A computer components & hardware forum. HardwareBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » HardwareBanter forum » Video Cards » Nvidia Videocards
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

OC Gainward GS



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old August 6th 04, 02:05 PM
Chuck
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default OC Gainward GS

Ok, now that I'm playing Doom 3, I need to think about these things...... I
have a Gainward GF4 Ti 4800 SE Golden Sample. I have EXPERTool that came
with the card installed and running. It allows me to manually set the
core/memory speeds. I also have the Coolbits installed, which as part of
the Nvidia advanced settings, allows me to set the core/memory speeds.

Which setting prevails if EXPERTool and Coolbits are not set at the same
speed? I never realized or noticed until I just started try to fool with
it. I'm at 300/650 with no problems. How high might I be able to safely
go?


Chuck
--
I am not running for office and I approve of this message.



  #2  
Old August 6th 04, 03:23 PM
Phil
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default


"Chuck" wrote in message
...
Ok, now that I'm playing Doom 3, I need to think about these things......

I
have a Gainward GF4 Ti 4800 SE Golden Sample. I have EXPERTool that came
with the card installed and running. It allows me to manually set the
core/memory speeds. I also have the Coolbits installed, which as part of
the Nvidia advanced settings, allows me to set the core/memory speeds.

Which setting prevails if EXPERTool and Coolbits are not set at the same
speed? I never realized or noticed until I just started try to fool with
it. I'm at 300/650 with no problems. How high might I be able to safely
go?



I've got the same card, and haven't really pushed it further than you, but
with the quality of the components it could probably go further. I found
somewhere which listed the memory timings etc and gave a clock rate the
memory chips could get to without being pushed, but I can't find the link
anymore.

I should imagine that the last one you set the clock on will be the
overriding one, for example if you clocked it at 280 in coolbits, then 300
in EXPERTool, it would run at 300, and vice-versa.

I would say at 320/675 you're going to be lucky to not damage the card or
get artifacts, but in all cases YMMV.

Clock it up 5MHz at a time, and run some tests for an hour or so, if its ok,
push it a bit further. Slow and tedious I know, but better than pushing it
waaaay to far when you start off.


  #3  
Old August 6th 04, 06:48 PM
Chuck
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I should imagine that the last one you set the clock on will be the
overriding one, for example if you clocked it at 280 in coolbits, then 300
in EXPERTool, it would run at 300, and vice-versa.

I would say at 320/675 you're going to be lucky to not damage the card or
get artifacts, but in all cases YMMV.

Clock it up 5MHz at a time, and run some tests for an hour or so, if its

ok,
push it a bit further. Slow and tedious I know, but better than pushing it
waaaay to far when you start off.


Thanks for the reply. I've had the card for about 15 months, love it. I've
never messed with OC'ing prior to now because I didn't need it.

I'm getting 19 fps in 1024x768 and 25 fps in 800x600 playing Doom. That's
prior to any tweaks. It could be better, but it is certainly playable.



  #4  
Old August 7th 04, 10:34 AM
Phil
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default


"Chuck" wrote in message
...
I should imagine that the last one you set the clock on will be the
overriding one, for example if you clocked it at 280 in coolbits, then

300
in EXPERTool, it would run at 300, and vice-versa.

I would say at 320/675 you're going to be lucky to not damage the card

or
get artifacts, but in all cases YMMV.

Clock it up 5MHz at a time, and run some tests for an hour or so, if its

ok,
push it a bit further. Slow and tedious I know, but better than pushing

it
waaaay to far when you start off.


Thanks for the reply. I've had the card for about 15 months, love it.

I've
never messed with OC'ing prior to now because I didn't need it.

I'm getting 19 fps in 1024x768 and 25 fps in 800x600 playing Doom. That's
prior to any tweaks. It could be better, but it is certainly playable.




AMD Athlon XP 3000+
512MB PC2700
Gainward GeForce 4 Ti4800SE Golden Sample
80GB PATA 7200rpm, 2MB cache (Hitatchi)

All results taken after second run (timedemo demo1)

All Medium Detail

Stock Speeds

1280x1024 - 24.4fps
1024x768 - 33.2fps
800x600 - 44.9fps
640x480 - 49.7fps

Overclocked 300/580

1280x1024 - 26.2fps
1024x768 - 34.8fps
800x600 - 47.2fps
640x480 - 50.2fps


  #5  
Old August 7th 04, 09:36 PM
Biz
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Is it just me or is that not enough of a gain to bother with the extra heat
of overclocking, and potentially shortening the life of a vid card?


"Phil" wrote in message
...

"Chuck" wrote in message
...
I should imagine that the last one you set the clock on will be the
overriding one, for example if you clocked it at 280 in coolbits, then

300
in EXPERTool, it would run at 300, and vice-versa.

I would say at 320/675 you're going to be lucky to not damage the card

or
get artifacts, but in all cases YMMV.

Clock it up 5MHz at a time, and run some tests for an hour or so, if

its
ok,
push it a bit further. Slow and tedious I know, but better than

pushing
it
waaaay to far when you start off.


Thanks for the reply. I've had the card for about 15 months, love it.

I've
never messed with OC'ing prior to now because I didn't need it.

I'm getting 19 fps in 1024x768 and 25 fps in 800x600 playing Doom.

That's
prior to any tweaks. It could be better, but it is certainly playable.




AMD Athlon XP 3000+
512MB PC2700
Gainward GeForce 4 Ti4800SE Golden Sample
80GB PATA 7200rpm, 2MB cache (Hitatchi)

All results taken after second run (timedemo demo1)

All Medium Detail

Stock Speeds

1280x1024 - 24.4fps
1024x768 - 33.2fps
800x600 - 44.9fps
640x480 - 49.7fps

Overclocked 300/580

1280x1024 - 26.2fps
1024x768 - 34.8fps
800x600 - 47.2fps
640x480 - 50.2fps




  #6  
Old August 7th 04, 09:43 PM
Phil
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default


"Biz" wrote in message
...
Is it just me or is that not enough of a gain to bother with the extra

heat
of overclocking, and potentially shortening the life of a vid card?


That's what I thought, it's perfectly playable at default speeds, so it's
staying default for now.


  #7  
Old August 7th 04, 10:22 PM
Courseyauto
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default


Is it just me or is that not enough of a gain to bother with the extra heat
of overclocking, and potentially shortening the life of a vid card?



If you cant see the difference,whats the point....................
  #8  
Old August 8th 04, 04:38 AM
Biz
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default


"Courseyauto" wrote in message
...

Is it just me or is that not enough of a gain to bother with the extra

heat
of overclocking, and potentially shortening the life of a vid card?



If you cant see the difference,whats the point....................


tell that to a few thousand or more benchmark fanboys....


 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Gainward GeForce FX 5900 - Broken? Rich Nvidia Videocards 6 October 12th 03 08:44 PM
Warning on Gainward FX5600 cards! Stay away! Henry Mortimer Nvidia Videocards 4 August 23rd 03 07:47 PM
Gainward or MSI FX5900 edde Nvidia Videocards 5 July 17th 03 08:04 PM
Gainward s-video out = hot color flicker Erin Nvidia Videocards 0 July 4th 03 02:26 AM
Gainward GF3 Ti450 64Mb or... RHD Nvidia Videocards 1 July 3rd 03 07:31 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2022 HardwareBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.