A computer components & hardware forum. HardwareBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » HardwareBanter forum » System Manufacturers & Vendors » Compaq Computers
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

Putting COMPAQ hdd into non-Compaq PC, What to do ?



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old August 13th 03, 09:01 AM
Jean
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Putting COMPAQ hdd into non-Compaq PC, What to do ?

Hello,

I am trying to salvage some data from a Compaq 5192 hdd . I put
the hdd into another PC, and BIOS checks the drive ok. Windows on the
other hand does not recognize the parition. I guess its because of the compaq
paritition on the hdd ?

What I would like to do is to get access to the DATA partition on that hdd, I
don't care if that drive works again in Compaq or not. I just need to move the
data over to another hdd.

What do I need ?

thanks
  #2  
Old August 13th 03, 10:40 AM
Rick
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

"Jean" wrote in message news:[email protected]
Hello,

I am trying to salvage some data from a Compaq 5192 hdd . I put
the hdd into another PC, and BIOS checks the drive ok. Windows on the
other hand does not recognize the parition. I guess its because of the compaq
paritition on the hdd ?

What I would like to do is to get access to the DATA partition on that hdd, I
don't care if that drive works again in Compaq or not. I just need to move the
data over to another hdd.

What do I need ?

thanks


What type of partition is on the drive (fat, ntfs etc) and what version
of Windows are you trying to see it under?

Rick


  #3  
Old August 14th 03, 04:48 AM
Jean
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

In article , "Rick" wrote:
"Jean" wrote in message
news:[email protected]
Hello,

I am trying to salvage some data from a Compaq 5192 hdd . I put
the hdd into another PC, and BIOS checks the drive ok. Windows on the
other hand does not recognize the parition. I guess its because of the compaq
paritition on the hdd ?

What I would like to do is to get access to the DATA partition on that hdd, I
don't care if that drive works again in Compaq or not. I just need to move

the
data over to another hdd.

What do I need ?

thanks


What type of partition is on the drive (fat, ntfs etc) and what version
of Windows are you trying to see it under?

Rick


Hello Rick,

It came with windows 98, fat 32 partition. I am trying to see it under XP pro.
If thats a problem, I have access to another PC with 98se and 2k pro.

Thanks!
  #4  
Old August 15th 03, 12:49 AM
Tom Scales
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Should work just fine. Nothing magic about a Compaq, even with those non-DOS
partitions.

Check it out in XP Disk manager
"Jean" wrote in message
news:[email protected]
In article , "Rick"

wrote:
"Jean" wrote in message
news:[email protected]
Hello,

I am trying to salvage some data from a Compaq 5192 hdd . I put
the hdd into another PC, and BIOS checks the drive ok. Windows on the
other hand does not recognize the parition. I guess its because of the

compaq
paritition on the hdd ?

What I would like to do is to get access to the DATA partition on that

hdd, I
don't care if that drive works again in Compaq or not. I just need to

move
the
data over to another hdd.

What do I need ?

thanks


What type of partition is on the drive (fat, ntfs etc) and what version
of Windows are you trying to see it under?

Rick


Hello Rick,

It came with windows 98, fat 32 partition. I am trying to see it under XP

pro.
If thats a problem, I have access to another PC with 98se and 2k pro.

Thanks!



  #5  
Old August 15th 03, 06:27 AM
Jean
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

In article , "Tom Scales" wrote:
Should work just fine. Nothing magic about a Compaq, even with those non-DOS
partitions.

Check it out in XP Disk manager


Really ? I checked disk management and it shows that disk is there. It doesn't
show paritions or any drive letters though .

"Jean" wrote in message
news:[email protected]
In article , "Rick"

wrote:
"Jean" wrote in message
news:[email protected]
Hello,

I am trying to salvage some data from a Compaq 5192 hdd . I put
the hdd into another PC, and BIOS checks the drive ok. Windows on the
other hand does not recognize the parition. I guess its because of the

compaq
paritition on the hdd ?

What I would like to do is to get access to the DATA partition on that

hdd, I
don't care if that drive works again in Compaq or not. I just need to

move
the
data over to another hdd.

What do I need ?

thanks

What type of partition is on the drive (fat, ntfs etc) and what version
of Windows are you trying to see it under?

Rick


Hello Rick,

It came with windows 98, fat 32 partition. I am trying to see it under XP

pro.
If thats a problem, I have access to another PC with 98se and 2k pro.

Thanks!



  #6  
Old August 16th 03, 02:45 AM
Tom Scales
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I've done it a few times, but it has been a long, long time. I assume you
have it jumpered properly?

Tom
"Jean" wrote in message
news:[email protected]
In article , "Tom Scales"

wrote:
Should work just fine. Nothing magic about a Compaq, even with those

non-DOS
partitions.

Check it out in XP Disk manager


Really ? I checked disk management and it shows that disk is there. It

doesn't
show paritions or any drive letters though .

"Jean" wrote in message
news:[email protected]
In article , "Rick"

wrote:
"Jean" wrote in message
news:[email protected]
Hello,

I am trying to salvage some data from a Compaq 5192 hdd . I put
the hdd into another PC, and BIOS checks the drive ok. Windows on

the
other hand does not recognize the parition. I guess its because of

the
compaq
paritition on the hdd ?

What I would like to do is to get access to the DATA partition on

that
hdd, I
don't care if that drive works again in Compaq or not. I just need

to
move
the
data over to another hdd.

What do I need ?

thanks

What type of partition is on the drive (fat, ntfs etc) and what

version
of Windows are you trying to see it under?

Rick


Hello Rick,

It came with windows 98, fat 32 partition. I am trying to see it under

XP
pro.
If thats a problem, I have access to another PC with 98se and 2k pro.

Thanks!





  #7  
Old August 16th 03, 11:30 AM
Tom Scales
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I assume Cable Select was your first choice? That's my only remaining
suggestion.

Tom
"Jean" wrote in message
news:3Ji%[email protected]
In article , "Tom Scales"

wrote:
I've done it a few times, but it has been a long, long time. I assume

you
have it jumpered properly?

Tom


Tom,

Yes its jumpered properly. I even tried it as "single" by itself on

another
controller.

Any tips ?

"Jean" wrote in message
news:[email protected]
In article , "Tom Scales"

wrote:
Should work just fine. Nothing magic about a Compaq, even with those

non-DOS
partitions.

Check it out in XP Disk manager

Really ? I checked disk management and it shows that disk is there. It

doesn't
show paritions or any drive letters though .

"Jean" wrote in message
news:[email protected]
In article , "Rick"
wrote:
"Jean" wrote in message
news:[email protected]
Hello,

I am trying to salvage some data from a Compaq 5192 hdd . I put
the hdd into another PC, and BIOS checks the drive ok. Windows on

the
other hand does not recognize the parition. I guess its because

of
the
compaq
paritition on the hdd ?

What I would like to do is to get access to the DATA partition on

that
hdd, I
don't care if that drive works again in Compaq or not. I just

need
to
move
the
data over to another hdd.

What do I need ?

thanks

What type of partition is on the drive (fat, ntfs etc) and what

version
of Windows are you trying to see it under?

Rick


Hello Rick,

It came with windows 98, fat 32 partition. I am trying to see it

under
XP
pro.
If thats a problem, I have access to another PC with 98se and 2k

pro.

Thanks!






  #8  
Old August 16th 03, 01:23 PM
the yeti
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

There is nothing special about a Compaq Hard Drive. It's the same as
any other hard drive. Plug it in on the IDE cable at the connector
point closest to the motherboard. Jumper it as slave. Plug in your
other Hard drive on the top of the IDE cable jumper it as Master.
Reboot and go. If that dosn't work then jumper both HD's as cable
select. There is only 6 possible combinations, it dosn't take that
long to figure out if you have the right jumper settings for each HD.
If it dosn't work then the Hard Drive is probally toast. Put it in a
plastic bag in the freezer for 2 hours and then hook it up, sometimes
that works.

Or try Knoppix to access the hard Drive.
  #10  
Old August 22nd 03, 02:50 PM
- Bobb -
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Jean,
It sounds like you know your way around this stuff, what does FDISK show ?
Does it recognize both partitions ? Can you see them with Norton GHOST ?
How about putting it in alone and from floppy trying " fdisk/mbr " in DOS ?
Hopefully rewriting the mbr would help.

good luck.


"Jean" wrote in message
news:[email protected]
Hello,

I am trying to salvage some data from a Compaq 5192 hdd . I put
the hdd into another PC, and BIOS checks the drive ok. Windows on the
other hand does not recognize the parition. I guess its because of the

compaq
paritition on the hdd ?

What I would like to do is to get access to the DATA partition on that

hdd, I
don't care if that drive works again in Compaq or not. I just need to move

the
data over to another hdd.

What do I need ?

thanks



 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Compaq FAQ HH Compaq Computers 0 August 11th 03 08:46 PM
Compaq FAQ HH Compaq Computers 1 August 7th 03 11:24 PM
Compaq FAQ HH Compaq Computers 0 August 7th 03 04:22 PM
Compaq FAQ HH Compaq Computers 0 August 1st 03 09:24 PM
Compaq FAQ Updated HH Compaq Computers 0 June 29th 03 03:58 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2022 HardwareBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.