A computer components & hardware forum. HardwareBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » HardwareBanter forum » Processors » AMD x86-64 Processors
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

REP MOVS bug in Opteron (& presumably FX)



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old June 20th 04, 04:19 PM
Jeff Butler
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default REP MOVS bug in Opteron (& presumably FX)

http://www.3dchips.net/content/story.php?id=3927

No information on any BIOS update from my motherboard manufacturer (ASUS)
yet.


  #2  
Old June 21st 04, 11:14 PM
Yousuf Khan
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Jeff Butler wrote:
http://www.3dchips.net/content/story.php?id=3927

No information on any BIOS update from my motherboard manufacturer
(ASUS) yet.


Wonder how a BIOS update is going to resolve a problem within the
instruction set? Unless it's a firmware patch that's included in the BIOS.

Yousuf Khan


  #3  
Old June 21st 04, 11:38 PM
Robert Myers
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Yousuf Khan wrote:
Jeff Butler wrote:

http://www.3dchips.net/content/story.php?id=3927

No information on any BIOS update from my motherboard manufacturer
(ASUS) yet.



Wonder how a BIOS update is going to resolve a problem within the
instruction set? Unless it's a firmware patch that's included in the BIOS.


One gathers that Opteron has the microcode update feature that allows
the correction of at least some bugs and that Intel has had since 2000.

Redhat Linux boxes automatically update at least Intel microcode at each
boot:

http://kerneltrap.org/node/view/2678

It sounds a good deal safer, actually, than messing with the BIOS.

RM

  #4  
Old June 21st 04, 11:56 PM
Jeff Butler
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default


"Robert Myers" wrote in message
news:[email protected]_s52...
Yousuf Khan wrote:
Jeff Butler wrote:

http://www.3dchips.net/content/story.php?id=3927

No information on any BIOS update from my motherboard manufacturer
(ASUS) yet.



Wonder how a BIOS update is going to resolve a problem within the
instruction set? Unless it's a firmware patch that's included in the

BIOS.


One gathers that Opteron has the microcode update feature that allows
the correction of at least some bugs and that Intel has had since 2000.

Redhat Linux boxes automatically update at least Intel microcode at each
boot:

http://kerneltrap.org/node/view/2678

It sounds a good deal safer, actually, than messing with the BIOS.

RM


That's what I was thinking, that it's going to be a microcode patch. Another
less likely possibility is to trap the instruction to software as was once
proposed for the Pentium FDIV bug before Intel decided to recall the chip.

One more piece of information: It's not just Opterons. It's all AMD64 at
revision C0 and higher.


  #5  
Old June 22nd 04, 11:03 AM
Peter Dickerson
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

"Yousuf Khan" wrote in message
.cable.rogers.com...
Jeff Butler wrote:
http://www.3dchips.net/content/story.php?id=3927

No information on any BIOS update from my motherboard manufacturer
(ASUS) yet.


Wonder how a BIOS update is going to resolve a problem within the
instruction set? Unless it's a firmware patch that's included in the BIOS.

Yousuf Khan


The description of the bug suggests that it is due to a performance
optimization - e.g. only occurs when some other microcoded insructions are
in the pipeline. Its possible that AMD has a means to disable such
optimizations which would reduce performance in some cases. Hopefully this
won't have much impact on performance in the typical case.

Peter


  #6  
Old June 22nd 04, 06:46 PM
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

On Mon, 21 Jun 2004 22:56:05 GMT, "Jeff Butler"
wrote:



That's what I was thinking, that it's going to be a microcode patch. Another
less likely possibility is to trap the instruction to software as was once
proposed for the Pentium FDIV bug before Intel decided to recall the chip.

One more piece of information: It's not just Opterons. It's all AMD64 at
revision C0 and higher.



Maybe that's why amd64 boards were so touchy with ram early on.

I'd imagine aggressive timings on weak ram might aggravate the
situation.


  #7  
Old June 23rd 04, 06:59 AM
Tony Hill
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

On Tue, 22 Jun 2004 11:03:14 +0100, "Peter Dickerson"
wrote:
"Yousuf Khan" wrote in message
t.cable.rogers.com...
Jeff Butler wrote:
http://www.3dchips.net/content/story.php?id=3927

No information on any BIOS update from my motherboard manufacturer
(ASUS) yet.


Wonder how a BIOS update is going to resolve a problem within the
instruction set? Unless it's a firmware patch that's included in the BIOS.

Yousuf Khan


The description of the bug suggests that it is due to a performance
optimization - e.g. only occurs when some other microcoded insructions are
in the pipeline. Its possible that AMD has a means to disable such
optimizations which would reduce performance in some cases. Hopefully this
won't have much impact on performance in the typical case.


Microcode instructions are already pretty slow and therefore rarely
used anyway, so I doubt that it would make a big difference. These
sorts of errata are not particularly rare in modern processor designs,
pretty much all chips have bugs that are not entirely unlike this one.
FWIW here's the link to AMD's own Revision Guide (aka errata sheet):

http://www.amd.com/us-en/assets/cont...docs/25759.pdf


The particular bug in question is number 109 and was just added in the
latest update along with bug 111 ("Rtt Specification Violation", a
seemingly inconsequential issue with hypertransport).

-------------
Tony Hill
hilla underscore 20 at yahoo dot ca
 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dual Xeon or Opteron? Shabam General 0 July 19th 04 01:27 AM
opteron vs Pentium 4 exterme Dan Irwin General 0 March 4th 04 11:10 PM
Opteron users? smoke11 Overclocking AMD Processors 0 February 2nd 04 03:16 PM
Power Surge David LeBrun General 44 September 12th 03 02:35 AM
Chess software benchmarks for Itanium and Opteron? totojepast Overclocking AMD Processors 0 June 23rd 03 08:39 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2022 HardwareBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.