A computer components & hardware forum. HardwareBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » HardwareBanter forum » System Manufacturers & Vendors » Compaq Servers
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

Proliant 5000 Server



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old November 16th 03, 08:50 PM
Mark
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Proliant 5000 Server

*** Newbie Alert ***
I have just bought a Proliant 5000 with Quad P200 pro's.
I have had no experience with these units, but this one has got a fault.
When powering up it throws up an error saying that the two CPUs on one of
the CPU boards have failed. Testing has revealed that the CPUs and VRMs are
fine.
A couple of questions,
Is this a common fault?
Can this be fixed?
What can I expect to pay for a used MOBO (located in UK)?

Many thanks in advance,

Mark


  #2  
Old November 16th 03, 09:45 PM
Larry
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Mark stood scratching his head and shouted:
Is this a common fault?

I've seen it come up on occasion.

Can this be fixed?

Yes. I'd recommend you power down and re-seat every card. While you have
each card out, I'd clean the contacts with a pink-pearl eraser, wipe with
alcohol, and dry with a soft cotton cloth. Re-assemble, then power up.
Sometimes we have to re-seat out CPU or PSU several times to get rid of an
error.

If you still have errors (or suspect a bad component), swap parts to
troubleshoot down to an individual component.

We get our parts from Ebay after a google search to identify all compatible
part numbers.

Good luck!


Larry Wagar
Skagit Media Productions
(360) 854-0709
larry at skagitmedia dot com
www.skagitmedia.com
Featuring: Virtual Tours,
Database driven ASP sites,
ASP Hosting $8.25 month,
50% off for Non-Profits
MLS Real Estate Sites





"Mark" wrote in message
...
*** Newbie Alert ***
I have just bought a Proliant 5000 with Quad P200 pro's.
I have had no experience with these units, but this one has got a fault.
When powering up it throws up an error saying that the two CPUs on one of
the CPU boards have failed. Testing has revealed that the CPUs and VRMs

are
fine.
A couple of questions,
Is this a common fault?
Can this be fixed?
What can I expect to pay for a used MOBO (located in UK)?

Many thanks in advance,

Mark




  #3  
Old November 17th 03, 02:59 AM
Sharmon
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Set your CPU as corrected in the SCU once it is fixed or you will keep
getting this message . Use CTRL + A on the first screen of the SCU to
get the advanced options


On Sun, 16 Nov 2003 19:50:19 +0000 (UTC), "Mark"
wrote:

*** Newbie Alert ***
I have just bought a Proliant 5000 with Quad P200 pro's.
I have had no experience with these units, but this one has got a fault.
When powering up it throws up an error saying that the two CPUs on one of
the CPU boards have failed. Testing has revealed that the CPUs and VRMs are
fine.
A couple of questions,
Is this a common fault?
Can this be fixed?
What can I expect to pay for a used MOBO (located in UK)?

Many thanks in advance,

Mark


 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
64 bit - Windows Liberty 64bit, Windows Limited Edition 64 Bit, Microsoft SQL Server 2000 Developer Edition 64 Bit, IBM DB2 64 bit - new ! vvcd AMD x86-64 Processors 0 September 17th 04 09:07 PM
Continued: Putting together a Lower-Mid End Server Arifi Koseoglu Asus Motherboards 2 February 20th 04 02:34 PM
64 bit - Windows Liberty 64bit, Windows Limited Edition 64 Bit,Microsoft SQL Server 2000 Developer Edition 64 Bit, IBM DB2 64 bit - new! TEL Overclocking AMD Processors 0 January 1st 04 07:59 PM
Smart Satrt CD for Proliant 5000 William Compaq Servers 5 December 18th 03 03:02 PM
ProLiant server, general question, Tom, HH, Dale???? the yeti Compaq Computers 6 October 11th 03 08:01 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2022 HardwareBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.