A computer components & hardware forum. HardwareBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » HardwareBanter forum » Processors » AMD x86-64 Processors
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

Dual Core Compatibility



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old February 8th 06, 04:46 AM posted to alt.comp.hardware.amd.x86-64
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Dual Core Compatibility

I'm looking at the 4400+ X2 and need to know if this cpu is compatible with
my
MSI MS-7025 (NEO2 Platinum). MSI's site shows that, as of BIOS version 1.9
(the 2nd latest), support was added for the AMD E6 cpu. Is the dual core in
the E6 family? Has anyone installed the 4400x2 in this board?



Thanks,

Hark


  #2  
Old February 9th 06, 01:56 AM posted to alt.comp.hardware.amd.x86-64
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Dual Core Compatibility

If you go to www.amd.com, you'll find only two 4400+ models listed, both
with the E6 stepping.

I've not used an nForce3 mainboard, but I ran a 4400+ on a Via K8T800pro
board (Asus A8V) successfully. I've since moved it to an nForce 4 board, to
switch to a PCI-E graphics card.


Address scrambled. Replace nkbob with bobkn.

"Harkhof" wrote in message
news:[email protected]
I'm looking at the 4400+ X2 and need to know if this cpu is compatible
with my
MSI MS-7025 (NEO2 Platinum). MSI's site shows that, as of BIOS version 1.9
(the 2nd latest), support was added for the AMD E6 cpu. Is the dual core
in the E6 family? Has anyone installed the 4400x2 in this board?



Thanks,

Hark




  #3  
Old February 9th 06, 02:38 AM posted to alt.comp.hardware.amd.x86-64
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Dual Core Compatibility

http://www.msi.com.tw/program/produc...MS-7025&kind=1

try here...this is where I checked when I ordered my K8N Neo2-F..and 3700
San Diego...I just set the parameters for the Plat.


  #4  
Old February 9th 06, 02:41 AM posted to alt.comp.hardware.amd.x86-64
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Dual Core Compatibility

also...sorry to double post but...I use this forum quite regularily too...
www.amdmb.com
there is a lot of stuff in there on our boards...and complaints so you may
be best to check there and see.



  #5  
Old February 9th 06, 11:11 PM posted to alt.comp.hardware.amd.x86-64
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Dual Core Compatibility


"dino" wrote in message
news
http://www.msi.com.tw/program/produc...MS-7025&kind=1

try here...this is where I checked when I ordered my K8N Neo2-F..and 3700
San Diego...I just set the parameters for the Plat.

Thanks, Dino. It doesn't get any easier than that!

Hark


  #6  
Old February 9th 06, 11:24 PM posted to alt.comp.hardware.amd.x86-64
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Dual Core Compatibility

Thanks, Bob. I'm considering upgrading to PCI-E, as I need to buy a new
video card for a dell widescreen. Once again, I find myself experiencing the
"snowball effect", where one upgrade leads to another, and another, and...


Thanks again,
Hark

"Bob Knowlden" wrote in message
. ..
If you go to www.amd.com, you'll find only two 4400+ models listed, both
with the E6 stepping.

I've not used an nForce3 mainboard, but I ran a 4400+ on a Via K8T800pro
board (Asus A8V) successfully. I've since moved it to an nForce 4 board,
to switch to a PCI-E graphics card.


Address scrambled. Replace nkbob with bobkn.

"Harkhof" wrote in message
news:[email protected]
I'm looking at the 4400+ X2 and need to know if this cpu is compatible
with my
MSI MS-7025 (NEO2 Platinum). MSI's site shows that, as of BIOS version
1.9 (the 2nd latest), support was added for the AMD E6 cpu. Is the dual
core in the E6 family? Has anyone installed the 4400x2 in this board?



Thanks,

Hark






 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dual core hotfix Mike Asus Motherboards 3 January 25th 06 09:01 AM
AMD upgrade to which dual core processor www.interfacebus.com General 5 August 14th 05 11:26 AM
AMD or Intel : Dual core Brian Intel 9 July 29th 05 05:19 PM
for those wondering about dual core bios dead kitty AMD x86-64 Processors 3 July 27th 05 06:11 PM
"Pentium 4" brandname ready to be dropped Yousuf Khan Intel 69 November 5th 04 12:51 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2022 HardwareBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.