A computer components & hardware forum. HardwareBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » HardwareBanter forum » General Hardware & Peripherals » General
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

What? AMD Approved and P4 Ready??



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old July 12th 03, 12:15 PM
Smith
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default What? AMD Approved and P4 Ready??

Okay, first time I've had to buy a power supply. Have an AMD K7-950, the
250W PSU it came with is fried. Someone recomended I go with a Sparkle
brand PSU. I looked around and found one that looks good and would fit in
my case, the "Sparkle Power (SPI) ATX-300GT 300Watt ATX Switching Power
Supply." Did some research and found that all SPI's 300W and above can
support AMD K7's. Yet in the description it says "AMD Approved and P4
Ready" My question is, what exactly does that mean, "Approved" why not
"Ready" like for P4's?

Thanks,

Smith




  #2  
Old July 12th 03, 02:33 PM
Dave
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default


"Smith" wrote in message
news:[email protected]
Okay, first time I've had to buy a power supply. Have an AMD K7-950, the
250W PSU it came with is fried. Someone recomended I go with a Sparkle
brand PSU. I looked around and found one that looks good and would fit in
my case, the "Sparkle Power (SPI) ATX-300GT 300Watt ATX Switching Power
Supply." Did some research and found that all SPI's 300W and above can
support AMD K7's. Yet in the description it says "AMD Approved and P4
Ready" My question is, what exactly does that mean, "Approved" why not
"Ready" like for P4's?

Thanks,

Smith


"AMD approved" means that the company is on AMD's list of approved
manufacturers and the design meats AMD's specifications.

"P4 ready" means that it has an extra 4 pin 12volt plug that is required on
most P4 motherboards.



__________________________________________________ ____________________
Posted Via Uncensored-News.Com - Still Only $9.95 - http://www.uncensored-news.com
The Worlds Uncensored News Source

  #3  
Old July 12th 03, 02:51 PM
Vanguard
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

AMD recommends a minimum power wattage capacity for its processors.
Different processors may have different recommended wattages. This is to
[help] guarantee that you use a power supply that can feed 2 hard drives, 2
floppies, several sticks of memory, video card, sound card, and other
hardware, plus still have enough current to juice up the power demands of
the CPU. Flaky behavior can result if your power supply cannot supply
enough juice.

The P4-ready spec means that there is output from the power supply. It is
another tap to provide 12V and looks like a 4-pin square Molex connector and
allows more current to get to the motherboard for the 12V (each wire has a
max amperage rating, and the one wire used before isn't sufficient for these
later higher wattage processors). ATX style motherboards that are P4 ready
are also noted as ATX12V. See
http://www.directron.com/directron/p...l.html#p4power.

--
__________________________________________________ _____
** Share with others. Post replies in the newsgroup.
** If present, remove "-NIX" from my email address.
__________________________________________________ _____


  #4  
Old July 13th 03, 03:01 AM
Smith
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Gotcha, thanks.

Smith

"Dave" wrote in message
...

"Smith" wrote in message
news:[email protected]
Okay, first time I've had to buy a power supply. Have an AMD K7-950,

the
250W PSU it came with is fried. Someone recomended I go with a Sparkle
brand PSU. I looked around and found one that looks good and would fit

in
my case, the "Sparkle Power (SPI) ATX-300GT 300Watt ATX Switching Power
Supply." Did some research and found that all SPI's 300W and above can
support AMD K7's. Yet in the description it says "AMD Approved and P4
Ready" My question is, what exactly does that mean, "Approved" why not
"Ready" like for P4's?

Thanks,

Smith


"AMD approved" means that the company is on AMD's list of approved
manufacturers and the design meats AMD's specifications.

"P4 ready" means that it has an extra 4 pin 12volt plug that is required

on
most P4 motherboards.



__________________________________________________ ____________________
Posted Via Uncensored-News.Com - Still Only $9.95 -

http://www.uncensored-news.com
The Worlds Uncensored News Source





  #5  
Old July 13th 03, 03:01 AM
Smith
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Okay, thanks.

Smith

"Vanguard" wrote in message
news:[email protected]
AMD recommends a minimum power wattage capacity for its processors.
Different processors may have different recommended wattages. This is to
[help] guarantee that you use a power supply that can feed 2 hard drives,

2
floppies, several sticks of memory, video card, sound card, and other
hardware, plus still have enough current to juice up the power demands of
the CPU. Flaky behavior can result if your power supply cannot supply
enough juice.

The P4-ready spec means that there is output from the power supply. It is
another tap to provide 12V and looks like a 4-pin square Molex connector

and
allows more current to get to the motherboard for the 12V (each wire has a
max amperage rating, and the one wire used before isn't sufficient for

these
later higher wattage processors). ATX style motherboards that are P4

ready
are also noted as ATX12V. See
http://www.directron.com/directron/p...l.html#p4power.

--
__________________________________________________ _____
** Share with others. Post replies in the newsgroup.
** If present, remove "-NIX" from my email address.
__________________________________________________ _____




 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2022 HardwareBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.