A computer components & hardware forum. HardwareBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » HardwareBanter forum » Processors » AMD x86-64 Processors
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

New quads and the sockets in which they will work?



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old July 17th 07, 11:32 PM posted to alt.comp.hardware.amd.x86-64
***** charles
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 40
Default New quads and the sockets in which they will work?

Hi all,

I would like to get a single socket motherboard now
that will take the quads that come out shortly. Is
this even possible? What I am hoping for is a 1000
like opteron quad that will run at or near 3.0 GHz
and throttle down to low power sleep mode when
not doing anything. Is there anything like this in the
works? The target function is media support and
real cheap on electricity when left on 24/7.

thanks,
charles....


  #2  
Old July 18th 07, 05:52 AM posted to alt.comp.hardware.amd.x86-64
Wes Newell
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 687
Default New quads and the sockets in which they will work?

On Tue, 17 Jul 2007 22:32:41 +0000, ***** charles wrote:

Hi all,

I would like to get a single socket motherboard now
that will take the quads that come out shortly. Is
this even possible? What I am hoping for is a 1000
like opteron quad that will run at or near 3.0 GHz
and throttle down to low power sleep mode when
not doing anything. Is there anything like this in the
works? The target function is media support and
real cheap on electricity when left on 24/7.

What do you mean by media support? And why would you need a 4 core cpu?
If you're talking about dvr use, you'd just be wasting your money and cpu
power buying any cpu that cost more than $59.

--
Want the ultimate in free OTA SD/HDTV Recorder? http://mythtv.org
http://mysettopbox.tv/knoppmyth.html Usenet alt.video.ptv.mythtv
My server http://wesnewell.no-ip.com/cpu.php
HD Tivo S3 compared http://wesnewell.no-ip.com/mythtivo.htm

  #3  
Old July 20th 07, 10:37 AM posted to alt.comp.hardware.amd.x86-64
mr deo
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 166
Default New quads and the sockets in which they will work?


"***** charles" wrote in message
...
Hi all,

I would like to get a single socket motherboard now
that will take the quads that come out shortly. Is
this even possible? What I am hoping for is a 1000
like opteron quad that will run at or near 3.0 GHz
and throttle down to low power sleep mode when
not doing anything. Is there anything like this in the
works? The target function is media support and
real cheap on electricity when left on 24/7.

thanks,
charles....



Quad core & low lekky usage..
Sounds a bit backwards to me..
I built a core2duo system with the lowest c2duo chip I could get and it does
PVR, Streaming Media, and file ripping just fine.. If your looking for a
media box then I think you should concentrate on the video card and sound
card.. (until we get VR type movies I doubt multi-core processors will be
needed for media)


  #4  
Old July 20th 07, 06:06 PM posted to alt.comp.hardware.amd.x86-64
***** charles
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 40
Default New quads and the sockets in which they will work?

What do you mean by media support?

Rendering.

later....


  #5  
Old July 20th 07, 06:16 PM posted to alt.comp.hardware.amd.x86-64
***** charles
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 40
Default New quads and the sockets in which they will work?

"mr deo" wrote
in message ...

"***** charles" wrote in message
...
Hi all,

I would like to get a single socket motherboard now
that will take the quads that come out shortly. Is
this even possible? What I am hoping for is a 1000
like opteron quad that will run at or near 3.0 GHz
and throttle down to low power sleep mode when
not doing anything. Is there anything like this in the
works? The target function is media support and
real cheap on electricity when left on 24/7.

thanks,
charles....


Quad core & low lekky usage..
Sounds a bit backwards to me..
I built a core2duo system with the lowest c2duo chip I could get and it

does
PVR, Streaming Media, and file ripping just fine.. If your looking for a
media box then I think you should concentrate on the video card and sound
card.. (until we get VR type movies I doubt multi-core processors will

be
needed for media)


The Athlon64 X2 6000+ comes close but does not have
VT or hyperthreading or low power or 4 cores just 2.
But, it only costs $160.

later......
..


  #6  
Old July 21st 07, 01:54 AM posted to alt.comp.hardware.amd.x86-64
dave
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 14
Default New quads and the sockets in which they will work?

***** charles wrote:
Hi all,

I would like to get a single socket motherboard now
that will take the quads that come out shortly. Is
this even possible? What I am hoping for is a 1000
like opteron quad that will run at or near 3.0 GHz
and throttle down to low power sleep mode when
not doing anything. Is there anything like this in the
works? The target function is media support and
real cheap on electricity when left on 24/7.

thanks,
charles....


AM2 socket motherboards will take Barcelona quadcore chips.



--
Be Happy. Don't Worry about the difference between lose and loose.
  #7  
Old July 22nd 07, 12:25 AM posted to alt.comp.hardware.amd.x86-64
***** charles
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 40
Default New quads and the sockets in which they will work?

"dave" wrote in message
. ..
***** charles wrote:
Hi all,

I would like to get a single socket motherboard now
that will take the quads that come out shortly. Is
this even possible? What I am hoping for is a 1000
like opteron quad that will run at or near 3.0 GHz
and throttle down to low power sleep mode when
not doing anything. Is there anything like this in the
works? The target function is media support and
real cheap on electricity when left on 24/7.

thanks,
charles....


AM2 socket motherboards will take Barcelona quadcore chips.

Be Happy. Don't Worry about the difference between lose and loose.


I suspect that at least the motherboard would need a bios update.

later......


 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sockets [email protected] AMD x86-64 Processors 5 June 1st 07 03:37 AM
Why does AMD change sockets so often? [email protected] AMD x86-64 Processors 2 June 17th 06 04:55 AM
Socket 3 and sockets 5/7?? The Seabat Homebuilt PC's 2 May 20th 05 09:38 PM
478 vs 775 sockets master General 5 March 5th 05 07:41 PM
mobo fan sockets Squibbly Homebuilt PC's 0 October 30th 04 05:55 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2022 HardwareBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.