A computer components & hardware forum. HardwareBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » HardwareBanter forum » System Manufacturers & Vendors » Compaq Computers
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

Presario SR1011NX Memory Recognition problem



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old November 12th 06, 02:57 PM posted to alt.sys.pc-clone.compaq
NapalmHeart
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 6
Default Presario SR1011NX Memory Recognition problem

My computer is only recognizing 1 of 2 512MB Kingston. I have updated the
BIOS as suggested by HP, but no difference. Any ideas how I can get the
other half to work?

Thanks,

Ken


  #2  
Old November 13th 06, 04:51 AM posted to alt.sys.pc-clone.compaq
HH
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 51
Default Presario SR1011NX Memory Recognition problem

Try unseating and reseating the DIMMs, Also, try them one at a time to try
and find out which one is not being recognized. If one will not work in
either slot it is bad and should be replaced.

HH

"NapalmHeart" wrote in message
...
My computer is only recognizing 1 of 2 512MB Kingston. I have updated the
BIOS as suggested by HP, but no difference. Any ideas how I can get the
other half to work?

Thanks,

Ken



  #3  
Old November 13th 06, 06:11 AM posted to alt.sys.pc-clone.compaq
NapalmHeart
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 6
Default Presario SR1011NX Memory Recognition problem

Already tried, no difference.

Thanks for the reply.

Ken

"HH" wrote in message
...
Try unseating and reseating the DIMMs, Also, try them one at a time to try
and find out which one is not being recognized. If one will not work in
either slot it is bad and should be replaced.

HH

"NapalmHeart" wrote in message
...
My computer is only recognizing 1 of 2 512MB Kingston. I have updated
the BIOS as suggested by HP, but no difference. Any ideas how I can get
the other half to work?

Thanks,

Ken





  #4  
Old November 13th 06, 01:51 PM posted to alt.sys.pc-clone.compaq
HH
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 51
Default Presario SR1011NX Memory Recognition problem

Result? Bad DIMM or bad slot? If the former, Kingston should replace the
DIMM. If the latter, you will be limited to 512MB on that board.

HH

"NapalmHeart" wrote in message
...
Already tried, no difference.

Thanks for the reply.

Ken

"HH" wrote in message
...
Try unseating and reseating the DIMMs, Also, try them one at a time to
try and find out which one is not being recognized. If one will not work
in either slot it is bad and should be replaced.

HH

"NapalmHeart" wrote in message
...
My computer is only recognizing 1 of 2 512MB Kingston. I have updated
the BIOS as suggested by HP, but no difference. Any ideas how I can get
the other half to work?

Thanks,

Ken







  #5  
Old November 13th 06, 04:48 PM posted to alt.sys.pc-clone.compaq
NapalmHeart
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 6
Default Presario SR1011NX Memory Recognition problem

DIMMs are OK. Not sure about the slot. The HP website had something on it
about resetting the CMOS by moving a jumper wire. The instructions and
illustrations didn't inspire confidence. It would be nice to be able to use
the $80 DIMM!

Ken

"HH" wrote in message
...
Result? Bad DIMM or bad slot? If the former, Kingston should replace the
DIMM. If the latter, you will be limited to 512MB on that board.

HH

"NapalmHeart" wrote in message
...
Already tried, no difference.

Thanks for the reply.

Ken

"HH" wrote in message
...
Try unseating and reseating the DIMMs, Also, try them one at a time to
try and find out which one is not being recognized. If one will not work
in either slot it is bad and should be replaced.

HH

"NapalmHeart" wrote in message
...
My computer is only recognizing 1 of 2 512MB Kingston. I have updated
the BIOS as suggested by HP, but no difference. Any ideas how I can
get the other half to work?

Thanks,

Ken









  #6  
Old November 14th 06, 04:13 AM posted to alt.sys.pc-clone.compaq
DawgFan1785
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 10
Default Presario SR1011NX Memory Recognition problem

NapalmHeartwrote:
DIMMs are OK. Not sure about the slot. The HP website had something
on it
about resetting the CMOS by moving a jumper wire. The instructions

and
illustrations didn't inspire confidence. It would be nice to be

able to use
the $80 DIMM!

Ken

"HH" wrote in message
...
Result? Bad DIMM or bad slot? If the former, Kingston should replace

the
DIMM. If the latter, you will be limited to 512MB on that board.

HH

"NapalmHeart" wrote in message
...
Already tried, no difference.

Thanks for the reply.

Ken

"HH" wrote in message
...
Try unseating and reseating the DIMMs, Also, try them one at a time

to
try and find out which one is not being recognized. If one will not

work
in either slot it is bad and should be replaced.

HH

"NapalmHeart" wrote in message
...
My computer is only recognizing 1 of 2 512MB Kingston. I have

updated
the BIOS as suggested by HP, but no difference. Any ideas how I

can
get the other half to work?

Thanks,

Ken






[/quote:e4150ab931]


Jumper should be easy to find. Looks like the Jumber on harddrives if
your familliar

  #7  
Old November 20th 06, 09:31 PM posted to alt.sys.pc-clone.compaq
NapalmHeart
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 6
Default Presario SR1011NX Memory Recognition problem


"NapalmHeart" wrote in message
...
My computer is only recognizing 1 of 2 512MB Kingston. I have updated the
BIOS as suggested by HP, but no difference. Any ideas how I can get the
other half to work?

Thanks,

Ken


Interesting ting happened. I put the 256MB module that came with the
computer and both this module and a 512MB Kingston are recognized. I think
I'm going to settle for this and see if I can return the other 512.

thanks,

Ken


 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
understanding memory specs help nospam Homebuilt PC's 2 September 30th 06 12:16 PM
Which atrributes are critical when matching PCxx00 DDR memory? Patrick Coghlan Asus Motherboards 2 February 1st 06 08:26 PM
16mb buffer hard drive in a laptop Dan Irwin Storage (alternative) 49 November 4th 04 04:18 PM
Do I have a memory problem? Prince of Orange Homebuilt PC's 3 October 20th 04 08:43 PM
my new mobo o/c's great rockerrock Overclocking AMD Processors 9 June 30th 04 08:17 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2022 HardwareBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.