A computer components & hardware forum. HardwareBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » HardwareBanter forum » Processors » AMD x86-64 Processors
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

AMD64 3200 + Asus K8V SE Deluxe Cool and Quiet brings up BSOD PFN_LIST_CORRUPT



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old June 14th 04, 09:29 PM
Addy
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default AMD64 3200 + Asus K8V SE Deluxe Cool and Quiet brings up BSOD PFN_LIST_CORRUPT

Hi ,

after flashing the BIOS of my K8V to Rev. 1003, which I hoped would solve my
problems with getting CnQ to work, actually made my problems worse. Without
CnQ, using QFan the MoBo runs quite well, but Iīd like to get CnQ to work as
the PC runs day and night and electricity isnīt as cheap as it used to be.

But to the problem. When I switch on CnQ in the bios (and do all other
things required in the manual) my pc starts up and shows a BSOD saying
PFN_LIST_CORRUPT. If I turn CnQ off, there is no such problem. When I start
up WinXP in safe mode, there is no BSOD either. The PFN_LIST_CORRUPT seems
to be linked to bad RAM or bad driver behaviour.

Anybody had the same problem ?

Addy

My AMD64-PC

Asus K8V SE Deluxe, Athlon64 3200, 2x512MB Infineon DDR 400, Radeon 9600XT
ultimate, 1x160 GB Samsung SATA, Benq 822A DVDR.



  #2  
Old June 14th 04, 10:52 PM
Early 2 Riz
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I don't have your mobo, but I know that new doesn't always mean better. I
have a Chaintech VNF3-250 mobo, and tried the latest BIOS dated 4/30/2004
and my system would reboot without warning, or sometimes it would be
proceeded with a buzzing noise. When I reverted back to the older BIOS, the
problem disappeared. But I ams stuck with a BIOS that reports my CPU temp
at 12C, instead of 37C


"Addy" wrote in message
...
Hi ,

after flashing the BIOS of my K8V to Rev. 1003, which I hoped would solve

my
problems with getting CnQ to work, actually made my problems worse.

Without
CnQ, using QFan the MoBo runs quite well, but Iīd like to get CnQ to work

as
the PC runs day and night and electricity isnīt as cheap as it used to be.

But to the problem. When I switch on CnQ in the bios (and do all other
things required in the manual) my pc starts up and shows a BSOD saying
PFN_LIST_CORRUPT. If I turn CnQ off, there is no such problem. When I

start
up WinXP in safe mode, there is no BSOD either. The PFN_LIST_CORRUPT seems
to be linked to bad RAM or bad driver behaviour.

Anybody had the same problem ?

Addy

My AMD64-PC

Asus K8V SE Deluxe, Athlon64 3200, 2x512MB Infineon DDR 400, Radeon 9600XT
ultimate, 1x160 GB Samsung SATA, Benq 822A DVDR.





  #3  
Old June 14th 04, 10:53 PM
Addy
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default


"Early 2 Riz" schrieb im Newsbeitrag
...
I don't have your mobo, but I know that new doesn't always mean better. I
have a Chaintech VNF3-250 mobo, and tried the latest BIOS dated 4/30/2004
and my system would reboot without warning, or sometimes it would be
proceeded with a buzzing noise. When I reverted back to the older BIOS,

the
problem disappeared. But I ams stuck with a BIOS that reports my CPU temp
at 12C, instead of 37C


Hi,
I considered going back to an earlier BIOS but that would mean other trouble
and the CnQ didnīt work then either.

Addy



"Addy" wrote in message
...
Hi ,

after flashing the BIOS of my K8V to Rev. 1003, which I hoped would

solve
my
problems with getting CnQ to work, actually made my problems worse.

Without
CnQ, using QFan the MoBo runs quite well, but Iīd like to get CnQ to

work
as
the PC runs day and night and electricity isnīt as cheap as it used to

be.

But to the problem. When I switch on CnQ in the bios (and do all other
things required in the manual) my pc starts up and shows a BSOD saying
PFN_LIST_CORRUPT. If I turn CnQ off, there is no such problem. When I

start
up WinXP in safe mode, there is no BSOD either. The PFN_LIST_CORRUPT

seems
to be linked to bad RAM or bad driver behaviour.

Anybody had the same problem ?

Addy

My AMD64-PC

Asus K8V SE Deluxe, Athlon64 3200, 2x512MB Infineon DDR 400, Radeon

9600XT
ultimate, 1x160 GB Samsung SATA, Benq 822A DVDR.







  #4  
Old June 14th 04, 11:44 PM
Early 2 Riz
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Cool and Quiet doesn't exist on Nforce3 250 motherboards, so that is not
even a problem here. g


"Addy" wrote in message
...

"Early 2 Riz" schrieb im Newsbeitrag
...
I don't have your mobo, but I know that new doesn't always mean better.

I
have a Chaintech VNF3-250 mobo, and tried the latest BIOS dated

4/30/2004
and my system would reboot without warning, or sometimes it would be
proceeded with a buzzing noise. When I reverted back to the older BIOS,

the
problem disappeared. But I ams stuck with a BIOS that reports my CPU

temp
at 12C, instead of 37C


Hi,
I considered going back to an earlier BIOS but that would mean other

trouble
and the CnQ didnīt work then either.

Addy



"Addy" wrote in message
...
Hi ,

after flashing the BIOS of my K8V to Rev. 1003, which I hoped would

solve
my
problems with getting CnQ to work, actually made my problems worse.

Without
CnQ, using QFan the MoBo runs quite well, but Iīd like to get CnQ to

work
as
the PC runs day and night and electricity isnīt as cheap as it used to

be.

But to the problem. When I switch on CnQ in the bios (and do all other
things required in the manual) my pc starts up and shows a BSOD saying
PFN_LIST_CORRUPT. If I turn CnQ off, there is no such problem. When I

start
up WinXP in safe mode, there is no BSOD either. The PFN_LIST_CORRUPT

seems
to be linked to bad RAM or bad driver behaviour.

Anybody had the same problem ?

Addy

My AMD64-PC

Asus K8V SE Deluxe, Athlon64 3200, 2x512MB Infineon DDR 400, Radeon

9600XT
ultimate, 1x160 GB Samsung SATA, Benq 822A DVDR.









  #5  
Old June 15th 04, 01:26 AM
Steve Midgley
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

"Early 2 Riz" wrote in message
...
Cool and Quiet doesn't exist on Nforce3 250 motherboards, so that is not
even a problem here. g


Are you certain about that? My Epox EP-8KDA3j has it.
--
Steve Midgley


  #6  
Old June 15th 04, 02:46 AM
Early 2 Riz
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

My Chaintech VNF3-250 doesn't.


"Steve Midgley" wrote in message
...
"Early 2 Riz" wrote in message
...
Cool and Quiet doesn't exist on Nforce3 250 motherboards, so that is not
even a problem here. g


Are you certain about that? My Epox EP-8KDA3j has it.
--
Steve Midgley




  #7  
Old June 15th 04, 02:53 AM
Early 2 Riz
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Also, Newegg doesn't offer the Epox EP-8KDA3j motherboard. Where do you
live?


"Early 2 Riz" wrote in message
...
My Chaintech VNF3-250 doesn't.


"Steve Midgley" wrote in message
...
"Early 2 Riz" wrote in message
...
Cool and Quiet doesn't exist on Nforce3 250 motherboards, so that is

not
even a problem here. g


Are you certain about that? My Epox EP-8KDA3j has it.
--
Steve Midgley






  #8  
Old June 15th 04, 05:40 AM
Steve Midgley
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

"Early 2 Riz" wrote in message
...
Also, Newegg doesn't offer the Epox EP-8KDA3j motherboard. Where do you
live?


No, Newegg doesn't have the newest Epox boards but mWave does -
http://tinyurl.com/2j5xy
--
Steve Midgley


  #9  
Old June 15th 04, 06:57 AM
john
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

On Mon, 14 Jun 2004 17:44:52 -0500, "Early 2 Riz"
wrote:

Cool and Quiet doesn't exist on Nforce3 250 motherboards, so that is not
even a problem here. g



Aopen AK86-L bios 1.11 is supposed to have cool and quiet, but it's
grayed out in my bios for some reason. Some conflicting setting or ??


  #10  
Old June 15th 04, 04:34 PM
Early 2 Riz
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

LOL. the Aopen AK86-L motherboard is VIA based, not Nforce3 250 based.



"john" wrote in message
...
On Mon, 14 Jun 2004 17:44:52 -0500, "Early 2 Riz"
wrote:

Cool and Quiet doesn't exist on Nforce3 250 motherboards, so that is not
even a problem here. g



Aopen AK86-L bios 1.11 is supposed to have cool and quiet, but it's
grayed out in my bios for some reason. Some conflicting setting or ??




 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cool and Quiet Marvin Brinke AMD x86-64 Processors 3 April 18th 04 12:29 AM
Silent Computer - Advice David Taylor General 49 October 7th 03 11:26 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Đ2004-2022 HardwareBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.