A computer components & hardware forum. HardwareBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » HardwareBanter forum » Processors » Overclocking AMD Processors
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

My AQXEA Barton 2500+ @ 2.2GHz (NF7-S v2.0)



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old September 18th 03, 12:17 PM
Wayne Youngman
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default My AQXEA Barton 2500+ @ 2.2GHz (NF7-S v2.0)

Hi all,

I just got to the stage where I am 100% satisfied that my system is working
great at stock settings. I have tested the memory timings, and I have
tested my FSB above 200MHz.

Now I am working on overclocking my cpu. When I first switched up to 11 x
200MHz from default 2500+ all I did to test the overclock was run MemTest
x86 from the boot floppy. Of course to really test the CPU overclock I
needed to run tests from WinXP itself, but I was a little anxious about
causing my boot-drive to become garbled from a dodgy CPU overclock (it's
happened to me before).

Anyhow even though it was working fine in MemTest x86 @ default Voltages,
once I got into WinXP (phew it booted fine) and ran Prime96 torture test, it
would fail within a minute. . .pooh!

So it was time to up the Vco

1.65v @ 2.2GHz - Fail Prime95
1.675v @ 2.2GHz - Fail Prime95
1.7v @ 2.2GHz - Fail Prime95
1.725v @ 2.2GHz - Fail Prime95
1.75v @ 2.2GHz - Been running Prime95 for 10 hours so far!

Temps are up up course, hitting 46c Load so far, I had to crank up my
CoolerMaster Aero 7 LITE Fan to 100% to keep the temps down a few degrees.

I will leave prime95 running for a day (or two), then when I am happy it is
Rock-Solid I will tinker with a higher FSB to add to the CPU overclock
(thinking 10.5 x 216MHz-FSB).

Is 1.75v ok to be running this chip at, as I said temps are ok so far. . .I
hope it passes the Prime95 test as I don't really wanna raise Vcore above
1.75 if I can. . .

Wayne ][

P.S I have CPU interface enabled. Is there some options that make a CPU
overclock less stable? (spread-spectrum etc)



  #2  
Old September 18th 03, 12:28 PM
Morgan
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

but I was a little anxious about causing my boot-drive to become garbled
from a dodgy CPU overclock (it's happened to me before).



Then use something like Ghost to make an image of you boot drive. If the
worse happens and its not repairable then you just Ghost the image back and
you are up and going again. Very quick and gives you that reassurance.

--
Regards

Morgan



  #3  
Old September 18th 03, 02:39 PM
Jens C. Hansen [Odense]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Wayne Youngman wrote:

P.S I have CPU interface enabled. Is there some options that make a CPU
overclock less stable? (spread-spectrum etc)


Spread spectrum could theoretically cause minor instability, but the
worst is the CPU Disconnect feature.
It lets the cpu run a lot cooler when idle, but will also cause a
semi-large temporary drop in Vcore, when the processor goes directly
from idle to 100 % active - and that could make it hang or even reboot.

  #4  
Old September 18th 03, 03:00 PM
Wayne Youngman
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

"Jens C. Hansen [Odense]" wrote
Wayne Youngman wrote:
Spread spectrum could theoretically cause minor instability, but the
worst is the CPU Disconnect feature.
It lets the cpu run a lot cooler when idle, but will also cause a
semi-large temporary drop in Vcore, when the processor goes directly
from idle to 100 % active - and that could make it hang or even reboot.



Hi,

Thanks for reply. That information is useful to know. At this point I have
CPU Disconnect enabled, CPU interface enabled, and all the spread options at
default.

The PC seemed stable at most lower Vcore settings, just that it made Prime95
fail very quickly. Anyway the 1.75v (11x200) setting seems to be running
nicely (so far!), been running torture test for nearly 12 hours flat. I
will let it run for a few days maybe before I am 100% satisfied (fingers
crossed)

Wayne ][


  #5  
Old September 18th 03, 04:27 PM
Lester Piglet
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Hi Wayne, my barton has been running 1.8v 211x11 for a week now with no
probs. It's a tad hot at 50c on watercooling, but the chip is safe to 85c so
wtf.

--
Les Ross
Certified by a
Professional
"Wayne Youngman" wrote in message
...
Hi all,

I just got to the stage where I am 100% satisfied that my system is

working
great at stock settings. I have tested the memory timings, and I have
tested my FSB above 200MHz.

Now I am working on overclocking my cpu. When I first switched up to 11 x
200MHz from default 2500+ all I did to test the overclock was run MemTest
x86 from the boot floppy. Of course to really test the CPU overclock I
needed to run tests from WinXP itself, but I was a little anxious about
causing my boot-drive to become garbled from a dodgy CPU overclock (it's
happened to me before).

Anyhow even though it was working fine in MemTest x86 @ default Voltages,
once I got into WinXP (phew it booted fine) and ran Prime96 torture test,

it
would fail within a minute. . .pooh!

So it was time to up the Vco

1.65v @ 2.2GHz - Fail Prime95
1.675v @ 2.2GHz - Fail Prime95
1.7v @ 2.2GHz - Fail Prime95
1.725v @ 2.2GHz - Fail Prime95
1.75v @ 2.2GHz - Been running Prime95 for 10 hours so far!

Temps are up up course, hitting 46c Load so far, I had to crank up my
CoolerMaster Aero 7 LITE Fan to 100% to keep the temps down a few degrees.

I will leave prime95 running for a day (or two), then when I am happy it

is
Rock-Solid I will tinker with a higher FSB to add to the CPU overclock
(thinking 10.5 x 216MHz-FSB).

Is 1.75v ok to be running this chip at, as I said temps are ok so far. .

..I
hope it passes the Prime95 test as I don't really wanna raise Vcore above
1.75 if I can. . .

Wayne ][

P.S I have CPU interface enabled. Is there some options that make a CPU
overclock less stable? (spread-spectrum etc)





  #6  
Old September 18th 03, 04:30 PM
Lester Piglet
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Oops, forgot to say 50c at full load 24/7 doing United Devices.

--
Les Ross
Certified by a
Professional
"Wayne Youngman" wrote in message
...
Hi all,

I just got to the stage where I am 100% satisfied that my system is

working
great at stock settings. I have tested the memory timings, and I have
tested my FSB above 200MHz.

Now I am working on overclocking my cpu. When I first switched up to 11 x
200MHz from default 2500+ all I did to test the overclock was run MemTest
x86 from the boot floppy. Of course to really test the CPU overclock I
needed to run tests from WinXP itself, but I was a little anxious about
causing my boot-drive to become garbled from a dodgy CPU overclock (it's
happened to me before).

Anyhow even though it was working fine in MemTest x86 @ default Voltages,
once I got into WinXP (phew it booted fine) and ran Prime96 torture test,

it
would fail within a minute. . .pooh!

So it was time to up the Vco

1.65v @ 2.2GHz - Fail Prime95
1.675v @ 2.2GHz - Fail Prime95
1.7v @ 2.2GHz - Fail Prime95
1.725v @ 2.2GHz - Fail Prime95
1.75v @ 2.2GHz - Been running Prime95 for 10 hours so far!

Temps are up up course, hitting 46c Load so far, I had to crank up my
CoolerMaster Aero 7 LITE Fan to 100% to keep the temps down a few degrees.

I will leave prime95 running for a day (or two), then when I am happy it

is
Rock-Solid I will tinker with a higher FSB to add to the CPU overclock
(thinking 10.5 x 216MHz-FSB).

Is 1.75v ok to be running this chip at, as I said temps are ok so far. .

..I
hope it passes the Prime95 test as I don't really wanna raise Vcore above
1.75 if I can. . .

Wayne ][

P.S I have CPU interface enabled. Is there some options that make a CPU
overclock less stable? (spread-spectrum etc)





  #7  
Old September 18th 03, 05:28 PM
Ben Pope
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Wayne Youngman wrote:
Is 1.75v ok to be running this chip at, as I said temps are ok so far. .
.I hope it passes the Prime95 test as I don't really wanna raise Vcore
above
1.75 if I can. . .


Volatge doesn't kill chips, temperature does. As long as the core
temperature is 85C you'll be ok. (leave some tolerance... for sensor
miscalibration and differences throughout the core - 10C is probably
enough, but if the core is 65C your cooling is probably off.)

P.S I have CPU interface enabled. Is there some options that make a CPU
overclock less stable? (spread-spectrum etc)


Spread spectrum drifts the clock slightly in order to reduce EMI, but that
introduces another unknown and can lead to unusual crashes - it justs makes
stability testing that little bit harder.)

Ben
--
I'm not just a number. To many, I'm known as a String...


  #8  
Old September 18th 03, 11:10 PM
Jerry McBride
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Wayne Youngman wrote:

Hi all,

I just got to the stage where I am 100% satisfied that my system is
working
great at stock settings. I have tested the memory timings, and I have
tested my FSB above 200MHz.


I've got the same chip: AXDA2500DKV4D AQXEA

Anyway, I picked this one up when I bought a second one for my neighbor's OC
project. I put mine into a MSI ultra2 and boy does it rock...

Running at 10 x 200 is a breeze and so far never a temp reading higher than
36c. This is what it should be like... :')

Like you, I'll run this a few days to make sure it's all doing ok,. then
I'll start the serious over clock effort.

Got my xp2500+ from Google Gear in a retail box for $92.00 and free 2nd day
delivery. Much to my surprise, the free HSF is a rather nice affair with a
copper slug in the bottom of it... Thanks AMD.

Anyone need an old xp200+ Palimino? I'll never use it again... :')


************************************************** ****************************
Registered Linux User Number 185956
http://groups.google.com/groups?hl=e...ff&group=linux
Join me in chat at #linux-users on irc.freenode.net
This email account no longers accepts attachments or messages containing
html.
5:14pm up 70 days, 3:12, 4 users, load average: 0.04, 0.05, 0.05

  #9  
Old September 19th 03, 01:25 AM
Doug
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Can anyone tell me where the CPU disconnect function is on the NF7-S. I
think thats whats causing my instability @ 200mhz.

Doug

"Wayne Youngman" wrote in message
...
"Jens C. Hansen [Odense]" wrote
Wayne Youngman wrote:
Spread spectrum could theoretically cause minor instability, but the
worst is the CPU Disconnect feature.
It lets the cpu run a lot cooler when idle, but will also cause a
semi-large temporary drop in Vcore, when the processor goes directly
from idle to 100 % active - and that could make it hang or even reboot.



Hi,

Thanks for reply. That information is useful to know. At this point I

have
CPU Disconnect enabled, CPU interface enabled, and all the spread options

at
default.

The PC seemed stable at most lower Vcore settings, just that it made

Prime95
fail very quickly. Anyway the 1.75v (11x200) setting seems to be running
nicely (so far!), been running torture test for nearly 12 hours flat. I
will let it run for a few days maybe before I am 100% satisfied (fingers
crossed)

Wayne ][




  #10  
Old September 19th 03, 05:37 AM
Wayne Youngman
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default


"Jerry McBride" wrote
Running at 10 x 200 is a breeze and so far never a temp reading higher

than
36c. This is what it should be like... :')



Hi,

36c load temps @11x200, that's pretty impressive! what Vcore are you
running that overclock at? what is your HSF, case temps?

Wayne ][


 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Worth getting Barton 2500 now that Athlon64 is here? Steve Wolfe General 22 August 23rd 04 11:30 PM
Is this mobile Barton 2500 a good overclocker ? Phil Weldon Overclocking 0 June 21st 04 05:08 AM
Overclocked 2500 Barton to 3200 using my old Crucial 2100 DDR [email protected] General 5 January 18th 04 09:01 AM
Will a 2500 Barton run and OC on a Turbo 2 v5, if so how? KG Overclocking AMD Processors 9 September 3rd 03 02:05 AM
PC2100 DDR Ram with Athlon XP 2500 Barton? Mr. Brian Allen Overclocking AMD Processors 2 July 21st 03 09:13 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2022 HardwareBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.