A computer components & hardware forum. HardwareBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » HardwareBanter forum » Video Cards » Ati Videocards
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

PCI radeon 7000 video card. Am i going to have a macrovision problem



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old September 1st 03, 10:09 AM
leroy
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default PCI radeon 7000 video card. Am i going to have a macrovision problem

I recently ordered a Radeon 7000 pci card, with hopes of video
capturing dvd's new dvd's. I do not have a dvd drive so i'm going to
do this by running my dvd player into my radeon 7000 through with an s
video connection, capturing the video and saving it on my hard drive.
Can anyone tell me possible probelms that may arise and how to fix
these problems. thank you
  #2  
Old September 1st 03, 12:18 PM
Laurence Wilmer
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default


"leroy" wrote in message
om...
I recently ordered a Radeon 7000 pci card, with hopes of video
capturing dvd's new dvd's. I do not have a dvd drive so i'm going to
do this by running my dvd player into my radeon 7000 through with an s
video connection, capturing the video and saving it on my hard drive.
Can anyone tell me possible probelms that may arise and how to fix
these problems. thank you


Problem: macrovision

Fix:
http://www.digital-digest.com/dvd/ar..._graphics.html

these tips may or may NOT work!

HTH,
Laurence


  #3  
Old September 1st 03, 12:37 PM
Juan Lauda
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

"leroy" wrote in message
om...
I recently ordered a Radeon 7000 pci card, with hopes of video
capturing dvd's new dvd's. I do not have a dvd drive so i'm going to
do this by running my dvd player into my radeon 7000 through with an s
video connection, capturing the video and saving it on my hard drive.
Can anyone tell me possible probelms that may arise and how to fix
these problems. thank you


Check first that the Radeon card that you have ordered actually supports
video-in. Most Radeons have an S-video port for TV-out, but only the
All-In-Wonder type cards support video-in.


  #4  
Old September 2nd 03, 10:53 AM
Gyoh
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

All ATI's have macrovision enabled (software driver restriction?).

This means you can't capture macrovision encoded VHS tapes or dvd
movies without seeing the pulsating colors and lines with the AIW
cards

Also, this means you can't output your dvds from your computer to a
VHS player without seeing macrovision artifacts when using the TV-Out.

Yes it sucks. Some have found free solutions (don't feel like
purchasing extra coaxial switches or video filters). I have not and I
just want to be able to output computer dvd video to my VCR since my
TV has no Video in (just coaxial). Macrovision is a pain in the ass
for lawbidding consumers and doesn't prevent copying by those who want
to copy.


On 1 Sep 2003 02:09:45 -0700, (leroy) wrote:

I recently ordered a Radeon 7000 pci card, with hopes of video
capturing dvd's new dvd's. I do not have a dvd drive so i'm going to
do this by running my dvd player into my radeon 7000 through with an s
video connection, capturing the video and saving it on my hard drive.
Can anyone tell me possible probelms that may arise and how to fix
these problems. thank you


  #5  
Old September 4th 03, 01:15 AM
leroy
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

"Juan Lauda" wrote in message ...
"leroy" wrote in message
om...
I recently ordered a Radeon 7000 pci card, with hopes of video
capturing dvd's new dvd's. I do not have a dvd drive so i'm going to
do this by running my dvd player into my radeon 7000 through with an s
video connection, capturing the video and saving it on my hard drive.
Can anyone tell me possible probelms that may arise and how to fix
these problems. thank you


Check first that the Radeon card that you have ordered actually supports
video-in. Most Radeons have an S-video port for TV-out, but only the
All-In-Wonder type cards support video-in.



Thanks for the information. I called and doubled checked and you were
right, the card does not have s-video input. What do you think would
be the best course of action to take for copying dvd's. Getting a dvd
rom and ripping them or getting another video capture card and do it
that way?
 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tyan K8S Pro S2882: installing a PCI video card Andy Kuo AMD x86-64 Processors 3 November 6th 04 12:02 AM
Tyan K8S Pro S2882: installing a PCI video card Andy Kuo General 1 November 5th 04 03:10 AM
msi ti 4600 & asus p4c800e deluxe no powerup dluxea Asus Motherboards 9 May 19th 04 10:13 PM
fx 5200 sweet deal but will it work ? Skybuck Flying General 20 May 12th 04 05:31 PM
Where to get replacement video card fan? Or maybe just use a heatsink? Vanguard General 3 September 20th 03 07:24 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2022 HardwareBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.