A computer components & hardware forum. HardwareBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » HardwareBanter forum » Processors » AMD x86-64 Processors
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

linux 64bit OS again



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old June 7th 04, 11:07 PM
Don McCarter
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default linux 64bit OS again

If anyone is interested in a 64bit OS this one works for me.

I installed Fedora Core2 on my AMD64 machine, with a little tweaking.
The FC2 programs harddrive format messed up the
drive so I had to reformat and reinstall WinXP64.
I then booted to a Fedora Core1 disk and ran the install
until the HD was formatted.
I stopped the process, rebooted with Fedora Core2
and did a "Linux nousbstorage" install.
When I got to the format step I selected manual and
edited the "/boot" and "/" areas.
The rest of the install ran smoothly.
I now have a 64bit system running mostly x86_64 programs.

I am using the AMD64 3200 CPU, with a MSI K8T NEO-FIS2R MB
and an ATI 9600 pro video card.

Everything works except my Winfast TV system.
I had previously tried Gentoo 2004.1, Mandrake AMD64 rc1
and Suse 9.0. for AMD64.
Suse ran OK but most of the programs appeared to be 32bit.
Gentoo worked OK for a short while then I would get
a corrupt file system error.
Mandrake likewise ran ok for several bootups then it gave
a "kernel panic" error.




  #2  
Old June 8th 04, 07:38 AM
Early 2 Riz
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default


"Don McCarter" wrote in message
...
If anyone is interested in a 64bit OS this one works for me.

I installed Fedora Core2 on my AMD64 machine, with a little tweaking.
The FC2 programs harddrive format messed up the
drive so I had to reformat and reinstall WinXP64.
I then booted to a Fedora Core1 disk and ran the install
until the HD was formatted.
I stopped the process, rebooted with Fedora Core2
and did a "Linux nousbstorage" install.
When I got to the format step I selected manual and
edited the "/boot" and "/" areas.
The rest of the install ran smoothly.
I now have a 64bit system running mostly x86_64 programs.

I am using the AMD64 3200 CPU, with a MSI K8T NEO-FIS2R MB
and an ATI 9600 pro video card.

Everything works except my Winfast TV system.
I had previously tried Gentoo 2004.1, Mandrake AMD64 rc1
and Suse 9.0. for AMD64.
Suse ran OK but most of the programs appeared to be 32bit.
Gentoo worked OK for a short while then I would get
a corrupt file system error.
Mandrake likewise ran ok for several bootups then it gave
a "kernel panic" error.





If your Winfast TV doesn't work, then you can say the whole system doesn't
work. You can't disregard a piece of equipment just because the OS doesn't
like it. My advice, stick to an OS where all of your equipment works.




  #3  
Old June 8th 04, 08:06 AM
baskitcaise
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Early 2 Riz adjusted his tin foil beanie and asbestos underwear to
write:


If your Winfast TV doesn't work, then you can say the whole system
doesn't
work. You can't disregard a piece of equipment just because the OS
doesn't like it. My advice, stick to an OS where all of your equipment
works.


Name me one O/S where all hardware works 100% and I will buy it

--
Mark
Iligitimi Non Carborundum!
Twixt hill and high water, N.Wales, UK
onfxvgpnvfr-ng-tzk-qbg-pb-hx
  #4  
Old June 8th 04, 09:27 AM
rstlne
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default


"baskitcaise" wrote in message
...
Early 2 Riz adjusted his tin foil beanie and asbestos underwear to
write:


If your Winfast TV doesn't work, then you can say the whole system
doesn't
work. You can't disregard a piece of equipment just because the OS
doesn't like it. My advice, stick to an OS where all of your equipment
works.


Name me one O/S where all hardware works 100% and I will buy it


I hate software driven hardware.. Cheap&Crap all in the perfect bundle


  #5  
Old June 8th 04, 01:32 PM
Post Replies Here Please
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

"rstlne" == rstlne writes:

rstlne "baskitcaise" wrote in message
rstlne ...
Early 2 Riz adjusted his tin foil beanie and asbestos underwear to
write:


If your Winfast TV doesn't work, then you can say the whole

system doesn't work. You can't disregard a piece of equipment
just because the OS doesn't like it. My advice, stick to an OS
where all of your equipment works.

Name me one O/S where all hardware works 100% and I will buy it


rstlne I hate software driven hardware.. Cheap&Crap all in the
rstlne perfect bundle

Closed source or win only software is a killer, and will be obselete
sooner than the hardware is obsolete. I have had to change or update
hardware on every system I have had because of driver problems, or
lack of driver support. This has been worst on Windows (DIFFERENT
VERSIONS) than Linux. I have noticed less win only hardware these days
and this is very good!

Whatever - find a card that works, or hack the driver to work ;-)).

Later

Alan

  #6  
Old June 8th 04, 03:24 PM
William W. Plummer
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default


"Post Replies Here Please" wrote in message
...
"rstlne" == rstlne writes:


rstlne "baskitcaise" wrote in message
rstlne ...
Early 2 Riz adjusted his tin foil beanie and asbestos underwear to
write:


If your Winfast TV doesn't work, then you can say the whole
system doesn't work. You can't disregard a piece of equipment
just because the OS doesn't like it. My advice, stick to an OS
where all of your equipment works.

Name me one O/S where all hardware works 100% and I will buy it


rstlne I hate software driven hardware.. Cheap&Crap all in the
rstlne perfect bundle

Closed source or win only software is a killer, and will be obselete
sooner than the hardware is obsolete. I have had to change or update
hardware on every system I have had because of driver problems, or
lack of driver support. This has been worst on Windows (DIFFERENT
VERSIONS) than Linux. I have noticed less win only hardware these days
and this is very good!


Bloated software requiring new hardware along with hardware that supports
new software features is an old game. I remember it being practiced with
the IBM 704/709/7094 back in the late '50s and early '60s. Don't expect
changes!


  #8  
Old June 8th 04, 05:26 PM
Don McCarter
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I said Suse 9.0 appeared to be running in 32bit instead of 64bit
because the only updated versions of KDE, Mozilla, etc that would
work were the i386 ones.
I like Suse and would install 9.1 if I could find the cd iso's for
the AMD64 bit version in something other that DVD.

Also my ARTEC scanner will not work with WinXP, my
HP printer will not work with WinXP64 so XP must not be
any good either,grin.



"Randy Howard" wrote in message
.. .
In article ,
says...
If anyone is interested in a 64bit OS this one works for me.

I installed Fedora Core2 on my AMD64 machine, with a little tweaking.


I have not been particularly impressed with FC1 or FC2, especially
when compared to SuSE, so consider me an official convert away from
the increasingly commercial and uncaring about individual users
RedHat.

The FC2 programs harddrive format messed up the
drive so I had to reformat and reinstall WinXP64.


It's almost a certainty that you used the "automatic" partitioning
instead of doing it manually, which is one way RedHat installers
will mess up your life if you have Winodws installed on the
box already. :-) A copy of partition magic comes in handy too
if the Windows install is already (normally) taking up the
whole HD.

I had previously tried Gentoo 2004.1, Mandrake AMD64 rc1
and Suse 9.0. for AMD64.
Suse ran OK but most of the programs appeared to be 32bit.


Appeared to be? Did you run "file" on them to find out?
I have run both the server (SLES) version of x86_64 and
the "pro" 9.1 x86_64 version and both are excellent.

--
Randy Howard (2reply remove FOOBAR)



  #9  
Old June 10th 04, 09:07 PM
Only NoSpammers
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default


"Early 2 Riz" wrote in message
...

"Don McCarter" wrote in message
...
If anyone is interested in a 64bit OS this one works for me.

I installed Fedora Core2 on my AMD64 machine, with a little tweaking.
The FC2 programs harddrive format messed up the
drive so I had to reformat and reinstall WinXP64.
I then booted to a Fedora Core1 disk and ran the install
until the HD was formatted.
I stopped the process, rebooted with Fedora Core2
and did a "Linux nousbstorage" install.
When I got to the format step I selected manual and
edited the "/boot" and "/" areas.
The rest of the install ran smoothly.
I now have a 64bit system running mostly x86_64 programs.

I am using the AMD64 3200 CPU, with a MSI K8T NEO-FIS2R MB
and an ATI 9600 pro video card.

Everything works except my Winfast TV system.
I had previously tried Gentoo 2004.1, Mandrake AMD64 rc1
and Suse 9.0. for AMD64.
Suse ran OK but most of the programs appeared to be 32bit.
Gentoo worked OK for a short while then I would get
a corrupt file system error.
Mandrake likewise ran ok for several bootups then it gave
a "kernel panic" error.





If your Winfast TV doesn't work, then you can say the whole system doesn't
work. You can't disregard a piece of equipment just because the OS

doesn't
like it. My advice, stick to an OS where all of your equipment works.


The OP's concern on the Winfast TV could be caused by the setting and/or
unavailable hardware driver. For the later case, the OP is stuck until there
is a Linux driver for such a TV card, not the whole system doesn't work. To
some extend, some people will not use the Winfast TV card, yet the system
runs fine and smooth without any DOB. You may not like Linux OS; however, an
advice like that, just because the hardware does not work on the OS without
knowing the cause, will get you nowhere even on a Windows OS.

--
Mazi


  #10  
Old July 5th 04, 11:02 PM
Steven Kinch
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

On Tue, 08 Jun 2004 08:06:19 +0100, baskitcaise wrote:

Early 2 Riz adjusted his tin foil beanie and asbestos underwear to
write:


If your Winfast TV doesn't work, then you can say the whole system
doesn't
work. You can't disregard a piece of equipment just because the OS
doesn't like it. My advice, stick to an OS where all of your equipment
works.


Name me one O/S where all hardware works 100% and I will buy it

That would probably be Mandrake 10. No need to buy. Just download.
 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Linux AMD64 Roger Treece AMD x86-64 Processors 0 May 6th 04 04:27 PM
Reintroduction to 64bit DeanF AMD x86-64 Processors 0 April 10th 04 01:16 AM
Intel backs linux fund against SCO stacey General 0 January 13th 04 04:29 AM
Linux & modems jeremy General 14 December 9th 03 03:47 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2022 HardwareBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.