A computer components & hardware forum. HardwareBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » HardwareBanter forum » General Hardware & Peripherals » General
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

Speedstep not active



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old January 17th 08, 05:55 AM posted to alt.comp.hardware
Daniel[_4_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 58
Default Speedstep not active

Hi

I am running Vista Ultimate and have just installed a Pentium D Extreme
Edition 840 3.2 GHZ CPU onto an Asus P5SD2-X motherboard.

The BIOS does not show the Speedstep option and when I run the Intel CPU
identification utility it shows that Speedstep is not running.

Any ideas on how I can fix this?

thanks

Daniel



  #2  
Old January 17th 08, 06:24 AM posted to alt.comp.hardware
Plato
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 184
Default Speedstep not active

Daniel wrote:

I am running Vista Ultimate and have just installed a Pentium D Extreme
Edition 840 3.2 GHZ CPU onto an Asus P5SD2-X motherboard.


Do NOT run any MS OS until version 2 is out.





--
http://www.bootdisk.com/

  #3  
Old January 17th 08, 06:47 AM posted to alt.comp.hardware
Daniel[_4_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 58
Default Speedstep not active


"Plato" |@|.| wrote in message
...
Daniel wrote:

I am running Vista Ultimate and have just installed a Pentium D Extreme
Edition 840 3.2 GHZ CPU onto an Asus P5SD2-X motherboard.


Do NOT run any MS OS until version 2 is out.
http://www.bootdisk.com/

What has it got to do with the OS


  #4  
Old January 17th 08, 06:48 AM posted to alt.comp.hardware
Paul
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 13,364
Default Speedstep not active

Daniel wrote:
Hi

I am running Vista Ultimate and have just installed a Pentium D Extreme
Edition 840 3.2 GHZ CPU onto an Asus P5SD2-X motherboard.

The BIOS does not show the Speedstep option and when I run the Intel CPU
identification utility it shows that Speedstep is not running.

Any ideas on how I can fix this?

thanks

Daniel


The manual shows it at the bottom of the CPU Configuration screen
(manual section 2.4.2). You have to scroll down to see it.

Both the 840 and the motherboard, give the appearance of supporting
EIST, so it should work. (According to CPUSupport web page.)

On support.asus.com, I looked at the BIOS updates, and don't see
any relevant improvements listed there.

Another place to look, is here.

http://vip.asus.com/forum/topic.aspx...Language=en-us

Paul

  #5  
Old January 17th 08, 07:27 AM posted to alt.comp.hardware
Daniel[_4_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 58
Default Speedstep not active


"Paul" wrote in message ...
Daniel wrote:
Hi

I am running Vista Ultimate and have just installed a Pentium D Extreme
Edition 840 3.2 GHZ CPU onto an Asus P5SD2-X motherboard.

The BIOS does not show the Speedstep option and when I run the Intel CPU
identification utility it shows that Speedstep is not running.

Any ideas on how I can fix this?

thanks

Daniel


The manual shows it at the bottom of the CPU Configuration screen
(manual section 2.4.2). You have to scroll down to see it.

Both the 840 and the motherboard, give the appearance of supporting
EIST, so it should work. (According to CPUSupport web page.)

On support.asus.com, I looked at the BIOS updates, and don't see
any relevant improvements listed there.

Another place to look, is here.

http://vip.asus.com/forum/topic.aspx...Language=en-us

Paul



Paul

the Speedstep option shown in the Manual does not come up
in my BIOS, the last one is Hyperthreading?

I'll have a go on the ASUS forum

thanks

Daniel


  #6  
Old January 17th 08, 07:39 AM posted to alt.comp.hardware
Plato
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 184
Default Speedstep not active

Daniel wrote:

"Plato" |@|.| wrote in message
...
Daniel wrote:

I am running Vista Ultimate and have just installed a Pentium D Extreme
Edition 840 3.2 GHZ CPU onto an Asus P5SD2-X motherboard.


Do NOT run any MS OS until version 2 is out.
http://www.bootdisk.com/

What has it got to do with the OS


Everything

  #7  
Old January 17th 08, 07:51 AM posted to alt.comp.hardware
Daniel[_4_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 58
Default Speedstep not active


"Plato" |@|.| wrote in message
...
Daniel wrote:

"Plato" |@|.| wrote in message
...
Daniel wrote:

I am running Vista Ultimate and have just installed a Pentium D
Extreme
Edition 840 3.2 GHZ CPU onto an Asus P5SD2-X motherboard.

Do NOT run any MS OS until version 2 is out.
http://www.bootdisk.com/

What has it got to do with the OS


Everything

Can you be specific?


  #8  
Old January 17th 08, 08:51 AM posted to alt.comp.hardware
kony
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 7,416
Default Speedstep not active

On Thu, 17 Jan 2008 07:51:51 GMT, "Daniel"
wrote:


Do NOT run any MS OS until version 2 is out.
http://www.bootdisk.com/
What has it got to do with the OS


Everything

Can you be specific?


Vista
  #9  
Old January 17th 08, 09:39 AM posted to alt.comp.hardware
Daniel[_4_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 58
Default Speedstep not active


"kony" wrote in message
news
On Thu, 17 Jan 2008 07:51:51 GMT, "Daniel"
wrote:


Do NOT run any MS OS until version 2 is out.
http://www.bootdisk.com/
What has it got to do with the OS

Everything

Can you be specific?


Vista


Vista works perfectly well for me, I do not have problems with MS products.

Cheers

Daniel


  #10  
Old January 17th 08, 09:41 AM posted to alt.comp.hardware
Paul
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 13,364
Default Speedstep not active

Daniel wrote:


Paul

the Speedstep option shown in the Manual does not come up
in my BIOS, the last one is Hyperthreading?

I'll have a go on the ASUS forum

thanks

Daniel



I download the 0605 BIOS. I used "mmtool", which is a simple BIOS
utility from AMI. It allows decompressing the component parts of the BIOS.
In the 11th module inside the BIOS, I can see this text:

Intel(R) SpeedStep(tm) tech.

Maximum: CPU speed is set to maximum.
Minimum: CPU speed is set to minimum.
Automatic: CPU speed controlled by Operating system.
Disabled: Default CPU speed.

My suspicion right now, is the setting *may* be related to
some other setting. One poster in the VIP forum, noticed a
change when putting the CPU speed in a manual mode. I see
an "AI Overclock" setting for example. While the SpeedStep
feature is in a different BIOS screen, there is always a (slim)
chance that the problem is related to some other BIOS setting.

Paul
 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Speedstep not active Daniel[_4_] Intel 0 January 17th 08 05:53 AM
Speedstep? Poly-poly man Overclocking 2 April 7th 06 07:32 PM
Pentium M Speedstep Intel 2 December 23rd 04 01:12 PM
DELL SpeedStep rfc Dell Computers 3 April 21st 04 04:36 AM
Looking for SCSI-to-SATA RAID w/active-active controllers Mark Landin Storage & Hardrives 5 February 26th 04 05:10 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2022 HardwareBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.