A computer components & hardware forum. HardwareBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » HardwareBanter forum » System Manufacturers & Vendors » Compaq Computers
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

Question about using Quick Restore discs



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old June 30th 03, 11:20 PM
Miss Jo Anne CD
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Question about using Quick Restore discs

I`ve used the Quick Restore disks on just about every Compaq I`ve ever
owned..You should have no problem..But at one point it will ask you for the
product code that came with your computer..If you don`t have that you will be
lost
  #2  
Old July 1st 03, 12:50 AM
DEJ57
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

But at one point it will ask you for the
product code that came with your computer..If you don`t have that you will be
lost


It would be located on the front cover of the Windows manual/documentation
booklet that came with your PC....
  #3  
Old July 1st 03, 03:55 AM
doS
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Not the 5000 series from 1999...

"Miss Jo Anne CD" wrote in message
...
I`ve used the Quick Restore disks on just about every Compaq I`ve ever
owned..You should have no problem..But at one point it will ask you for

the
product code that came with your computer..If you don`t have that you will

be
lost



  #4  
Old July 2nd 03, 02:07 AM
bglenn
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Thanks, everyone. The disks worked like a charm and the computer is
running like a new one.

I wasn't asked for the Windows/product code, even though I was ready
with it.

On Mon, 30 Jun 2003 22:55:25 -0400, "doS"
wrote:

Not the 5000 series from 1999...

"Miss Jo Anne CD" wrote in message
...
I`ve used the Quick Restore disks on just about every Compaq I`ve ever
owned..You should have no problem..But at one point it will ask you for

the
product code that came with your computer..If you don`t have that you will

be
lost



  #5  
Old July 2nd 03, 05:43 PM
Mike Calkins
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

On my 1999 5000 series, they thoughtfully glued it inside the CD door on the
front of the chassis. Windows Me.....


Mike in Houston


"doS" wrote in message
...
Not the 5000 series from 1999...

"Miss Jo Anne CD" wrote in message
...
I`ve used the Quick Restore disks on just about every Compaq I`ve ever
owned..You should have no problem..But at one point it will ask you for

the
product code that came with your computer..If you don`t have that you

will
be
lost





 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
When Good Discs Go Bad Ablang General 0 June 27th 04 03:47 AM
A7V600-X - quick question Linea Recta Asus Motherboards 4 April 30th 04 03:32 PM
Quick Question Joshua P. Hill Asus Motherboards 0 December 25th 03 03:58 AM
Quick HyperThreading question Darkfalz Asus Motherboards 3 November 6th 03 06:06 AM
Quick nForce/GeForce question. ~misfit~ General 4 October 30th 03 12:50 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2022 HardwareBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.