A computer components & hardware forum. HardwareBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » HardwareBanter forum » General Hardware & Peripherals » Homebuilt PC's
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

Won't Post with GeForce Fx 5200 graphics card



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old April 20th 04, 01:13 PM
TC
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Won't Post with GeForce Fx 5200 graphics card

Mobo: ASUS A7N8x
CPU: AMD 2600
PSU: 400W
Latest BIOS: 10/2003 1007


No beep, no nothing. If I replace the new 5200 with an older graphics
card (GeForce NVG25GA), it works fine.
  #2  
Old April 20th 04, 02:07 PM
Andrew J
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default



Mobo: ASUS A7N8x
CPU: AMD 2600
PSU: 400W
Latest BIOS: 10/2003 1007


No beep, no nothing. If I replace the new 5200 with an older graphics
card (GeForce NVG25GA), it works fine.


You did run seperate power to the video board? If tapping F5 on
startup and it won't enter Safe Mode then that card must be bad. I'm
running one on that mobo.
  #3  
Old April 20th 04, 02:18 PM
TC
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Andrew J wrote:



Mobo: ASUS A7N8x
CPU: AMD 2600
PSU: 400W
Latest BIOS: 10/2003 1007


No beep, no nothing. If I replace the new 5200 with an older
graphics card (GeForce NVG25GA), it works fine.


You did run seperate power to the video board? If tapping F5 on
startup and it won't enter Safe Mode then that card must be bad. I'm
running one on that mobo.


Huh? The card plugs into the AGP slot on the mobo and gets its power
from the mobo.
  #4  
Old April 20th 04, 04:49 PM
sooky grumper
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

TC wrote:
Andrew J wrote:



Mobo: ASUS A7N8x
CPU: AMD 2600
PSU: 400W
Latest BIOS: 10/2003 1007


No beep, no nothing. If I replace the new 5200 with an older
graphics card (GeForce NVG25GA), it works fine.


You did run seperate power to the video board? If tapping F5 on
startup and it won't enter Safe Mode then that card must be bad. I'm
running one on that mobo.



Huh? The card plugs into the AGP slot on the mobo and gets its power
from the mobo.


Some cards require an extra 4 pin connector from the PSU. Check to see
if this is the case with your new card.

--
spammage trappage: replace fishies_ with yahoo
  #5  
Old April 20th 04, 04:59 PM
TC
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

sooky grumper wrote:

TC wrote:
Andrew J wrote:



Mobo: ASUS A7N8x
CPU: AMD 2600
PSU: 400W
Latest BIOS: 10/2003 1007


No beep, no nothing. If I replace the new 5200 with an older
graphics card (GeForce NVG25GA), it works fine.

You did run seperate power to the video board? If tapping F5 on
startup and it won't enter Safe Mode then that card must be bad.
I'm running one on that mobo.



Huh? The card plugs into the AGP slot on the mobo and gets its
power from the mobo.


Some cards require an extra 4 pin connector from the PSU. Check to
see if this is the case with your new card.


Nope.
  #6  
Old April 20th 04, 05:59 PM
Andrew J
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default




You did run seperate power to the video board? If tapping F5 on
startup and it won't enter Safe Mode then that card must be bad.
I'm running one on that mobo.


Huh? The card plugs into the AGP slot on the mobo and gets its
power from the mobo.


Some cards require an extra 4 pin connector from the PSU. Check to
see if this is the case with your new card.


Nope.


Sorry about that, my PNY does.
http://www.intelforums.net/viewtopic.php?t=978
  #7  
Old April 20th 04, 06:32 PM
TC
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Andrew J wrote:




You did run seperate power to the video board? If tapping F5 on
startup and it won't enter Safe Mode then that card must be

bad. I'm running one on that mobo.


Huh? The card plugs into the AGP slot on the mobo and gets its
power from the mobo.

Some cards require an extra 4 pin connector from the PSU. Check to
see if this is the case with your new card.


Nope.


Sorry about that, my PNY does.
http://www.intelforums.net/viewtopic.php?t=978


Mine is an ASUS card. I have seen more issues in Google on this than I
would like. I have also contacted ASUS support. Should be easy for
them. My mobo and graphics card came from them.
 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
sound card and graphics card ports? Bob General 5 November 2nd 04 01:14 AM
GeForce MX440-T8X Graphics Card Gary Dingle General 3 July 28th 04 10:47 AM
PC won't boot up with new Graphics Card... [email protected] Homebuilt PC's 3 December 28th 03 02:02 AM
CHAINTECH GeForce FX 5200 Video Card, 128MB DDR question RegularJoe Homebuilt PC's 1 December 25th 03 11:55 PM
FS: GEFORCE FX 5200 8X 3D VIDEO CARD ^Doc^ Homebuilt PC's 0 December 6th 03 12:27 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2022 HardwareBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.