a quadro ?

NVIDIA's chip designation is based on the same cores (G80, G84, etc), but
they seem to be adding "GL onto them to differentiate Quadro's and I doubt
this is merely marketing. Older cards (GF6 series and before) were easily
modded to Quadro's with RivaTuner, but newer ones are a total pain in the
ass and professional applications like Solidworks may not detect them as a
Quadro.


It's more the case that the GL extensions and functions are enabled by the
Quadro BIOS and Quadro drivers, rather than the G80 architecture is
physically different. The GPU, shaders and memory have different different
clock settings. Memory size is larger, as is the PCB. The Nvidia CUDA
Programming Guide 1.1 has most of this stuff in it.


  #6  
Old March 11th 08, 03:48 AM posted to alt.comp.periphs.videocards.nvidia
Benjamin Gawert
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 1,020
Default is it possible to modding a geforce 8800 into a quadro ?

* DaveW:

Wrong. The hardware and GPU are different. No can do.


Still no clue what you're talking about, ******? FYI: the GPUs of Quadro
and Geforce are identical.

How about a nice cup of shut the **** up?

Benjamin
  #7  
Old March 11th 08, 03:50 AM posted to alt.comp.periphs.videocards.nvidia
Benjamin Gawert
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 1,020
Default is it possible to modding a geforce 8800 into a quadro ?

* deimos:

NVIDIA's chip designation is based on the same cores (G80, G84, etc),
but they seem to be adding "GL onto them to differentiate Quadro's and I
doubt this is merely marketing.


The GPUs are 100% identical, that's a fact. The difference lies in the
functionality that is activated by the driver.

Older cards (GF6 series and before)
were easily modded to Quadro's with RivaTuner, but newer ones are a
total pain in the ass and professional applications like Solidworks may
not detect them as a Quadro.


That's because changes in the hardware made it more different to change
the GPU ID from Geforce to Quadro.

Benjamin
  #8  
Old March 12th 08, 12:03 AM posted to alt.comp.periphs.videocards.nvidia
deimos[_2_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 225
Default is it possible to modding a geforce 8800 into a quadro ?

Benjamin Gawert wrote:
* deimos:

NVIDIA's chip designation is based on the same cores (G80, G84, etc),
but they seem to be adding "GL onto them to differentiate Quadro's and
I doubt this is merely marketing.


The GPUs are 100% identical, that's a fact. The difference lies in the
functionality that is activated by the driver.


Do you have a source on this? I used to think the same, but I've seen
anecdotal evidence that the cores have different transistor counts and
certainly there are different surface components (accounting for the
12-bit color output precision and other media production centric features).

Older cards (GF6 series and before) were easily modded to Quadro's
with RivaTuner, but newer ones are a total pain in the ass and
professional applications like Solidworks may not detect them as a
Quadro.


That's because changes in the hardware made it more different to change
the GPU ID from Geforce to Quadro.

Benjamin


Many professional applications like the ones I work with actually have
some code for Quadro specific detection that goes beyond just the driver
or device ID, so there must be an API method of detecting Quadro
features other than just DXCaps or GL extensions.
  #9  
Old March 12th 08, 02:11 PM posted to alt.comp.periphs.videocards.nvidia
Benjamin Gawert
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 1,020
Default is it possible to modding a geforce 8800 into a quadro ?

* deimos:

The GPUs are 100% identical, that's a fact. The difference lies in the
functionality that is activated by the driver.


Do you have a source on this?


Yes, but none that is publically available.

I used to think the same, but I've seen
anecdotal evidence that the cores have different transistor counts and
certainly there are different surface components (accounting for the
12-bit color output precision and other media production centric features).


These "evidences" are, as you said already, anecdotal.

Many professional applications like the ones I work with actually have
some code for Quadro specific detection that goes beyond just the driver
or device ID,


Which applications are that and how exactly are they trying to detect a
Quadro beyond driver information or device ID?

so there must be an API method of detecting Quadro
features other than just DXCaps or GL extensions.


Nope, there isn't.

Benjamin
  #10  
Old March 12th 08, 05:32 PM posted to alt.comp.periphs.videocards.nvidia
Mr.E Solved!
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 888
Default is it possible to modding a geforce 8800 into a quadro ?

deimos wrote:

Many professional applications like the ones I work with actually have
some code for Quadro specific detection that goes beyond just the driver
or device ID, so there must be an API method of detecting Quadro
features other than just DXCaps or GL extensions.


No, but you are right in that it is the GL extensions recognition that
make up the bulk of the performance difference betwixt the two cards.

The chippies are the same: both CUDA GPUs, it's the drivers that are
different, different capabilities and ways of using the circuitry.

Also, a minor but interesting point, Quadros are severely stressed
before being put into the channel, the blue screen and nv4_disp.dll
errors that GeForce users see with too much frequency (for any reason)
you just don't get with Quadros, they are designed to be flawless 24/7,
like a CPU.

 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GeForce vs Quadro umo Nvidia Videocards 33 January 24th 07 07:44 PM
geforce or quadro... and which one? [email protected] Nvidia Videocards 6 March 22nd 06 05:33 AM
Quadro vs Geforce Dean Siren Nvidia Videocards 1 May 16th 05 01:58 PM
modding ti4600 into quadro 900 xgl g. bon Nvidia Videocards 0 May 10th 05 09:44 PM
geForce FX into Quadro FX (Can it be done?) and how is Quadro for games? Luke Piasecki Nvidia Videocards 1 December 19th 03 05:23 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2022 HardwareBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.