A computer components & hardware forum. HardwareBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » HardwareBanter forum » Processors » AMD x86-64 Processors
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

Best socket A mobo



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old April 10th 08, 10:51 PM posted to alt.comp.hardware.amd.x86-64
Lee M.
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 81
Default Best socket A mobo

I am perfectly happy with the performance of my Epox 8RDA3+ and Athlon 2700+
CPU with WinXP SP2 and 1.2GB RAM. I had an 8RDA+ die due to bad caps and
while my 8RDA3+ runs fine, it occasionally fails to boot, especially on a
warm start, until the 2nd or 3rd attempt. I've read that this is a symptom
of failing caps so I'm looking for a replacement/backup. Would like to
stick with the nForce2 chipset.

I want to stick with a major brand (Abit, ASUS, etc.) Are there any brands
of socket A mobos that weren't susceptible (or less susceptible than most)
to the bad cap problem? I've always been an Epox guy but my impression is
that Epox boards may have had more capacitor problems than some others.
Plus they are out of business.

Any thoughts?




  #2  
Old April 10th 08, 11:09 PM posted to alt.comp.hardware.amd.x86-64
Bob M
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 123
Default Best socket A mobo

Lee M. wrote:
I am perfectly happy with the performance of my Epox 8RDA3+ and Athlon 2700+
CPU with WinXP SP2 and 1.2GB RAM. I had an 8RDA+ die due to bad caps and
while my 8RDA3+ runs fine, it occasionally fails to boot, especially on a
warm start, until the 2nd or 3rd attempt. I've read that this is a symptom
of failing caps so I'm looking for a replacement/backup. Would like to
stick with the nForce2 chipset.

I want to stick with a major brand (Abit, ASUS, etc.) Are there any brands
of socket A mobos that weren't susceptible (or less susceptible than most)
to the bad cap problem? I've always been an Epox guy but my impression is
that Epox boards may have had more capacitor problems than some others.
Plus they are out of business.

Any thoughts?





I am an Epox guy also. I still have an 8RDA3+ going strong in a backup
system. I really don't think Epox had any more or less failing caps than
anyone else. Have you tried Ebay? I know Epox is out of business but
some of their employees started a new company called Supox. My Epox
boards are so reliable that I haven't had to purchase a new board yet.
Knock on wood.

Bob
  #3  
Old April 11th 08, 12:07 AM posted to alt.comp.hardware.amd.x86-64
Wes Newell
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 687
Default Best socket A mobo

On Thu, 10 Apr 2008 17:51:01 -0400, Lee M. wrote:

I am perfectly happy with the performance of my Epox 8RDA3+ and Athlon
2700+ CPU with WinXP SP2 and 1.2GB RAM. I had an 8RDA+ die due to bad
caps and while my 8RDA3+ runs fine, it occasionally fails to boot,
especially on a warm start, until the 2nd or 3rd attempt. I've read
that this is a symptom of failing caps so I'm looking for a
replacement/backup. Would like to stick with the nForce2 chipset.

I want to stick with a major brand (Abit, ASUS, etc.) Are there any
brands of socket A mobos that weren't susceptible (or less susceptible
than most) to the bad cap problem? I've always been an Epox guy but my
impression is that Epox boards may have had more capacitor problems than
some others. Plus they are out of business.

Any thoughts?


Don't waste your time (or money) with socket A. I just bought a couple of
AM2+ (supports new quad core Phenoms) MB's at Fry's for $59.99 each. And
that included dual core X2 4200+ 65W cpu's. So, it will be at least twice
as fast as any XP cpu, and gives you an upgrade path to boot. Today I
bought 2GB of DDR2 PC6400 ram for it for $20 after rebate. And they have
onboard video (Nvidia Geforce 6100/430 chipset).

Other thoughts. Find a $10 socket A MB on ebay.

--
Want the ultimate in free OTA SD/HDTV Recorder? http://mythtv.org
My Tivo Experience http://wesnewell.no-ip.com/tivo.htm
Tivo HD/S3 compared http://wesnewell.no-ip.com/mythtivo.htm
AMD cpu help http://wesnewell.no-ip.com/cpu.php
  #4  
Old April 11th 08, 12:33 AM posted to alt.comp.hardware.amd.x86-64
Lee M.
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 81
Default Best socket A mobo


"Wes Newell" wrote in message
news:[email protected]
On Thu, 10 Apr 2008 17:51:01 -0400, Lee M. wrote:

I am perfectly happy with the performance of my Epox 8RDA3+ and Athlon
2700+ CPU with WinXP SP2 and 1.2GB RAM. I had an 8RDA+ die due to bad
caps and while my 8RDA3+ runs fine, it occasionally fails to boot,
especially on a warm start, until the 2nd or 3rd attempt. I've read
that this is a symptom of failing caps so I'm looking for a
replacement/backup. Would like to stick with the nForce2 chipset.

I want to stick with a major brand (Abit, ASUS, etc.) Are there any
brands of socket A mobos that weren't susceptible (or less susceptible
than most) to the bad cap problem? I've always been an Epox guy but my
impression is that Epox boards may have had more capacitor problems than
some others. Plus they are out of business.

Any thoughts?


Don't waste your time (or money) with socket A. I just bought a couple of
AM2+ (supports new quad core Phenoms) MB's at Fry's for $59.99 each. And
that included dual core X2 4200+ 65W cpu's. So, it will be at least twice
as fast as any XP cpu, and gives you an upgrade path to boot. Today I
bought 2GB of DDR2 PC6400 ram for it for $20 after rebate. And they have
onboard video (Nvidia Geforce 6100/430 chipset).

Other thoughts. Find a $10 socket A MB on ebay.

--


I plan to buy used on Ebay which is where I got the 8RDA3+. Going to AM2
will require me to get new memory and video card plus processor. Might was
well just buy a Dell or HP box and not have to worry about compatibility
issues.


  #5  
Old April 11th 08, 12:35 AM posted to alt.comp.hardware.amd.x86-64
Lee M.
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 81
Default Best socket A mobo


"Bob M" wrote in message
...
Lee M. wrote:
I am perfectly happy with the performance of my Epox 8RDA3+ and Athlon
2700+
CPU with WinXP SP2 and 1.2GB RAM. I had an 8RDA+ die due to bad caps and
while my 8RDA3+ runs fine, it occasionally fails to boot, especially on a
warm start, until the 2nd or 3rd attempt. I've read that this is a
symptom
of failing caps so I'm looking for a replacement/backup. Would like to
stick with the nForce2 chipset.

I want to stick with a major brand (Abit, ASUS, etc.) Are there any
brands
of socket A mobos that weren't susceptible (or less susceptible than
most)
to the bad cap problem? I've always been an Epox guy but my impression
is
that Epox boards may have had more capacitor problems than some others.
Plus they are out of business.

Any thoughts?





I am an Epox guy also. I still have an 8RDA3+ going strong in a backup
system. I really don't think Epox had any more or less failing caps than
anyone else. Have you tried Ebay? I know Epox is out of business but some
of their employees started a new company called Supox. My Epox boards are
so reliable that I haven't had to purchase a new board yet. Knock on wood.

Bob


I got the 8RDA3+ on Ebay and there are a couple there right now. May buy
one as a backup. My current 2nd box is an 8KHA+ which I bought new in about
2001 or 2002. Still runs fine although I can see that some of caps are
bulging.


 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Quete CPU Cooler for Opteron Socket F (Socket 1207) w/ Tyan n6650W mobo Kurt Kufeld AMD x86-64 Processors 0 January 15th 07 02:27 AM
Quite CPU Cooler for Opteron Socket F (Socket 1207) w/ Tyan n6650W mobo Kurt Kufeld Homebuilt PC's 1 January 14th 07 11:43 PM
what is the best mobo for socket 939? quasar AMD x86-64 Processors 4 August 19th 04 08:30 PM
Can you plug a socket 754 cpu into a socket 940 mobo ? We Live for the One we Die for the One Overclocking AMD Processors 13 June 19th 04 02:00 AM
Can you plug a socket 754 cpu into a socket 940 mobo ? We Live for the One we Die for the One General 4 June 14th 04 05:33 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2022 HardwareBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.