A computer components & hardware forum. HardwareBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » HardwareBanter forum » Processors » AMD x86-64 Processors
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

AMD x2 3800 Windows Pro, system freezing



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old February 9th 06, 11:33 PM posted to alt.comp.hardware.amd.x86-64
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default AMD x2 3800 Windows Pro, system freezing

I am having problems with my system freezing. Sometimes it will freeze
three or four reboots in a row. Other times it is stable for hours. I have
yet to have any problems with any games (Battlefield 2 and GTA: SA mainly).
Quickly after the system seems completely loaded, it will just stop
responding. I updated my CPU drivers, video, and sound. Installed all
windows updates and nothing. Mobo drivers are up-to-date.

Windows XP SP2 Pro
Asus A8N-SLI Prem
AMD X2 3800
NVIDIA 6800 GS 256 MB
SB Audigy 2 Value
1 Gig Ram (2x512 dual channel)

This is a new PC with very little installed on it.

__
WooHoo2You


  #2  
Old February 9th 06, 11:37 PM posted to alt.comp.hardware.amd.x86-64
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default AMD x2 3800 Windows Pro, system freezing

On Thu, 09 Feb 2006 23:33:29 +0000, WooHoo2You wrote:

I am having problems with my system freezing. Sometimes it will freeze
three or four reboots in a row. Other times it is stable for hours. I have
yet to have any problems with any games (Battlefield 2 and GTA: SA mainly).
Quickly after the system seems completely loaded, it will just stop
responding. I updated my CPU drivers, video, and sound. Installed all
windows updates and nothing. Mobo drivers are up-to-date.

Windows XP SP2 Pro
Asus A8N-SLI Prem
AMD X2 3800
NVIDIA 6800 GS 256 MB
SB Audigy 2 Value
1 Gig Ram (2x512 dual channel)

This is a new PC with very little installed on it.

__
WooHoo2You


How big is your power supply?


  #3  
Old February 10th 06, 01:48 AM posted to alt.comp.hardware.amd.x86-64
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default AMD x2 3800 Windows Pro, system freezing


"General Schvantzkoph" wrote in message
news
How big is your power supply?

Women ask me that constantly.

I just tell them, "450 watts, baby." Could it be the power supply? It would
seem like I would have problems in games as well.

__
WooHoo2You


  #4  
Old February 10th 06, 02:16 AM posted to alt.comp.hardware.amd.x86-64
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default AMD x2 3800 Windows Pro, system freezing

On Fri, 10 Feb 2006 01:48:20 +0000, WooHoo2You wrote:


"General Schvantzkoph" wrote in message
news
How big is your power supply?


Women ask me that constantly.

I just tell them, "450 watts, baby." Could it be the power supply? It would
seem like I would have problems in games as well.

__
WooHoo2You

A bad power supply could cause your problems but the thing I would check
first is the RAM. Download memtest86+ and run it overnight. If that works
then I'd check the disk cables.


  #5  
Old February 13th 06, 09:56 PM posted to alt.comp.hardware.amd.x86-64
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default AMD x2 3800 Windows Pro, system freezing


"WooHoo2You" wrote in message
ink.net...
I am having problems with my system freezing. Sometimes it will freeze
three or four reboots in a row. Other times it is stable for hours. I

have
yet to have any problems with any games (Battlefield 2 and GTA: SA

mainly).
Quickly after the system seems completely loaded, it will just stop
responding. I updated my CPU drivers, video, and sound. Installed all
windows updates and nothing. Mobo drivers are up-to-date.

Windows XP SP2 Pro
Asus A8N-SLI Prem
AMD X2 3800
NVIDIA 6800 GS 256 MB
SB Audigy 2 Value
1 Gig Ram (2x512 dual channel)

This is a new PC with very little installed on it.

__
WooHoo2You



Have you noticed if there is the same pattern every tme.Like the CD drives
being accessed or HD? It could be drawing too much power at a certain time.
Mine would do that when running a game and the CDRW was accessed.It turned
out the CDRW drive was on the same power connector as the video card. Yours
does it at boot up when drives are spinning up.Could be that.


 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HDD Compatibility Samik R Homebuilt PC's 11 February 3rd 06 10:40 AM
Game freezes system - possible ATI issue? Blaedmon Ati Videocards 1 February 12th 05 05:20 PM
Will Windows Power the Living Room? Ablang Homebuilt PC's 32 July 8th 04 05:34 AM
My system seems to "recover" with great frequency Louise Homebuilt PC's 3 May 17th 04 06:02 AM
PC generating unusual "chirrupy" sound? Coda General Hardware 1 November 20th 03 07:52 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2022 HardwareBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.