A computer components & hardware forum. HardwareBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » HardwareBanter forum » Video Cards » Nvidia Videocards
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

GeForce 3 Ti500 Multi Monitor Support?



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old September 23rd 04, 07:52 PM
Rez Manzoori
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default GeForce 3 Ti500 Multi Monitor Support?

Hi Folks,

I've been using multi monitor setup for a while now using the GeForce 3Ti500
(Remember when these where the Bees Knees!) for the 21" CRT and a really old
Matrox Mystique PCI card to run a 17" CRT.

The 17" unit has been sold off and a second identical 21" CRT taken it's
place. I'm trying to use the VGA and DVI outputs of the GF3 card to drive
the two 21" CRTs but all I can manage is 2 identical screens... not much
good to me! :-(

I've download 61.77 which tells me multi-monitor is enabled but I still
can't seem to find a way to let me span the screens. I should point out that
the Matrox card has been disabled in Device manager but is still physically
in the machine. Could this be causing it?

In desperation I've ordered an FX5700LE 256MB DDR TV OUT/DVI from Tekheads
(after the second 21" CRT the budget is stretched!)... am I going to get the
same problems with screen spanning? (by that point I will have taken all the
old cards out)

TIA

--
Rez Manzoori
Remove 'Mykeks' to respond





  #2  
Old September 23rd 04, 08:52 PM
CapFusion
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default


"Rez Manzoori" wrote in message
...
Hi Folks,

I've been using multi monitor setup for a while now using the GeForce
3Ti500
(Remember when these where the Bees Knees!) for the 21" CRT and a really
old
Matrox Mystique PCI card to run a 17" CRT.

The 17" unit has been sold off and a second identical 21" CRT taken it's
place. I'm trying to use the VGA and DVI outputs of the GF3 card to drive
the two 21" CRTs but all I can manage is 2 identical screens... not much
good to me! :-(

I've download 61.77 which tells me multi-monitor is enabled but I still
can't seem to find a way to let me span the screens. I should point out
that the Matrox card has been disabled in Device manager but is still
physically in the machine. Could this be causing it?

In desperation I've ordered an FX5700LE 256MB DDR TV OUT/DVI from
Tekheads (after the second 21" CRT the budget is stretched!)... am I going
to get the same problems with screen spanning? (by that point I will have
taken all the old cards out)


Since I do not have any more of GeForce3 card, I assumed it should be the
same as any FX card.
Remove Matrox and it driver. Restart Windows and check again in Display
Properties Advance GeForce [Tab]. After clicking on GeForce, a pop-out
menu will display. Do you see nView Display Mode? If so, under nView Modes
drop-down menu, what mode it list?

FX5700 series should have no problem using two monitor output.

CapFusion,...


  #3  
Old September 23rd 04, 11:07 PM
... et al.
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Rez Manzoori wrote:
Hi Folks,

I've been using multi monitor setup for a while now using the GeForce 3Ti500
(Remember when these where the Bees Knees!) for the 21" CRT and a really old
Matrox Mystique PCI card to run a 17" CRT.


Did it work differently with that old setup? Then with ...

The 17" unit has been sold off and a second identical 21" CRT taken it's
place. I'm trying to use the VGA and DVI outputs of the GF3 card to drive
the two 21" CRTs but all I can manage is 2 identical screens... not much
good to me! :-(

I've download 61.77 which tells me multi-monitor is enabled but I still
can't seem to find a way to let me span the screens. I should point out that
the Matrox card has been disabled in Device manager but is still physically
in the machine. Could this be causing it?


A Geforce 3 GPU contains only one RAMDAC. And as far i understand
it, the output from one RAMDAC can possibly be stretched over
several displays or the same output-picture cloned onto different
displays. But to get different independent pictures you need more
RAMDAC's ..

In desperation I've ordered an FX5700LE 256MB DDR TV OUT/DVI from Tekheads
(after the second 21" CRT the budget is stretched!)... am I going to get the
same problems with screen spanning? (by that point I will have taken all the
old cards out)


I don't know the RAMDAC number situtaion in anything then the
GF3-series cards.

--
Please followup in newsgroup.
E-mail address is invalid due to spam-control.
  #4  
Old September 24th 04, 12:52 AM
tq96
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I don't know the RAMDAC number situtaion in anything then the
GF3-series cards.


Starting with GF2MX and GF4 going forward, all NVidia cards have dual
RAMDACs.
  #5  
Old September 24th 04, 01:57 AM
Lachoneus
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

The 17" unit has been sold off and a second identical 21" CRT taken it's
place. I'm trying to use the VGA and DVI outputs of the GF3 card to drive
the two 21" CRTs but all I can manage is 2 identical screens... not much
good to me! :-(


I don't think you can do any better with a GF3. It doesn't have dual
RAMDACs, so it can only produce one output signal. I should know, I
tried it with my old Ti200 a couple years ago.

In desperation I've ordered an FX5700LE 256MB DDR TV OUT/DVI from Tekheads
(after the second 21" CRT the budget is stretched!)... am I going to get the
same problems with screen spanning? (by that point I will have taken all the
old cards out)


That card should be fine. I do dual monitors at work with an FX5200,
and it works fine for me.
 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ATI Multi Rendering: ATI's Answer to Nvidia SLI Xenon Ati Videocards 1 November 14th 04 08:49 PM
NVidia 6800 --- developer comments from Nvidia news release John Lewis Nvidia Videocards 1 April 17th 04 12:54 AM
Pricing Differences Between GeForce Generations Damaeus Nvidia Videocards 6 February 25th 04 11:11 AM
Geforce 3 TI500 or ATI Radeon 9600 MarkH Nvidia Videocards 18 December 10th 03 07:38 AM
Gainward GeForce 3 Ti500 and BX Master? Bob Byrne Nvidia Videocards 1 July 1st 03 06:21 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2022 HardwareBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.