A computer components & hardware forum. HardwareBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » HardwareBanter forum » Motherboards » Gigabyte Motherboards
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

GA-7VA Reseting



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old June 24th 03, 09:26 AM
Alan
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default GA-7VA Reseting


I've tried searching the group for an answer to this, but with no luck.

Can 400MHz DDRs be used with the GA-7VA board or not?

I've just built two identical systems with the above board, 512Mb 400MHz
DDR, AMD Athlon XP2600+ and Asus 64Mb Geforce 4 MX440 card.

Both machines insist on rebooting at random intervals, whether or not the
machine is being used.

The manual infers that only 333MHz memory can be used. Does that mean
using 400MHz is likely to be the cause of this instability?

Anything to help would be very useful.

Many hanks

Alan

--
SPAM BLOCK IN USE!
Replace 'deadspam.com' with penguinclub.org.uk to reply in email
  #2  
Old June 24th 03, 10:48 AM
Alan
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

"merak" wrote in :

Alan wrote:
I've tried searching the group for an answer to this, but with no
luck.

Can 400MHz DDRs be used with the GA-7VA board or not?


List of recommended DDR400
http://tw.giga-byte.com/MotherBoard/...de/TechnologyG
uide_37.htm




Thanks.

I wasn't sure about that list as it is so far out of date. I was hoping
that six/seven months later, memory was more consistent and I wasn't tied
to a particular chip.

Alan

--
SPAM BLOCK IN USE!
Replace 'deadspam.com' with penguinclub.org.uk to reply in email
  #3  
Old June 24th 03, 12:23 PM
John
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I used 2700 kingston samsung pqi and every other brand
known to man and have come to the conclusion
that the board is a load of CRAP!

"Alan" wrote in message
.3...
"merak" wrote in :

Alan wrote:
I've tried searching the group for an answer to this, but with no
luck.

Can 400MHz DDRs be used with the GA-7VA board or not?


List of recommended DDR400
http://tw.giga-byte.com/MotherBoard/...de/TechnologyG
uide_37.htm




Thanks.

I wasn't sure about that list as it is so far out of date. I was hoping
that six/seven months later, memory was more consistent and I wasn't tied
to a particular chip.

Alan

--
SPAM BLOCK IN USE!
Replace 'deadspam.com' with penguinclub.org.uk to reply in email



  #4  
Old June 28th 03, 11:57 PM
john
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

It won't mater what you do these boards are a load of crap do what I did buy
an Asus A7N8X-X same price twice the board.
"merak" wrote in message ...
Alan wrote:
I've tried searching the group for an answer to this, but with no
luck.

Can 400MHz DDRs be used with the GA-7VA board or not?


List of recommended DDR400

http://tw.giga-byte.com/MotherBoard/...gyGuide_37.htm




  #5  
Old July 1st 03, 12:04 AM
Mikk
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default


"Alan" wrote in message
.3...

I've tried searching the group for an answer to this, but with no luck.

Can 400MHz DDRs be used with the GA-7VA board or not?

I've just built two identical systems with the above board, 512Mb 400MHz
DDR, AMD Athlon XP2600+ and Asus 64Mb Geforce 4 MX440 card.

Both machines insist on rebooting at random intervals, whether or not the
machine is being used.

The manual infers that only 333MHz memory can be used. Does that mean
using 400MHz is likely to be the cause of this instability?


Just replaced my 1800+ with a 2600+ on a GA-7VAX board, the new Arctic
Cooling heatsink/fan
seems to be doing the job, although it's running 5 degrees hotter than my
old 1800+ did.

Only had it running a day or so and it crashes randomly too - about 3 times
now
Maybe the 2600+ quality control manager had a day off?
Running 333MHz memory on mine btw


  #6  
Old July 1st 03, 09:10 AM
Mikk
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default


"Mikk" wrote in message
...


Only had it running a day or so and it crashes randomly too - about 3

times
now
Maybe the 2600+ quality control manager had a day off?
Running 333MHz memory on mine btw



Some not very pretty reading here too
http://www.extremetech.com/print_art...a=32340,00.asp

see particuarly comments on 2600+ chip and conclusions

seems to me that 333 FSB support is not very well implemented on this
chipset


  #7  
Old July 1st 03, 11:46 AM
goldy
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I had the same problem and a girl in this group suggested turning off Top
Performance in the Bios.
apparently TP doesn't always work well.
But for me it stopped the random Crashes.
also check whether you are useing VIA or Microsoft drivers for your usb 2.0.
I have heard that the microsoft ones work better though I've heard only a
couple of opinions on this.
I'm Running an amd 2500 with 333 memory
"Mikk" wrote in message
...

"Alan" wrote in message
.3...

I've tried searching the group for an answer to this, but with no luck.

Can 400MHz DDRs be used with the GA-7VA board or not?

I've just built two identical systems with the above board, 512Mb 400MHz
DDR, AMD Athlon XP2600+ and Asus 64Mb Geforce 4 MX440 card.

Both machines insist on rebooting at random intervals, whether or not

the
machine is being used.

The manual infers that only 333MHz memory can be used. Does that mean
using 400MHz is likely to be the cause of this instability?


Just replaced my 1800+ with a 2600+ on a GA-7VAX board, the new Arctic
Cooling heatsink/fan
seems to be doing the job, although it's running 5 degrees hotter than my
old 1800+ did.

Only had it running a day or so and it crashes randomly too - about 3

times
now
Maybe the 2600+ quality control manager had a day off?
Running 333MHz memory on mine btw





  #8  
Old July 1st 03, 07:25 PM
Mikk
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default


"goldy" wrote in message
...
I had the same problem and a girl in this group suggested turning off Top
Performance in the Bios.
apparently TP doesn't always work well.
But for me it stopped the random Crashes.
also check whether you are useing VIA or Microsoft drivers for your usb

2.0.
I have heard that the microsoft ones work better though I've heard only a
couple of opinions on this.
I'm Running an amd 2500 with 333 memory


Ok cheers, trying that now, or at least I would be if I hadn't got lumbered
with some decorating I promised to do in return for treating myself to that
new CPU

Yeah I did put the VIA drivers in, but as I only have 1.1 devices, I don't
know why I did

Yet another fresh install of Windoze will sort that


  #9  
Old July 4th 03, 01:58 PM
Alan
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

"John" wrote in
:

Cut you losses and get another board these boards are crap and it
surprises me how Gigabyte have not been taken to task for producing
substandard products

"Mikk" wrote in message
...

"Alan" wrote in message
.3...

I've tried searching the group for an answer to this, but with no
luck.

Can 400MHz DDRs be used with the GA-7VA board or not?

I've just built two identical systems with the above board, 512Mb
400MHz DDR, AMD Athlon XP2600+ and Asus 64Mb Geforce 4 MX440 card.

Both machines insist on rebooting at random intervals, whether or
not

the
machine is being used.

The manual infers that only 333MHz memory can be used. Does that
mean using 400MHz is likely to be the cause of this instability?


Just replaced my 1800+ with a 2600+ on a GA-7VAX board, the new
Arctic Cooling heatsink/fan
seems to be doing the job, although it's running 5 degrees hotter
than my old 1800+ did.

Only had it running a day or so and it crashes randomly too - about 3

times
now
Maybe the 2600+ quality control manager had a day off?
Running 333MHz memory on mine btw






Seem to have fixed the problem now. Tried using 333MHz memory, but
didn't cure the problem.

Saw http://tw.giga-byte.com/Motherboard/...AQ/FAQ_308.htm about
reseating heat sink with compound rather than transfer pad, and both
systems seem to be working fine now.

Alan

--
SPAM BLOCK IN USE!
Replace 'deadspam.com' with penguinclub.org.uk to reply in email
  #10  
Old July 27th 03, 10:10 PM
Stan Mould
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default


"john" wrote in message
...
It won't mater what you do these boards are a load of crap do what

I did buy
an Asus A7N8X-X same price twice the board.


Couldn't agree more. My Gigabyte 7VAXP has been a nightmare since I
bought it. It's a complete piece of ****.

I bought an Asus A7V8X-X, which although does not have all the
features of the Giga****e, at least booted up first time and I
haven't had to spend half a lifetime keeping it working.


 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Suddenly reseting WinXP zyzio General 11 January 5th 05 06:23 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2022 HardwareBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.