A computer components & hardware forum. HardwareBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » HardwareBanter forum » Video Cards » Nvidia Videocards
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

Original Quake and GF fx 5900xt



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old August 5th 05, 08:40 AM
Evil Uncle Chris
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Original Quake and GF fx 5900xt

Can anyone point me in the right direction to get Quake running via this
card.

Years ago it was easy with Voodoo cards, but I'm having trouble finding any
clear instructions, if indeed it is possible? I'd love to see it in a 1024
resolution.


Thanks in advance



Chris


  #2  
Old August 5th 05, 09:25 AM
Conor
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

In article , Evil Uncle Chris
says...
Can anyone point me in the right direction to get Quake running via this
card.

Years ago it was easy with Voodoo cards, but I'm having trouble finding any
clear instructions, if indeed it is possible? I'd love to see it in a 1024
resolution.


Download and use GLQuake. You only need the wad files from the original
game.

--
Conor

-You wanted an argument? Oh I'm sorry, but this is abuse. You want room
K5, just along the corridor. Stupid git. (Monty Python)
  #3  
Old August 5th 05, 10:43 AM
jafar
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

On Fri, 05 Aug 2005 09:25:45 +0100, Conor wrote:

In article , Evil Uncle Chris
says...
Can anyone point me in the right direction to get Quake running via this
card.

Years ago it was easy with Voodoo cards, but I'm having trouble finding any
clear instructions, if indeed it is possible? I'd love to see it in a 1024
resolution.


Download and use GLQuake. You only need the wad files from the original
game.


With that nice card, you shouldn't go past tenebrae quake at
http://tenebrae.sourceforge.net/

Q1 with Doom 3 style lighting and FX!

--
Jafar Calley
Producer - http://moonlife-records.com
--------------------------------------
See the latest Mars and Saturn images
http://fatcat.homelinux.org

  #4  
Old August 5th 05, 10:45 AM
Andrew
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

On Fri, 05 Aug 2005 11:43:04 +0200, jafar wrote:

With that nice card, you shouldn't go past tenebrae quake at
http://tenebrae.sourceforge.net/

Q1 with Doom 3 style lighting and FX!


And single digit framerates.
--
Andrew, contact via interpleb.blogspot.com
Help make Usenet a better place: English is read downwards,
please don't top post. Trim replies to quote only relevant text.
Check groups.google.com before asking an obvious question.
  #5  
Old August 5th 05, 12:30 PM
Thomas Kohl
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

jafar schrieb:
On Fri, 05 Aug 2005 09:25:45 +0100, Conor wrote:


In article , Evil Uncle Chris
says...

Can anyone point me in the right direction to get Quake running via this
card.

Years ago it was easy with Voodoo cards, but I'm having trouble finding any
clear instructions, if indeed it is possible? I'd love to see it in a 1024
resolution.



Download and use GLQuake. You only need the wad files from the original
game.



With that nice card, you shouldn't go past tenebrae quake at
http://tenebrae.sourceforge.net/

Q1 with Doom 3 style lighting and FX!

Is there something similar with Quake 2 ???
I can't find my Q1 Disc but Q2 ist always at my side...good times back
then getting my first 3dfx card and drooling over filtered textures:-D
  #6  
Old August 6th 05, 03:27 AM
First of One
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

It's actually not too bad on my 3200+ and Radeon 9800 Pro.

Quite remarkable going from 600 fps in GLQuake to 30 fps with the Tenebrae
mod, though. :-)

--
"War is the continuation of politics by other means.
It can therefore be said that politics is war without
bloodshed while war is politics with bloodshed."


"Andrew" [email protected] wrote in message
...
And single digit framerates.
--
Andrew, contact via interpleb.blogspot.com
Help make Usenet a better place: English is read downwards,
please don't top post. Trim replies to quote only relevant text.
Check groups.google.com before asking an obvious question.



  #7  
Old August 6th 05, 03:29 AM
First of One
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

http://uk.geocities.com/symmetricdragon/

So far, only explosions are lighted (characters don't cast shadows).
Performance, though, is absolutely horrible. This mod has a long development
path ahead of it.

--
"War is the continuation of politics by other means.
It can therefore be said that politics is war without
bloodshed while war is politics with bloodshed."


"Thomas Kohl" wrote in message
...
Q1 with Doom 3 style lighting and FX!

Is there something similar with Quake 2 ???
I can't find my Q1 Disc but Q2 ist always at my side...good times back
then getting my first 3dfx card and drooling over filtered textures:-D



  #8  
Old August 6th 05, 03:34 AM
First of One
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Is this the original DOS Quake, or GLQuake? GLQuake should run as-is without
any problems. To get custom resolution and color depth, make a shortcut to
the GLQuake.exe and add the following command-line argument, as an example:

-width 1024 -bpp 32

--
"War is the continuation of politics by other means.
It can therefore be said that politics is war without
bloodshed while war is politics with bloodshed."


"Evil Uncle Chris" wrote in message
...
Can anyone point me in the right direction to get Quake running via this
card.

Years ago it was easy with Voodoo cards, but I'm having trouble finding
any clear instructions, if indeed it is possible? I'd love to see it in a
1024 resolution.


Thanks in advance



Chris



  #9  
Old August 6th 05, 07:57 AM
McGrandpa
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

"jafar" wrote in message
news
On Fri, 05 Aug 2005 09:25:45 +0100, Conor wrote:

In article , Evil Uncle
Chris says...
Can anyone point me in the right direction to get Quake running via
this card.

Years ago it was easy with Voodoo cards, but I'm having trouble
finding any clear instructions, if indeed it is possible? I'd love
to see it in a 1024 resolution.


Download and use GLQuake. You only need the wad files from the
original game.


With that nice card, you shouldn't go past tenebrae quake at
http://tenebrae.sourceforge.net/

Q1 with Doom 3 style lighting and FX!


I have a number of runnable Quake installs right now; Tenebrae is good,
yes, but is it complete yet? I mean can you play through the entire
game with the new stuff now?

Also: [OT] I really dig your Mars image pages!!! It seems from a lot
of Opportunitys imagery there *must* have been lots of running water on
the surface at some time!

McG.


  #10  
Old August 6th 05, 02:39 PM
Evil Uncle Chris
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default


Can anyone point me in the right direction to get Quake running via this
card.

Years ago it was easy with Voodoo cards, but I'm having trouble finding
any
clear instructions, if indeed it is possible? I'd love to see it in a
1024
resolution.


Download and use GLQuake. You only need the wad files from the original
game.


With that nice card, you shouldn't go past tenebrae quake at
http://tenebrae.sourceforge.net/

Q1 with Doom 3 style lighting and FX!

--
Jafar Calley


Thanks for all the advice.

Downloaded Tenebrae and it looks and plays great with textures set to half.
Full textures does make it a wee but sluggish.

Thanks again for the guidance.


Chris


 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Benchmarks from upgrade: Ti4200 => 5900XT, if anyone is interested Mac Cool Nvidia Videocards 7 September 4th 04 04:56 PM
Visual artifacts Asus Radeon 9600XT Quake 3 1.32 MC Ati Videocards 3 September 2nd 04 05:29 PM
Any Suggestions - Leadtek or MSI 5900XT Wookie Nvidia Videocards 18 April 20th 04 02:47 AM
Quake problems on GeForce4 JohnL Nvidia Videocards 3 November 30th 03 02:19 AM
Quake 3 Engine Games and AIW 9800 Mandark Astronomenoth Ati Videocards 3 August 26th 03 04:40 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2022 HardwareBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.