A computer components & hardware forum. HardwareBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » HardwareBanter forum » Processors » Overclocking AMD Processors
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

Biostar M7NCD



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old September 29th 04, 02:33 PM
Dalgibbard
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Biostar M7NCD

Does anyone have any reason why my M7NCD mobo is putting my fsb at 200 when
ive got a athlonxp3200? its a 400 fsb board without the 400 fsb option?? i
dont get it lol

Dalgibbard.


  #2  
Old September 29th 04, 04:45 PM
Wes Newell
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

On Wed, 29 Sep 2004 13:33:01 +0000, Dalgibbard wrote:

Does anyone have any reason why my M7NCD mobo is putting my fsb at 200 when
ive got a athlonxp3200? its a 400 fsb board without the 400 fsb option?? i
dont get it lol

Because the FSB is supposed to be 200MHz, not 400MHz. See The Real Front
Side Bus in link below.

--
Abit KT7-Raid (KT133) Tbred B core CPU @2400MHz (24x100FSB)
http://mysite.verizon.net/res0exft/cpu.htm
  #3  
Old September 30th 04, 12:10 AM
Krutibas Biswal
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I have a BioStar M7NCD and I am running it with AMD 3200+ XP,
ATI Radeon 9250 SE and PC3200 DDR 512MB for two weeks now.
So far no problems.

I also tried to overclock it using the utility

http://www.cpuid.com/clockgen.php

It seemed to work for a while @210 and then crashed. I will
run more expts soon

-KB
  #4  
Old September 30th 04, 10:37 AM
Dalgibbard
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Yea ive tweaked it about a bit- but the basic level M7NCD (not the pro or
ultra versions) don't allow voltage changes- so stability was an issue for
me too- i managed to get it from 2200mhz to about 2400mhz without voltage
clocking but it wasnt too happy lol
Dalgibbard.

"Krutibas Biswal" wrote in message
om...
I have a BioStar M7NCD and I am running it with AMD 3200+ XP,
ATI Radeon 9250 SE and PC3200 DDR 512MB for two weeks now.
So far no problems.

I also tried to overclock it using the utility

http://www.cpuid.com/clockgen.php

It seemed to work for a while @210 and then crashed. I will
run more expts soon

-KB



  #5  
Old September 30th 04, 11:11 AM
Gareth Tuckwell
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

To achieve a FSB speed of 400, the clock is set to 200Mhz This is doubled to
get the FSB figure. As in DDR memory - "Double Data Rate", the FSB sends 2
signals for each clock tick, therefore FSB 400 is achieved at 200MHz.


"Dalgibbard" wrote in message
.uk...
Does anyone have any reason why my M7NCD mobo is putting my fsb at 200
when
ive got a athlonxp3200? its a 400 fsb board without the 400 fsb option?? i
dont get it lol

Dalgibbard.




  #6  
Old September 30th 04, 05:34 PM
Wes Newell
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

On Thu, 30 Sep 2004 09:37:51 +0000, Dalgibbard wrote:

Yea ive tweaked it about a bit- but the basic level M7NCD (not the pro or
ultra versions) don't allow voltage changes- so stability was an issue for
me too- i managed to get it from 2200mhz to about 2400mhz without voltage
clocking but it wasnt too happy lol
Dalgibbard.

Using the pinmod would only take 1 wire to get 1.85v, 2 wires for 1.75v,
and with 3 you can get about all you want.

http://www.ocinside.de/go_e.html?/ht...md_pinmod.html

--
Abit KT7-Raid (KT133) Tbred B core CPU @2400MHz (24x100FSB)
http://mysite.verizon.net/res0exft/cpu.htm
 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Biostar M7NCD Question Dan Rather General 3 May 19th 04 11:27 PM
Biostar M7NCD Motherboard Dan Rather General 3 November 28th 03 03:48 AM
Biostar M7NCD Issue John Dziurlaj Overclocking AMD Processors 4 November 23rd 03 03:39 PM
Biostar M7NCD - worth buying? RaOuL Overclocking AMD Processors 0 November 7th 03 11:30 PM
Any feedback on Biostar M7NCD MB; other system recommendations? enigma General 1 September 10th 03 03:31 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2022 HardwareBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.