A computer components & hardware forum. HardwareBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » HardwareBanter forum » Video Cards » Nvidia Videocards
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

GLQuake 1.13 and 7600GS



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old January 20th 07, 02:01 PM posted to alt.comp.periphs.videocards.nvidia
Lars-Erik Østerud
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 193
Default GLQuake 1.13 and 7600GS

I loved GLQuake 1.13a as I had some trouble with the 0.97 (it wouldn't
start until I switched active program back/forth)

But after I upgraded my video card from a Nvidia Ti-4200 to a Nvidia
7600GS (same drivers) GLQuake 1.13a won't start. It crashes after
Quake has loaded all drivers (the main Quake screen comes up) and it
says an error occurred, details show that the error occured he

nvoglnt.dll (wild guess is that this is the Nvidia OpenGL driver)

The 0.97 version works as always, so it's somthing in the new version

Are there any command line switches I can add to debug, or to disable
some features. To isolate what is causing the GPF in the OpenGL DLL?
--
Lars-Erik - http://www.osterud.name - ICQ 7297605
WinXP, Asus P4PE, 2.53GHz, 512MB, MSI 7600GS, SB-Live
  #2  
Old January 24th 07, 12:59 AM posted to alt.comp.periphs.videocards.nvidia
Shep©
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 81
Default GLQuake 1.13 and 7600GS

On Sat, 20 Jan 2007 15:01:07 +0100 I never confuse arrogance with
confidence nor ability with ambition Lars-Erik Østerud [email protected] sent this
:

I loved GLQuake 1.13a as I had some trouble with the 0.97 (it wouldn't
start until I switched active program back/forth)

But after I upgraded my video card from a Nvidia Ti-4200 to a Nvidia
7600GS (same drivers) GLQuake 1.13a won't start. It crashes after
Quake has loaded all drivers (the main Quake screen comes up) and it
says an error occurred, details show that the error occured he

nvoglnt.dll (wild guess is that this is the Nvidia OpenGL driver)

The 0.97 version works as always, so it's somthing in the new version

Are there any command line switches I can add to debug, or to disable
some features. To isolate what is causing the GPF in the OpenGL DLL?


Ooooh.And ,"Old School" playergrin.

Try Zquake,
http://zquake.frag.ru/

It's a better client than the standard GL.Lots of tweaks to do.I'm
still running it in winXP and not even on,"Compatibilty" mode.

If you want to try Compatibility mode on your present client then just
right click on the GL quake .exe you are using/properties/Run this
Blah Blah Compatibility and choose say Win98.

Note: I still load from a .bat file even in WinXP pointed to in an old
hacked version of Gamespy,

zqwcl-gl.exe -width 800 -conwidth 600 -conheight 600 -heapsize 100000
SET SST_SCREENREFRESH=75

I could go way higher on res but I love the Mega speed of running an
old win95 game on an AMd XP 3800BFG).

I get a timerefresh of 2,400 + FPS Heh Fu**ing Heh

I wish some of the younger guys would go retro and play the old GL
online.It's the best and dirtiest onliner and all free and plays
like,"SH*T off a Stick" on modern systems.Still quite a few servers to
play on as well




--
Free Windows/PC help,
http://www.geocities.com/sheppola/trouble.html
http://www.soundclick.com/bands/page...m?bandID=88558
  #3  
Old January 24th 07, 01:16 AM posted to alt.comp.periphs.videocards.nvidia
Lars-Erik Østerud
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 193
Default GLQuake 1.13 and 7600GS

Try Zquake,
http://zquake.frag.ru/

It's a better client than the standard GL.Lots of tweaks to do.I'm
still running it in winXP and not even on,"Compatibilty" mode.


GLQuake 1.13 is Actually very much better than the 0.97.
Has more resolutions. Fog emulation. Better rendering etc etc.
But it won't work with my new graphic card. Really to bad.

I'll try the link and see how that works :-)
--
Lars-Erik - http://www.osterud.name - ICQ 7297605
WinXP, Asus P4PE, 2.53GHz, 512MB, MSI 7600GS, SB-Live
  #4  
Old January 24th 07, 01:27 AM posted to alt.comp.periphs.videocards.nvidia
Shep©
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 81
Default GLQuake 1.13 and 7600GS

On Wed, 24 Jan 2007 02:16:52 +0100 I never confuse arrogance with
confidence nor ability with ambition Lars-Erik Østerud [email protected] sent this
:

Try Zquake,
http://zquake.frag.ru/

It's a better client than the standard GL.Lots of tweaks to do.I'm
still running it in winXP and not even on,"Compatibilty" mode.


GLQuake 1.13 is Actually very much better than the 0.97.
Has more resolutions. Fog emulation. Better rendering etc etc.
But it won't work with my new graphic card. Really to bad.

I'll try the link and see how that works :-)


It's ok but not as good as other clients if you want,"EyE Candy" as
well,

http://www.quakeforge.net/



--
Free Windows/PC help,
http://www.geocities.com/sheppola/trouble.html
http://www.soundclick.com/bands/page...m?bandID=88558
  #5  
Old January 24th 07, 02:06 AM posted to alt.comp.periphs.videocards.nvidia
McG.
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 65
Default GLQuake 1.13 and 7600GS

Thanks for the HU on ZQuake, I've got the stable 1.4 and new 1.7. How
bout hopping over to alt.games.quake and yak about this one? I'm an
old skooler still loves Quake
McG.

"Shep©" wrote in message
...
On Sat, 20 Jan 2007 15:01:07 +0100 I never confuse arrogance with
confidence nor ability with ambition Lars-Erik Østerud [email protected] sent this
:

I loved GLQuake 1.13a as I had some trouble with the 0.97 (it wouldn't
start until I switched active program back/forth)

But after I upgraded my video card from a Nvidia Ti-4200 to a Nvidia
7600GS (same drivers) GLQuake 1.13a won't start. It crashes after
Quake has loaded all drivers (the main Quake screen comes up) and it
says an error occurred, details show that the error occured he

nvoglnt.dll (wild guess is that this is the Nvidia OpenGL driver)

The 0.97 version works as always, so it's somthing in the new version

Are there any command line switches I can add to debug, or to disable
some features. To isolate what is causing the GPF in the OpenGL DLL?


Ooooh.And ,"Old School" playergrin.

Try Zquake,
http://zquake.frag.ru/

It's a better client than the standard GL.Lots of tweaks to do.I'm
still running it in winXP and not even on,"Compatibilty" mode.

If you want to try Compatibility mode on your present client then just
right click on the GL quake .exe you are using/properties/Run this
Blah Blah Compatibility and choose say Win98.

Note: I still load from a .bat file even in WinXP pointed to in an old
hacked version of Gamespy,

zqwcl-gl.exe -width 800 -conwidth 600 -conheight 600 -heapsize 100000
SET SST_SCREENREFRESH=75

I could go way higher on res but I love the Mega speed of running an
old win95 game on an AMd XP 3800BFG).

I get a timerefresh of 2,400 + FPS Heh Fu**ing Heh

I wish some of the younger guys would go retro and play the old GL
online.It's the best and dirtiest onliner and all free and plays
like,"SH*T off a Stick" on modern systems.Still quite a few servers to
play on as well




--
Free Windows/PC help,
http://www.geocities.com/sheppola/trouble.html
http://www.soundclick.com/bands/page...m?bandID=88558



  #6  
Old January 24th 07, 03:14 AM posted to alt.comp.periphs.videocards.nvidia
Lars-Erik Østerud
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 193
Default GLQuake 1.13 and 7600GS

Shep© wrote:

It's ok but not as good as other clients if you want,"EyE Candy" as
http://www.quakeforge.net/


Does this work for single-player, zquake did not here
--
Lars-Erik - http://www.osterud.name - ICQ 7297605
WinXP, Asus P4PE, 2.53GHz, 512MB, MSI 7600GS, SB-Live
  #7  
Old January 24th 07, 09:22 AM posted to alt.comp.periphs.videocards.nvidia
Larry Roberts
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 182
Default GLQuake 1.13 and 7600GS

On Wed, 24 Jan 2007 02:16:52 +0100, Lars-Erik Østerud [email protected] wrote:

Try Zquake,
http://zquake.frag.ru/

It's a better client than the standard GL.Lots of tweaks to do.I'm
still running it in winXP and not even on,"Compatibilty" mode.


GLQuake 1.13 is Actually very much better than the 0.97.
Has more resolutions. Fog emulation. Better rendering etc etc.
But it won't work with my new graphic card. Really to bad.

I'll try the link and see how that works :-)



Have you tried Quake Tenebrae? It's a mod that gives stencil
shadows and per pixel lighting to Quake. I've ran it on my GF 3 Ti200,
GF 4 Ti4400, 6600GT, and my current 7600GT. It pla`yed smoothly on all
the cards, and looks great. You can check it out here.
http://tenebrae.sourceforge.net/index.php

  #8  
Old January 24th 07, 02:28 PM posted to alt.comp.periphs.videocards.nvidia
Shep©
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 81
Default GLQuake 1.13 and 7600GS

On Tue, 23 Jan 2007 20:06:22 -0600 I never confuse arrogance with
confidence nor ability with ambition "McG."
sent this :

Thanks for the HU on ZQuake, I've got the stable 1.4 and new 1.7. How
bout hopping over to alt.games.quake and yak about this one? I'm an
old skooler still loves Quake
McG.


I'll check it out =)


--
Free Windows/PC help,
http://www.geocities.com/sheppola/trouble.html
http://www.soundclick.com/bands/page...m?bandID=88558
  #9  
Old January 24th 07, 02:28 PM posted to alt.comp.periphs.videocards.nvidia
Shep©
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 81
Default GLQuake 1.13 and 7600GS

On Wed, 24 Jan 2007 04:14:02 +0100 I never confuse arrogance with
confidence nor ability with ambition Lars-Erik Østerud [email protected] sent this
:

Shep© wrote:

It's ok but not as good as other clients if you want,"EyE Candy" as
http://www.quakeforge.net/


Does this work for single-player, zquake did not here


No sorry.It's a online only project.



--
Free Windows/PC help,
http://www.geocities.com/sheppola/trouble.html
http://www.soundclick.com/bands/page...m?bandID=88558
  #10  
Old February 21st 07, 07:36 AM posted to alt.comp.periphs.videocards.nvidia
Venger
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 29
Default GLQuake 1.13 and 7600GS


"Shep©" wrote in message
...
On Sat, 20 Jan 2007 15:01:07 +0100 I never confuse arrogance with
confidence nor ability with ambition Lars-Erik Østerud [email protected] sent this
:

I wish some of the younger guys would go retro and play the old GL
online.It's the best and dirtiest onliner and all free and plays
like,"SH*T off a Stick" on modern systems.Still quite a few servers to
play on as well


Love Quake... still my favorite FPS... best RL...

Fired it up a few days ago and played some CTF... man, it's been a while...
and it showed.

Venger


 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
7600gs AGP rubbish! Glenis Nvidia Videocards 59 January 21st 07 07:02 AM
Gainward and MSI 7600GS experiences anyone? Lars-Erik Østerud Nvidia Videocards 0 January 12th 07 10:55 AM
Blurred text at 1600x1200 w/GEForce 7600gs with d-sub ms Nvidia Videocards 5 January 8th 07 07:13 PM
6800XT vs 7600GS vs x800 Pro for AGP First of One Nvidia Videocards 8 December 26th 06 10:45 PM
Will a 7600GS do me right? Pete General 1 August 2nd 06 04:55 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004-2022 HardwareBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.