A computer components & hardware forum. HardwareBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » HardwareBanter forum » System Manufacturers & Vendors » Compaq Computers
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

What is it with Compaq support?



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old June 23rd 03, 06:09 PM
michael
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default What is it with Compaq support?

Are there really people so dense and incapable of original thought,or are we
really talking to a computer programmed with stock answers?
They continually give me a part number for a psu for my system that I know
is wrong,since I already returned one unit.I'm no expert,but I
don't see how anything short of a miracle is going to make a 20 pin
connector is going to fit on a mobo with a 24 pin proprietary connector.
But they keep giving me numbers for units that have 20 pin
connectors,because that's what the spare parts site tells them goes on my
system.
I tried to point out the site also says my system uses PC 133 memory,when in
fact it uses 2100 DDR,but they can't seem to grasp the concept
that the site isn't giving people correct information.


  #2  
Old June 23rd 03, 06:20 PM
Rick
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

"michael" wrote in message ...
Are there really people so dense and incapable of original thought,or are we
really talking to a computer programmed with stock answers?
They continually give me a part number for a psu for my system that I know
is wrong,since I already returned one unit.I'm no expert,but I
don't see how anything short of a miracle is going to make a 20 pin
connector is going to fit on a mobo with a 24 pin proprietary connector.
But they keep giving me numbers for units that have 20 pin
connectors,because that's what the spare parts site tells them goes on my
system.
I tried to point out the site also says my system uses PC 133 memory,when in
fact it uses 2100 DDR,but they can't seem to grasp the concept
that the site isn't giving people correct information.


Yeah their (actually HP now) support is beyond awful. A friend of
mine has a 5000T Presario and wanted to upgrade the CPU and
memory. He called their support line three times and got three
completely different stories about what his upgrade options were,
and all three support reps said they were 100% sure about their
information. Pretty sad. We still don't have a straight answer.

RickW


  #3  
Old June 23rd 03, 07:23 PM
SFR
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

"michael" a écrit dans le message news:
...
(...)
I tried to point out the site also says my system uses PC 133 memory,when

in
fact it uses 2100 DDR,but they can't seem to grasp the concept
that the site isn't giving people correct information.


Hi !

Well sometimes this memory thing appears to be quite obscure... Since
DDR-SDRAM marked as PC2100 has actually a front side bus at 133Mhz (the
double data rate thing makes it a"266" aka PC2100 ) maybe the confusion
comes from this part ? Anyway, you didn't specify your model, so I'm just
guessing :-)

Regards,

Serge


---
Outgoing mail is certified Virus Free.
Checked by AVG anti-virus system (http://www.grisoft.com).
Version: 6.0.490 / Virus Database: 289 - Release Date: 20/06/2003


  #4  
Old June 23rd 03, 10:31 PM
Quaoar
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Rick wrote:
"michael" wrote in message
...
Are there really people so dense and incapable of original
thought,or are we
really talking to a computer programmed with stock answers?
They continually give me a part number for a psu for my system that
I know
is wrong,since I already returned one unit.I'm no expert,but I
don't see how anything short of a miracle is going to make a 20 pin
connector is going to fit on a mobo with a 24 pin proprietary
connector.
But they keep giving me numbers for units that have 20 pin
connectors,because that's what the spare parts site tells them goes
on my
system.
I tried to point out the site also says my system uses PC 133
memory,when in
fact it uses 2100 DDR,but they can't seem to grasp the concept
that the site isn't giving people correct information.


Yeah their (actually HP now) support is beyond awful. A friend of
mine has a 5000T Presario and wanted to upgrade the CPU and
memory. He called their support line three times and got three
completely different stories about what his upgrade options were,
and all three support reps said they were 100% sure about their
information. Pretty sad. We still don't have a straight answer.

RickW


I live in Fort Collins, CO. A few years ago there were thousands upon
thousands of HP employees in this area. Today, a corporate jet flew
over my house heading west. Only HP has clout for a corporate jet
locally. I figure Carly has just laid of another 20,000 employees.

You might never get a straight answer.

Q


  #5  
Old June 24th 03, 08:28 AM
michael
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

No,the problem is that Compaq can't keep track of their own products.My
model is a 5423US,a newer Pentium 4 system,and they keep recommending parts
for the 5423,an older,and totally different,system.
"SFR" marre du spam wrote in message
...
"michael" a écrit dans le message news:
...
(...)
I tried to point out the site also says my system uses PC 133

memory,when
in
fact it uses 2100 DDR,but they can't seem to grasp the concept
that the site isn't giving people correct information.


Hi !

Well sometimes this memory thing appears to be quite obscure... Since
DDR-SDRAM marked as PC2100 has actually a front side bus at 133Mhz (the
double data rate thing makes it a"266" aka PC2100 ) maybe the confusion
comes from this part ? Anyway, you didn't specify your model, so I'm just
guessing :-)

Regards,

Serge


---
Outgoing mail is certified Virus Free.
Checked by AVG anti-virus system (http://www.grisoft.com).
Version: 6.0.490 / Virus Database: 289 - Release Date: 20/06/2003




  #6  
Old June 24th 03, 12:23 PM
Miss Jo Anne CD
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I called Compaq to ask about my 5000 and first was told for technical support
to call another number then when I called there some woman who barely spoken
English asked me all kinds of personal info then finally asked she could
help..I told her I just wanted to verify what type RAM my computer would
take..She told me to hold the line while she put me thru to a tech person (Why
did she even answer the phone?) finally the tech person told me my computer
would only take PC 100 modules which turned out not to be true
 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No dma sw mode support for cd writer ggroups2 Asus Motherboards 1 September 4th 04 01:53 AM
Need motherboard recommendation Ray Mitchell Asus Motherboards 17 July 19th 04 11:48 AM
ASUS Tech Support Question [email protected]@hotmail.com Asus Motherboards 6 May 20th 04 11:10 PM
Bad news for ATI: Nvidia to 'own' ATI at CeBit - no pixel shader 3.0 support in R420 (long) NV55 Ati Videocards 12 February 24th 04 07:29 AM
ATI Radeon Rant - No Stereo 3D Support [email protected] Ati Videocards 3 June 30th 03 01:35 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004-2022 HardwareBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.