A computer components & hardware forum. HardwareBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » HardwareBanter forum » Video Cards » Nvidia Videocards
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

Nvidia System Sentinel Problem



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old February 17th 04, 08:18 PM
Scrim
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Nvidia System Sentinel Problem

Overclocking my cpu, as the Windows XP desktop comes up I get warnings from
the 'Nvidia System Sentinel' saying it's reducing my graphics card
performance because the system isn't providing enough power. It repeats the
message several times per second so I end up with tens or even hundreds of
instances of this warning running and shown in the task bar. (I do have
extra power to the video card plugged in). The only course open is to
restart the computer and stop overclocking.



I assumed this was because my AOpen 300W psu couldn't cope with the extra
load of overclocking the cpu, so I just got a Q-Tec Big Fan 500W psu.
Annoyingly I still have the same problem!



When I overclock my Athlon 1.4GHz to 1.6GHz I need to use 1.85V and 3.90V
set in the BIOS. Checking the voltages I can't see much droop, so I can't
understand what's going on. Here are the voltages reported by the system
with and without overclocking:



Without oc With oc

1.81 1.89 (Raised in
bios from 1.75 to 1.85)

3.48 4.02 (Raised in bios from 3.40 to 3.90)

5.10 4.98

12.37 12.31





System:

Motherboard Abit KT7A-RAID

2 x 256MB PC133 ram

Gainward FX PowerPack! Ultra/1100 TV/DVI 128M (Nvidia fx 5900)

Network card

Sound card

2 x HDD

1 x CD burner.





I'm kind of suspicious that the sentinel is actually complaining because the
voltages are too high, or could it be the droop in the 5V line? Which
voltages does the sentinel monitor and what are it's criteria for triggering
a warning?



I don't want to spend a packet on another (branded) psu without being sure
this would solve things.



Any help appreciated.



Scrim


  #2  
Old February 17th 04, 09:37 PM
Derek Wildstar
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default


"Scrim" wrote in message
...

Overclocking my cpu, as the Windows XP desktop comes up I get warnings

from
the 'Nvidia System Sentinel' saying it's reducing my graphics card
performance because the system isn't providing enough power. It repeats

the
message several times per second so I end up with tens or even hundreds of
instances of this warning running and shown in the task bar. (I do have
extra power to the video card plugged in). The only course open is to
restart the computer and stop overclocking.


I suggest you do a full electrical analysis of your PC, run in a vanilla
state, to determine where your highest loads are.

Use Motherboard Monitor as a powerful diagnostic tool, complete with
optimizations and detailed reporting, to help you get more electrical data
from your PC, the BIOS numebrs are not enough.

http://mbm.livewiredev.com/





  #3  
Old February 17th 04, 10:56 PM
chris
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default


"Derek Wildstar" wrote in message
news:[email protected]_s04...

"Scrim" wrote in message
...

Overclocking my cpu, as the Windows XP desktop comes up I get warnings

from
the 'Nvidia System Sentinel' saying it's reducing my graphics card
performance because the system isn't providing enough power. It repeats

the
message several times per second so I end up with tens or even hundreds

of
instances of this warning running and shown in the task bar. (I do have
extra power to the video card plugged in). The only course open is to
restart the computer and stop overclocking.


It could be that it just isnt getting enough from the agp slot regardless of
the molex connector?
Is there a setting in the bios to up the agp voltage?
Tried running the pc with no usb devices, 1xcd, 1xhd and no other pci
devices?

chris


  #4  
Old February 18th 04, 05:51 AM
Derek Wildstar
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default


"chris" wrote in message
...


It could be that it just isnt getting enough from the agp slot regardless

of
the molex connector?


This is a likely condition. Only MBM will tell for sure.

Is there a setting in the bios to up the agp voltage?


This is a KT133A chipset, obsolete and old. In that order. It is possible
upping the AGP voltage would overcome the resistance of a weak trace, or
failing component.


Tried running the pc with no usb devices, 1xcd, 1xhd and no other pci
devices?


I suspect the 5900 is simply too much for the KT133 chipset and the AGP slot
attacted to it. New mobo req. Agreed?





  #5  
Old February 18th 04, 02:28 PM
chris
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default


"Derek Wildstar" wrote in message
news:U2DYb.212047$U%[email protected]_s03...

I suspect the 5900 is simply too much for the KT133 chipset and the AGP

slot
attacted to it. New mobo req. Agreed?


I afraid I reckon that too. put a gf4ti** in it to play games.

or stick a gf2 in it, use it as a server and build a new pooter around your
fx5900!!

;-)

chris


  #6  
Old February 19th 04, 01:24 AM
Scrim
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default


"chris" wrote in message
...

"Derek Wildstar" wrote in message
news:U2DYb.212047$U%[email protected]_s03...

I suspect the 5900 is simply too much for the KT133 chipset and the AGP

slot
attacted to it. New mobo req. Agreed?


I afraid I reckon that too. put a gf4ti** in it to play games.

or stick a gf2 in it, use it as a server and build a new pooter around

your
fx5900!!

;-)

chris


OK, thanks folks. I reckon it should be compatible though, so I think I'm
going to have to try buying a pricey psu.

Scrim


 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The P4 system problem from hell (long) Lou Grinzo General 6 November 30th 04 02:13 PM
pc problems after g card upgrade + sp2 ben reed Homebuilt PC's 9 November 30th 04 01:04 AM
Boot Problem with Win2000 AMD 2500 XP - A-Bit KD7A system TMgo Homebuilt PC's 2 August 17th 04 10:03 AM
NVIDIA GEForce 2 MX/400, DualView, Remote Desktop 1600x1200 problem Bob Flanders Nvidia Videocards 0 November 15th 03 09:12 PM
Kyle Bennett (HardOCP) blasts NVIDIA Radeon350 Nvidia Videocards 19 August 14th 03 09:46 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2022 HardwareBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.