A computer components & hardware forum. HardwareBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » HardwareBanter forum » System Manufacturers & Vendors » Compaq Computers
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

Deskpro 5166 disk



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old July 13th 03, 12:28 PM
Steve
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Deskpro 5166 disk

I have a Compaq Deskpro 2000 5166 with a system ROM 586C
dated 08/16/1996. It only supports disks up to 2Gb. Am I
correct in assuming that if I Flash this thing with the
SP15800 ROMPaq from HP/Compaq, I can stick in a bigger disk?

SSS,
--
SSS,
Steve / Strathclyde / Scotland.
-------------------------------
  #2  
Old July 13th 03, 03:09 PM
HH
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

As stated on the ROMPaQ:
Enhancements




Allows system to recognize hard drives larger than 8 GB.

HH



"Steve" wrote in message
...
I have a Compaq Deskpro 2000 5166 with a system ROM 586C
dated 08/16/1996. It only supports disks up to 2Gb. Am I
correct in assuming that if I Flash this thing with the
SP15800 ROMPaq from HP/Compaq, I can stick in a bigger disk?

SSS,
--
SSS,
Steve / Strathclyde / Scotland.
-------------------------------







Attached Images
  
  #3  
Old July 13th 03, 05:11 PM
Mike Calkins
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

What HH is referring to is the SoftPaq / ROMPaQ documentation, usually
included as a .doc or .txt file with the executable.

Mike in Houston

"HH" wrote in message
. ..
As stated on the ROMPaQ:
Enhancements




Allows system to recognize hard drives larger than 8 GB.

HH



"Steve" wrote in message
...
I have a Compaq Deskpro 2000 5166 with a system ROM 586C
dated 08/16/1996. It only supports disks up to 2Gb. Am I
correct in assuming that if I Flash this thing with the
SP15800 ROMPaq from HP/Compaq, I can stick in a bigger disk?

SSS,
--
SSS,
Steve / Strathclyde / Scotland.
-------------------------------






  #4  
Old July 13th 03, 06:10 PM
Steve
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

On Sun, 13 Jul 2003 16:11:57 GMT, in alt.sys.pc-clone.compaq "Mike
Calkins" wrote:

What HH is referring to is the SoftPaq / ROMPaQ documentation, usually
included as a .doc or .txt file with the executable.

Mike in Houston

In know that. But my upper limit is 2GB, not 8GB. I just
thought this box might be a bit too early for this update.
I don't want to attempt to flash the ROM with the wrong code
and end up with a dead box. I am hunting for a way to save off
the original ROM image so I can put it back if everything goes
tits up. I know there's a way, I done it before on other
machines.

S,
--
SSS,
Steve / Strathclyde / Scotland.
-------------------------------
  #5  
Old July 13th 03, 10:10 PM
Mike Calkins
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I have a couple Deskpro 2000's of that vintage, let me check the BIOS level,
and see if they can 'see' over 2 gig.

If not, I'll flash them, and give you the results.

Feel free to email me directly, and I could use the serial number of your
box, as it'll tell me the manufacture date, and config code.

Mike in Houston


"Steve" wrote in message
...
On Sun, 13 Jul 2003 16:11:57 GMT, in alt.sys.pc-clone.compaq "Mike
Calkins" wrote:

What HH is referring to is the SoftPaq / ROMPaQ documentation, usually
included as a .doc or .txt file with the executable.

Mike in Houston

In know that. But my upper limit is 2GB, not 8GB. I just
thought this box might be a bit too early for this update.
I don't want to attempt to flash the ROM with the wrong code
and end up with a dead box. I am hunting for a way to save off
the original ROM image so I can put it back if everything goes
tits up. I know there's a way, I done it before on other
machines.

S,
--
SSS,
Steve / Strathclyde / Scotland.
-------------------------------



  #6  
Old July 13th 03, 11:35 PM
Mike Calkins
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

According to the Yeti,

"Windows 95 with the Fat 16 file system had the 2 gig partition limit, that
could be whats holding you back. The computers themselves were limited to 8
gig."

So applying the SoftPaq / ROMPaQ success depends on the version of the OS
that you intend to apply.



Mike in Houston
"Steve" wrote in message
...
On Sun, 13 Jul 2003 16:11:57 GMT, in alt.sys.pc-clone.compaq "Mike
Calkins" wrote:

What HH is referring to is the SoftPaq / ROMPaQ documentation, usually
included as a .doc or .txt file with the executable.

Mike in Houston

In know that. But my upper limit is 2GB, not 8GB. I just
thought this box might be a bit too early for this update.
I don't want to attempt to flash the ROM with the wrong code
and end up with a dead box. I am hunting for a way to save off
the original ROM image so I can put it back if everything goes
tits up. I know there's a way, I done it before on other
machines.

S,
--
SSS,
Steve / Strathclyde / Scotland.
-------------------------------



 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why Boot and System Disk? mo Asus Motherboards 1 September 5th 04 10:01 AM
Best drive configuration? Noozer General 20 May 27th 04 03:10 AM
My system seems to "recover" with great frequency Louise Homebuilt PC's 3 May 17th 04 06:02 AM
Some P4C800-E Deluxe Q's and upgrade advice requested please Paul Asus Motherboards 6 April 13th 04 08:46 PM
Problem booting from SATA disk with GA-8KNXP motherboard (like many others) Eric Janvier Gigabyte Motherboards 9 November 22nd 03 02:56 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2022 HardwareBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.