A computer components & hardware forum. HardwareBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » HardwareBanter forum » Processors » Overclocking AMD Processors
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

Althlon 64 Motherboard w/3GB?



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old January 25th 04, 03:40 AM
Mr. E. Mann
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Althlon 64 Motherboard w/3GB?

Hi,

I'm planning on putting together an athlon 64 system when I get my tax
return and I'm looking for a good motherboard that will accept 3GB or ram
(or more). I know windows doesn't really allow a program to accessmore than
2GB of ram, but I hear XP pro can access more with certain setup. Either
way, I use a program that will use all 2GB of ram allowed it, so having 3GB
will allow windows to load all of it's bloat outside of that 2GB program
limit. Does that make any sense?

Ok, my real question... I have found motherboards that claim they alow 3GB
of ram, but I've also read that some will not allow you to actually use 3GB
of ram? If they can't use 3GB of ram, why would they allow you to install
3GB? This makes no sense to me.

What I am looking for is a board that supports the Athlon 64 3400, Sata,
onboard Lan, usb 2.0, Firewire, 6 channel sound, etc. Basically all the
bells and whistles. This whole 3GB thing has me a bit confused.

Thanks for any help. Hope this made sense.
  #2  
Old January 25th 04, 09:53 AM
Arthur Buse
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

On Sun, 25 Jan 2004 03:40:41 GMT, "Mr. E. Mann"
wrote:

I know windows doesn't really allow a program to accessmore than
2GB of ram, but I hear XP pro can access more with certain setup.


I cannot help with most of your questions, but I know that Windows 98
runs into problems when more than 512 MB of memory is fitted.

I have 768 MB fitted. I have set Win 98 to only use 700 MB. It works
well when re-booted, but after a while I get the symptom of not being
able to open a DOS prompt window.


Like you, I believe that Windows XP can handle more memory, but cannot
quote specifics.
--
Arthur.
  #3  
Old January 25th 04, 10:52 AM
Peter Strömberg
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

"Mr. E. Mann" wrote in
:

Hi,

I'm planning on putting together an athlon 64 system when I get my tax
return and I'm looking for a good motherboard that will accept 3GB or
ram (or more). I know windows doesn't really allow a program to
accessmore than 2GB of ram, but I hear XP pro can access more with
certain setup. Either way, I use a program that will use all 2GB of
ram allowed it, so having 3GB will allow windows to load all of it's
bloat outside of that 2GB program limit. Does that make any sense?

Ok, my real question... I have found motherboards that claim they alow
3GB of ram, but I've also read that some will not allow you to
actually use 3GB of ram? If they can't use 3GB of ram, why would they
allow you to install 3GB? This makes no sense to me.


Win NT 4 and later can handle normally 4GB of memory,
but with the PAE boot switch up to 64GB.

(PAE is supported on Windows 2000 Datacenter Server; Windows 2000
Advanced Server; Windows Server 2003, Enterprise Editon; and Windows
Server 2003, Datacenter Edition.)

A single process (task) can normally access 2GB,
but with the /3GB boot switch it can access 3GB.

(This parameter is fully functional on Microsoft Windows NT Server 4.0,
Enterprise Edition with Service Pack 3, Microsoft Windows 2000 Advanced
Server, Microsoft Windows 2000 Datacenter Server, Windows XP, and Windows
Server 2003.)

--
Peter Strömberg
C2K2 C2K3 ISCCIV02 ISCCIV03
  #4  
Old January 25th 04, 10:54 AM
Peter Strömberg
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Arthur Buse wrote in
:

I cannot help with most of your questions, but I know that Windows 98
runs into problems when more than 512 MB of memory is fitted.

I have 768 MB fitted. I have set Win 98 to only use 700 MB. It works
well when re-booted, but after a while I get the symptom of not being
able to open a DOS prompt window.


http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;253912
http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;304943


--
Peter Strömberg
C2K2 C2K3 ISCCIV02 ISCCIV03
  #5  
Old January 25th 04, 10:54 AM
Ben Pope
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Mr. E. Mann wrote:
Hi,

I'm planning on putting together an athlon 64 system when I get my tax
return and I'm looking for a good motherboard that will accept 3GB or ram
(or more). I know windows doesn't really allow a program to accessmore
than 2GB of ram, but I hear XP pro can access more with certain setup.
Either way, I use a program that will use all 2GB of ram allowed it, so
having 3GB will allow windows to load all of it's bloat outside of that
2GB program limit. Does that make any sense?

Ok, my real question... I have found motherboards that claim they alow 3GB
of ram, but I've also read that some will not allow you to actually use
3GB of ram? If they can't use 3GB of ram, why would they allow you to
install 3GB? This makes no sense to me.


If there are 3 slots for convenience, and each slot can address up to 1Gig
then the board will allow 3 Gig to be installed. It's possible that less
than that can be addressed in total due to limitations elsewhere... I was
under the impression that 32bit systems can address 2^32 bytes, or 4Gigs,
but that there is a reserved space above 3Gigs for mapping I/O... much like
the option in the BIOS for memory hole at 63-64Meg (the 16bit address space
limit).

What I am looking for is a board that supports the Athlon 64 3400, Sata,
onboard Lan, usb 2.0, Firewire, 6 channel sound, etc. Basically all the
bells and whistles. This whole 3GB thing has me a bit confused.

Thanks for any help. Hope this made sense.


Essentially if you want to use the advantages of a 64bit system capable of
addressing lots of RAM, you'll need an OS that is 64bit too, which
essentially leaves you with leaked test versions of the appropriate Windows
or any semi-recent distribution of Linux, for the moment, at least.

Ben
--
A7N8X FAQ: www.ben.pope.name/a7n8x_faq.html
Questions by email will likely be ignored, please use the newsgroups.
I'm not just a number. To many, I'm known as a String...


  #6  
Old January 25th 04, 04:48 PM
B
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

It is both a matter of hardware and software. Hardware motherboard
manufacturers have built in system limits or normally 3-4 gb or less but
this will change somewhat when Microsoft releases its 64 bit version of the
operating system and that is explaned he

Windows XP 64-Bit Edition for 64-Bit Extended Systems is designed for use on
high-performance PCs. This means new customers will be able to extend beyond
the 4-gigabyte physical memory limit of 32-bit computing.

regards

B


"Mr. E. Mann" wrote in message
...
Hi,

I'm planning on putting together an athlon 64 system when I get my tax
return and I'm looking for a good motherboard that will accept 3GB or ram
(or more). I know windows doesn't really allow a program to accessmore

than
2GB of ram, but I hear XP pro can access more with certain setup. Either
way, I use a program that will use all 2GB of ram allowed it, so having

3GB
will allow windows to load all of it's bloat outside of that 2GB program
limit. Does that make any sense?

Ok, my real question... I have found motherboards that claim they alow 3GB
of ram, but I've also read that some will not allow you to actually use

3GB
of ram? If they can't use 3GB of ram, why would they allow you to install
3GB? This makes no sense to me.

What I am looking for is a board that supports the Athlon 64 3400, Sata,
onboard Lan, usb 2.0, Firewire, 6 channel sound, etc. Basically all the
bells and whistles. This whole 3GB thing has me a bit confused.

Thanks for any help. Hope this made sense.



  #7  
Old January 25th 04, 06:07 PM
Arthur Buse
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

On 25 Jan 2004 10:54:07 GMT, "Peter Strömberg"
wrote:

Arthur Buse wrote in
:

I cannot help with most of your questions, but I know that Windows 98
runs into problems when more than 512 MB of memory is fitted.

I have 768 MB fitted. I have set Win 98 to only use 700 MB. It works
well when re-booted, but after a while I get the symptom of not being
able to open a DOS prompt window.


http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;253912


Says that Windows 98 runs into problems when more than 512 MB of
memory is fitted. Mine is fairly stable when restricted to 700 MB.
Needs re-booting if I have problems. I could restrict it further and
have fewer problems.

http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;304943



Says that Windows 98 & Windows ME will not run nor install if more
than 1.5 GB of memory are fitted. Thanks, Peter, I had never heard of
that.

I think I found another symptom of having too much memory. I could not
filll in text boxes on web pages. Ironically, this prevented me doing
a proper search for the original poster's question.

Microsoft once claimed that Windows 95 can use 2GB but I think they
lied.
http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=http://support.microsoft.com:80/support/kb/articles/q181/5/94.asp&NoWebContent=1

Mr E. Mann (original poster):

The 32-bit architecture of present CPUs limits them to 4 GB of RAM
(e.g . Pentium, Athlon Tbred). Windows XP, being a 32-bit operating
system will be limited to 4GB of memory. It can use at least 2GB of
memory.

At the bottom of page 16 of a Word document on the Windows NT homepage
it says that Windows NT Server is capable of addressing 4GB, split
into 2 GB for user space and 2 GB for system space.

http://www.microsoft.com/ntserver/do...chitecture.doc

Windows XP is based on Windows NT, so I expect the same memory limit.

The Athlon 64 can address thousands of GB. There is a beta (test)
version of Windows XP 64-bit. I expect there will be a final retail
version available by Christmas. And a Service Pack full of bug fixes
early next year. :-)

Windows 2000 Advanced Server uses something called Physical Address
Extensions (PAE) and is able to address 8GB and Windows 2000
Datacenter Server uses PAE to address 32GB. Sounds like good old
memory paging to me.

--
Arthur.
  #8  
Old January 25th 04, 11:01 PM
Mr. E. Mann
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Thanks Everyone!

I didn't know people were still using win98. ;')

"B" wrote in
:

It is both a matter of hardware and software. Hardware motherboard
manufacturers have built in system limits or normally 3-4 gb or less
but this will change somewhat when Microsoft releases its 64 bit
version of the operating system and that is explaned he

Windows XP 64-Bit Edition for 64-Bit Extended Systems is designed for
use on high-performance PCs. This means new customers will be able to
extend beyond the 4-gigabyte physical memory limit of 32-bit
computing.

regards

B

  #9  
Old January 26th 04, 02:37 AM
callsignviper
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default


"Arthur Buse" wrote in message
...
On Sun, 25 Jan 2004 03:40:41 GMT, "Mr. E. Mann"
wrote:

I know windows doesn't really allow a program to accessmore than
2GB of ram, but I hear XP pro can access more with certain setup.


I cannot help with most of your questions, but I know that Windows 98
runs into problems when more than 512 MB of memory is fitted.

I have 768 MB fitted. I have set Win 98 to only use 700 MB. It works
well when re-booted, but after a while I get the symptom of not being
able to open a DOS prompt window.


Like you, I believe that Windows XP can handle more memory, but cannot
quote specifics.
--



In Windows 98 try the following addition to your SYSTEM.INI file:

[vcache]
MaxFileCache=512000


I have 1 GB of Ram and don't have any Ram associated problems with Win98SE.



--
callsignviper


The truth is out there. You just have to look in the right places and ask
the right questions.


  #10  
Old January 26th 04, 02:42 AM
callsignviper
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default


"Mr. E. Mann" wrote in message
...
Thanks Everyone!

I didn't know people were still using win98. ;')



It is estimated that in excess of 50 MILLION enterprise customers are still
using Windows 98 with several MILLION still using Windows 95 for certain
applications.


Those numbers don't even attempt to account for all the non-enterprise
customers still using those operating systems.


Supposedly that is one of the reasons M$ extended Win98 support into 2006
when it was supposed to have ended about 2-3 weeks ago.


--
callsignviper


The truth is out there. You just have to look in the right places and ask
the right questions.


 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Motherboard failure, ram failure, or other? Stockmoose16 General 12 January 19th 05 05:21 AM
A7N8X Motherboard Low Temperature Sensitivity, CMOS Checksum Error kony General 6 October 18th 04 05:38 AM
AOPEN AX4BS-V MOTHERBOARD - won't boot - won't POST - help please!! lucy General 3 November 29th 03 05:21 AM
I need to replace a bad Asus A7V motherboard David Cook General 1 October 31st 03 01:40 AM
your motherboard redbuffalo003 General 0 September 21st 03 04:08 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004-2022 HardwareBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.