A computer components & hardware forum. HardwareBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » HardwareBanter forum » Processors » AMD x86-64 Processors
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

No BIOS installed?



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old April 24th 04, 11:20 AM
Craig Coope
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default No BIOS installed?

I have just bought a new PC (A64 3400+) and although it loads winxp fine
when it is first turned on it says "No device found!" and then "BIOS is not
installed" at the start of the POST...

My Mobo is a Microstar K8T800...

....and it is a Promise BIOS I think....It won't even give me the option to
press del to get into the BIOS....

I have kinda read that it my have something to do with the SATA or RAID set
up....but I am new to that and have no idea how this is set up at the
moment....

There is a floppy disk for the Promise driver...

The PC worked perfectly last night but when I came to turn it on today the
power light came on but no signal was sent tot he monitor and the keyboard
lights didn't come on...it just sat there...so I had to turn it off and on 3
times before it would boot correctly...

Any ideas?

Cheers

Craig...


  #2  
Old April 25th 04, 01:16 AM
Sven Ghali
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Craig, I would suggest you RMA that mobo ASAP.



"Craig Coope" wrote in message
...
I have just bought a new PC (A64 3400+) and although it loads winxp fine
when it is first turned on it says "No device found!" and then "BIOS is
not
installed" at the start of the POST...

My Mobo is a Microstar K8T800...

...and it is a Promise BIOS I think....It won't even give me the option to
press del to get into the BIOS....

I have kinda read that it my have something to do with the SATA or RAID
set
up....but I am new to that and have no idea how this is set up at the
moment....

There is a floppy disk for the Promise driver...

The PC worked perfectly last night but when I came to turn it on today the
power light came on but no signal was sent tot he monitor and the keyboard
lights didn't come on...it just sat there...so I had to turn it off and on
3
times before it would boot correctly...

Any ideas?

Cheers

Craig...




  #3  
Old April 25th 04, 02:00 AM
Daniel P
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I have a similar problem it says bios is no installed and all that, but I
can access the bios by press del. It posts it works fine for me so i don't
care. Also, The Core Center Splash screen is on i am guessing. That covers
up the bios option you can press del while that is up go into bios and turn
it off.

--
"Duct tape is a lot like the Force. It has a Dark side, a Light side, and it
holds all the pieces of the Universe together"
"Craig Coope" wrote in message
...
I have just bought a new PC (A64 3400+) and although it loads winxp fine
when it is first turned on it says "No device found!" and then "BIOS is

not
installed" at the start of the POST...

My Mobo is a Microstar K8T800...

...and it is a Promise BIOS I think....It won't even give me the option to
press del to get into the BIOS....

I have kinda read that it my have something to do with the SATA or RAID

set
up....but I am new to that and have no idea how this is set up at the
moment....

There is a floppy disk for the Promise driver...

The PC worked perfectly last night but when I came to turn it on today the
power light came on but no signal was sent tot he monitor and the keyboard
lights didn't come on...it just sat there...so I had to turn it off and on

3
times before it would boot correctly...

Any ideas?

Cheers

Craig...




  #4  
Old April 25th 04, 12:02 PM
Craig Coope
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I have a similar problem it says bios is no installed and all that, but I
can access the bios by press del. It posts it works fine for me so i don't
care. Also, The Core Center Splash screen is on i am guessing. That covers
up the bios option you can press del while that is up go into bios and

turn
it off.


OK...as an update I can now see the American Megatrends screen where it
askes me if I want to press Del and a couple of other options for boot setup
etc...but I can't actually choose anything because under it says something
like "Continue to flash the BIOS Yes? or No?" and then when I have to choose
one of those options...and choosing yes just makes the PC keep beeping 3
times......


And about the PC not booting....this is the second morning in a row where I
have turned it on and there has been only a few sounds and the PC power
light....no beep and no POST....I simply press reset and it works again?

Do you think this has something to do with it?

Craig....


  #5  
Old April 25th 04, 12:10 PM
Craig Coope
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default


"Craig Coope" wrote in message
...

And about the PC not booting....this is the second morning in a row where

I
have turned it on and there has been only a few sounds and the PC power
light....no beep and no POST....I simply press reset and it works again?

Do you think this has something to do with it?

Craig....



OK...another update...Thankd Daniel...it seems that my core splash screen
was hiding the del keypress option as I have just pressed del and it came up
withthe BIOS...so i guess I am happy now...

....I will keep am eye on the PC not booting first time tho...I'm not too
bothered...I have a one year onsite warrenty...and another 3 PCs to use
while this is geting fixed p

Cheers guys....


  #6  
Old April 25th 04, 12:13 PM
Craig Coope
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default


"Satan's Little Sister" wrote in message
...
Thus spake Craig Coope:

I have just bought a new PC (A64 3400+) and although it loads winxp fine
when it is first turned on it says "No device found!" and then "BIOS is

not
installed" at the start of the POST...


A typical BIOS package actually a compressed package that contains
several 'component' BIOSes, for such things as RAID controllers,
onboard NICs and audio, video, etc. The unpacking code isn't finding
some device it expects, and thus can't give to that device its BIOS
code.


I have been told an another ng that the no device found thing is probably
because the PC is just using the usual IDE controller (as that is how it is
connected) and not SATA or RAID...hmmmm...

Craig....


  #7  
Old April 25th 04, 01:11 PM
baskitcaise
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Craig Coope wrote:

And about the PC not booting....this is the second morning in a row where
I have turned it on and there has been only a few sounds and the PC power
light....no beep and no POST....I simply press reset and it works again?

Do you think this has something to do with it?



How good is your power supply?

Cold boot problems can be down to borderline power supply.

HTH

--
Mark
Iligitimi Non Carborundum!
Twixt hill and high water, N.Wales, UK
onfxvgpnvfr-ng-tzk-qbg-pb-hx
  #8  
Old April 27th 04, 01:55 AM
Hop
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default


"Craig Coope" wrote in message
...

"Satan's Little Sister" wrote in message
...
Thus spake Craig Coope:

I have just bought a new PC (A64 3400+) and although it loads winxp

fine
when it is first turned on it says "No device found!" and then "BIOS is

not
installed" at the start of the POST...


A typical BIOS package actually a compressed package that contains
several 'component' BIOSes, for such things as RAID controllers,
onboard NICs and audio, video, etc. The unpacking code isn't finding
some device it expects, and thus can't give to that device its BIOS
code.


I have been told an another ng that the no device found thing is probably
because the PC is just using the usual IDE controller (as that is how it

is
connected) and not SATA or RAID...hmmmm...

Craig....

Craig, the reason it says 'no bios' is because there are no devices attached
to the Promise raid controller.

If you have SATA devices attached, it would 'build an array' the first
time,
and thereafter it would detect the attached devices and boot up from
there...

Is the board the NEO 8 with Via 800T chipset?



  #9  
Old April 27th 04, 09:53 AM
Craig Coope
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default


"Hop" wrote in message
...

Craig....

Craig, the reason it says 'no bios' is because there are no devices

attached
to the Promise raid controller.

If you have SATA devices attached, it would 'build an array' the first
time,
and thereafter it would detect the attached devices and boot up from
there...

Is the board the NEO 8 with Via 800T chipset?


K8T Neo based on VIA K8T800...

I am actually not worried about the no bios thing as I have since found the
proper BIOS hidden under the core-cell splash screen....

I however have not found the reason why the PC won't boot from cold....looks
like ti will have to be sent back (

Craig...


  #10  
Old April 27th 04, 10:21 AM
Craig Coope
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default


"Craig Coope" wrote in message
...

"Craig Coope" wrote in message
...

And about the PC not booting....this is the second morning in a row

where
I
have turned it on and there has been only a few sounds and the PC power
light....no beep and no POST....I simply press reset and it works again?

Do you think this has something to do with it?

Craig....



OK...another update...Thankd Daniel...it seems that my core splash screen
was hiding the del keypress option as I have just pressed del and it came

up
withthe BIOS...so i guess I am happy now...

...I will keep am eye on the PC not booting first time tho...I'm not too
bothered...I have a one year onsite warrenty...and another 3 PCs to use
while this is geting fixed p


Someone I think on here suggested my cold boot problem (usually overnight)
may be the PSU being borderline but the techy at the store says if this was
the case then it wouldn't boot sometimes even when it has been on for
hours...hmmm...also it is an AMD Cheiftech approved PSU (340W Max)...

It really isn't a "big" problem as it does boot after a min or two...I can't
be bothered with the hassle of sending it back...I hoped it would be covered
by the onsite part of the warrenty....

The powerlight will come on and it kinda sounds like the HS has powered up
but no signal to the monitor or keyboard and it just sits there....

However one time it made the usual beep and got to the core cell screen and
then went "beeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeep" until I turned it off.....

I think I need someone here to tell me to get off my (not so) fat arse to
send it back..

Craig... )



 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BIOS is not installed Jack General 2 January 30th 05 05:46 PM
BIOS Flash problems Bradley Betz General 6 May 19th 04 06:06 PM
Downgrading the BIOS of my p4p800-vm...possible? KILOWATT General 3 January 2nd 04 09:37 PM
BIOS Gricalus General 3 July 13th 03 12:07 PM
bios hung while flashing mdp General 1 June 23rd 03 11:18 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2022 HardwareBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.