A computer components & hardware forum. HardwareBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » HardwareBanter forum » Video Cards » Nvidia Videocards
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

Getting a new video card with a separate TV tuner... How does video out work?

Old October 18th 05, 02:58 PM
external usenet poster

Default Getting a new video card with a separate TV tuner... How does video out work?

Hello.

Currently, I have been using an ATI Radeon 9800 AIW (128 MB) for over two years. Due to new and
upcoming games (City of Villains, Call of Duty 2), the video card cannot handle the graphic
demands since I like to turn graphic options on (e.g. 16x anisotropic, FSAA, 1152x864
resolution, etc.). So, it is time to research and retire it. I use the AIW and MMC to record and
watch TV shows a lot. Obviously, AIW has to go and I need to replace it. I usually watch TV
shows, DVDs, video clips, etc. fullscreen on my TV (video out).

I am thinking of getting a separate TV tuner card (HDTV perhaps). If I were to get a new video
card (no TV tuner) and a separate TV tuner, how would the TV out work? Does Windows driver let
me pick which card does the TV output for video fullscreen?

Thank you in advance.
--
"Is this stuff any good for ants?" "No, it kills them." --unknown
/\___/\
/ /\ /\ \ Phillip (Ant) @ http://antfarm.ma.cx (Personal Web Site)
| |o o| | Ant's Quality Foraged Links (AQFL): http://aqfl.net
\ _ / Please remove ANT if replying by e-mail.
( )
Old October 18th 05, 08:33 PM
Conor
external usenet poster

Default Getting a new video card with a separate TV tuner... How does video out work?

In article , says...
Hello.