A computer components & hardware forum. HardwareBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » HardwareBanter forum » Processors » AMD x86-64 Processors
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

athlon 3200 64 bit



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old January 19th 06, 07:06 PM posted to alt.comp.hardware.amd.x86-64
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default athlon 3200 64 bit

hi
i have just bought a athlon 3200 64 bit computer from our local computer
fair, i try to know a bit about computers but am not sure about this:-in my
syste folder it states it is a 3200 64 bit but it is only showing 800MHz
surley this is not right?
also i can not get into my bios as they have password protected it.
any views welcome
andy


  #2  
Old January 19th 06, 07:31 PM posted to alt.comp.hardware.amd.x86-64
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default athlon 3200 64 bit

if you can not get into the BIOS..you are kind of messed up there...sounds
like it is running at less than the 200 it needs...the setup should be
200x11...all you could maybe do is reset the CMOS and see what happens...or
contact who you bought it from and tell them to fix it...it is not as
advertised...personnally..I'd do the latter.


  #3  
Old January 19th 06, 07:55 PM posted to alt.comp.hardware.amd.x86-64
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default athlon 3200 64 bit

On Thu, 19 Jan 2006 19:06:10 +0000, andy pandy wrote:

hi
i have just bought a athlon 3200 64 bit computer from our local computer
fair, i try to know a bit about computers but am not sure about this:-in my
syste folder it states it is a 3200 64 bit but it is only showing 800MHz
surley this is not right?
also i can not get into my bios as they have password protected it.
any views welcome
andy


It's right. The Athlon 64 has a feature called Cool and Quiet which allows
the clock speed to be reduced when the CPU is lightly loaded, the clock is
scalable between 800MHz and 2GHz on your part.
  #5  
Old January 19th 06, 11:02 PM posted to alt.comp.hardware.amd.x86-64
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default athlon 3200 64 bit


"dino" wrote in message
. ..
if you can not get into the BIOS..you are kind of messed up there...sounds
like it is running at less than the 200 it needs...the setup should be
200x11...all you could maybe do is reset the CMOS and see what
happens...or contact who you bought it from and tell them to fix it...it
is not as advertised...personnally..I'd do the latter.


Actually it's supposed to be a 10x cpu. But I think cool'n'quiet should set
it to 5x, not 4x, so if I'm right it should read 1000 not 800 when idling. I
tried mine at 4x and it crashed.


--
Ed Light

Smiley :-/
MS Smiley :-\

Send spam to the FTC at

Thanks, robots.

Bring the Troops Home:
http://bringthemhomenow.org

Fight Spam:
http://bluesecurity.com





 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Performance Increase Athlon 64 3500 vs Athlon XP-M 2500 O'Ced to 3200 Coca Cola Kid Overclocking AMD Processors 48 November 11th 04 09:04 PM
Best Heatsink for an Athlon XP 3200 Steve Overclocking AMD Processors 8 October 11th 04 09:22 AM
Athlon 64 3200 specs? Paul Wickham AMD x86-64 Processors 9 September 30th 04 12:13 PM
fake or re-marked 3200 athlon - help PBS Overclocking AMD Processors 38 July 25th 04 02:49 AM
Newbie: How much faster is the FX-53 than the Athlon 3200 ? Steve H. AMD x86-64 Processors 2 July 23rd 04 08:05 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2022 HardwareBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.