A computer components & hardware forum. HardwareBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » HardwareBanter forum » Video Cards » Nvidia Videocards
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

1.0-4363 Linux driver - Failed to initialize the NVIDIA kernel module!



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old July 6th 03, 12:24 AM
Jason Becker
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default 1.0-4363 Linux driver - Failed to initialize the NVIDIA kernel module!

Hi All.

I have a Nvidia GeForce2 MX 400 video card that I'm using with
Mandrake 9.1. I installed the latest Nvidia driver available from:

http://www.nvidia.com/view.asp?IO=li..._ia32_1.0-4363

Problem is that it seems rather flakey. It will work for awhile and
then X will fail to load. The /var/log/mdkkde.log writes the following
entry:

-begin-

Using vt 7
(EE) NVIDIA(0): Failed to initialize the NVIDIA kernel module!
(EE) NVIDIA(0): *** Aborting ***
(EE) Screen(s) found, but none have a usable configuration.

Fatal server error:
no screens found

-end-

If I:

insmod ./nvidia.o

it will work fine again, for awhile.

Anyone else experienced the same? I think this driver is buggy. This
is becoming rather annoying...

Thanks in advance.

Cheers
  #2  
Old July 6th 03, 01:55 AM
Chris Wilkinson
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Hi there,

Jason Becker wrote:
(EE) NVIDIA(0): Failed to initialize the NVIDIA kernel module!
(EE) NVIDIA(0): *** Aborting ***
(EE) Screen(s) found, but none have a usable configuration.


/etc/X11/XF86Config-4 contains the definitions for screens, monitors,
drivers etc...

Try running Mandrake Control Center to make sure all your monitor,
screen res, display manager chooser etc settings are correct (max
refresh rates etc...), then check the above file to see they read
OK.

Also, are you running an AMD CPU (Duron/Athlon)? If so, you will
need the amd32 version, not the ia32 version (for genuine Intel
CPU's). Grab it from nvidia's website...

Kind regards,

Chris Wilkinson, New Zealand.


  #3  
Old July 6th 03, 07:47 AM
[email protected] writeme.com
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

On Sun, 06 Jul 2003 12:55:56 +1200, Chris Wilkinson
wrote:

Also, are you running an AMD CPU (Duron/Athlon)? If so, you will
need the amd32 version, not the ia32 version (for genuine Intel
CPU's). Grab it from nvidia's website...

There isn't an AMD32 on the website. I use the IA32 with MDK 9.1 just
fine on my Athlon.

Andrew.
  #4  
Old July 6th 03, 04:13 PM
Jason Becker
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Chris Wilkinson wrote in message ...
Hi there,

Jason Becker wrote:
(EE) NVIDIA(0): Failed to initialize the NVIDIA kernel module!
(EE) NVIDIA(0): *** Aborting ***
(EE) Screen(s) found, but none have a usable configuration.


/etc/X11/XF86Config-4 contains the definitions for screens, monitors,
drivers etc...


It all looks good... The same config file works fine (Tuxracer,
Chromium) once I manually install the module/driver. To be more
specific, the only time there seems to be a problem is upon
boot/reboot. With the Nvidia driver the screen flickers a few times
(normal) but instead of the Nvidia splash screen I get the init 3
console screen.

Try running Mandrake Control Center to make sure all your monitor,
screen res, display manager chooser etc settings are correct (max
refresh rates etc...), then check the above file to see they read
OK.


Also looks good. I did try changing from the Mandrake DM to the KDE DM
but that didn't help.

Thanks for your suggestions.

Cheers
  #5  
Old July 6th 03, 04:14 PM
Jason Becker
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

baskitcaise wrote in message ...
baskitcaise wrote:

To the OP have a look at your /etc/modules.conf and see if it has the line:-


alias char-major-195 nvidia

in it ( should be down the bottom somewhere ) if not then add this line and
reboot, see if this makes any difference.


That line exists.

Thanks for your suggestion.

Cheers
  #6  
Old July 6th 03, 04:39 PM
Jason Becker
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

(Jason Becker) wrote in message . com...
Hi All.

I have a Nvidia GeForce2 MX 400 video card that I'm using with
Mandrake 9.1. I installed the latest Nvidia driver available from:

http://www.nvidia.com/view.asp?IO=li..._ia32_1.0-4363

Problem is that it seems rather flakey. It will work for awhile and
then X will fail to load. The /var/log/mdkkde.log writes the following
entry:

-begin-

Using vt 7
(EE) NVIDIA(0): Failed to initialize the NVIDIA kernel module!
(EE) NVIDIA(0): *** Aborting ***
(EE) Screen(s) found, but none have a usable configuration.

Fatal server error:
no screens found

-end-

If I:

insmod ./nvidia.o

it will work fine again, for awhile.

Anyone else experienced the same? I think this driver is buggy. This
is becoming rather annoying...

Thanks in advance.

Cheers



As a workaround I have added:

insmod /lib/modules/2.4.21-0.13mdk/kernel/drivers/video/nvidia.o

to my /etc/rc.local

Cheers
  #7  
Old July 6th 03, 07:19 PM
Walt
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

In the readme it explains how to start
the nvidia module on boot up it the
correct way to start a module. In
addition the readme has the neccessary
info on configuring X.


Jason Becker wrote:

(Jason Becker)
wrote in message

. com...
Hi All.

I have a Nvidia GeForce2 MX 400 video
card that I'm using with Mandrake
9.1. I installed the latest Nvidia
driver available from:


http://www.nvidia.com/view.asp?IO=li..._ia32_1.0-4363

Problem is that it seems rather
flakey. It will work for awhile and
then X will fail to load. The
/var/log/mdkkde.log writes the
following entry:

-begin-

Using vt 7
(EE) NVIDIA(0): Failed to initialize
the NVIDIA kernel module!
(EE) NVIDIA(0): *** Aborting ***
(EE) Screen(s) found, but none have a
usable configuration.

Fatal server error:
no screens found

-end-

If I:

insmod ./nvidia.o

it will work fine again, for awhile.

Anyone else experienced the same? I
think this driver is buggy. This
is becoming rather annoying...

Thanks in advance.

Cheers



As a workaround I have added:

insmod

/lib/modules/2.4.21-0.13mdk/kernel/drivers/video/nvidia.o

to my /etc/rc.local

Cheers


--
Linux - Debian distro of choice
Linux Counter #314187
  #8  
Old July 10th 03, 11:35 AM
Chris Wilkinson
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

hi there,

baskitcaise wrote:
Chris Wilkinson wrote:

Also, are you running an AMD CPU (Duron/Athlon)? If so, you will
need the amd32 version, not the ia32 version (for genuine Intel
CPU's). Grab it from nvidia's website...

Kind regards,

Chris Wilkinson, New Zealand.


Not wishing to doubt you here but I have never seen nvidia drivers
specifically for the athlon ( there are some compiled for the 64bit arch but
not 32bit )


you're right there, ooops!

ia must mean iNTEL/aMD32...

Checking the doc that comes with the nvidia driver is also a good
idea, as its a quite comprehensive one...

L8R,

CW.

 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Game freezes system - possible ATI issue? Blaedmon Ati Videocards 1 February 12th 05 06:20 PM
so much for linux Mr Jessop Homebuilt PC's 146 December 30th 04 03:01 PM
my new mobo o/c's great rockerrock Overclocking AMD Processors 9 June 30th 04 08:17 PM
Latest Omega Driver Question BRH Ati Videocards 2 June 1st 04 06:54 PM
Yamaha OPL3-SAx Sound System Connie Schuster Homebuilt PC's 16 October 4th 03 07:22 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2022 HardwareBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.