A computer components & hardware forum. HardwareBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » HardwareBanter forum » System Manufacturers & Vendors » Compaq Servers
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

Proliant 2500 not booting from SmartStart 5.50 CD



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old May 17th 07, 12:03 PM posted to alt.sys.pc-clone.compaq.servers
Trojan Hussar
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 14
Default Proliant 2500 not booting from SmartStart 5.50 CD

This is a thread I originally posted around two years ago, that time I
found a workaround, this time I can't figure it out.

I have a Proliant 2500 Dual PPro 200, 384Mb, 221 disk controller. The
machine will happily boot from CD and run Knoppix, I can run hardware
tests from UBD3.3 but it stubbornly refuses to boot from a SmartStart
5.50 disk, I just get an 'Invalid System Disk' error.

I've re-downloaded the ISO image and burned it on two different CD
writers but it is refusing to boot from either copy. It does have the
system utilities on the array but when you try to run ACU it prompts
me for the Array Conifugration Utility floppy disks unfortunately I'm
a floppy free zone these days!

Switching the CD-ROM from cable select to master fixed this problem
before but this time it makes no difference, it's almost like the
machine is trying to spite me!

Help!
J.

  #2  
Old May 17th 07, 04:14 PM posted to alt.sys.pc-clone.compaq.servers
Nut Cracker
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 196
Default Proliant 2500 not booting from SmartStart 5.50 CD

"Trojan Hussar" wrote in message
oups.com...
This is a thread I originally posted around two years ago, that time I
found a workaround, this time I can't figure it out.

I have a Proliant 2500 Dual PPro 200, 384Mb, 221 disk controller. The
machine will happily boot from CD and run Knoppix, I can run hardware
tests from UBD3.3 but it stubbornly refuses to boot from a SmartStart
5.50 disk, I just get an 'Invalid System Disk' error.

I've re-downloaded the ISO image and burned it on two different CD
writers but it is refusing to boot from either copy. It does have the
system utilities on the array but when you try to run ACU it prompts
me for the Array Conifugration Utility floppy disks unfortunately I'm
a floppy free zone these days!

Switching the CD-ROM from cable select to master fixed this problem
before but this time it makes no difference, it's almost like the
machine is trying to spite me!

Help!
J.




did you burn the iso at the slowest possible speed that your burning
software will allow?

  #3  
Old May 17th 07, 10:33 PM posted to alt.sys.pc-clone.compaq.servers
VinceV
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 11
Default Proliant 2500 not booting from SmartStart 5.50 CD

Did you burn this to a CDR? I've found that the older CD ROM drives
have a hard time with CD-RW media.

VinceV


On May 17, 4:03 am, Trojan Hussar wrote:
This is a thread I originally posted around two years ago, that time I
found a workaround, this time I can't figure it out.

I have a Proliant 2500 Dual PPro 200, 384Mb, 221 disk controller. The
machine will happily boot from CD and run Knoppix, I can run hardware
tests from UBD3.3 but it stubbornly refuses to boot from a SmartStart
5.50 disk, I just get an 'Invalid System Disk' error.

I've re-downloaded the ISO image and burned it on two different CD
writers but it is refusing to boot from either copy. It does have the
system utilities on the array but when you try to run ACU it prompts
me for the Array Conifugration Utility floppy disks unfortunately I'm
a floppy free zone these days!

Switching the CD-ROM from cable select to master fixed this problem
before but this time it makes no difference, it's almost like the
machine is trying to spite me!

Help!
J.



  #4  
Old May 18th 07, 12:54 AM posted to alt.sys.pc-clone.compaq.servers
Rick F.
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 63
Default Proliant 2500 not booting from SmartStart 5.50 CD

On 2007-05-17, VinceV wrote:
Did you burn this to a CDR? I've found that the older CD ROM drives
have a hard time with CD-RW media.


For some reason that SmartStart CD (not sure if the newer ones have
the same issue or not, but this does appear to be the case for the
v5.5 version) **MUST** be burned at the SLOWEST possible speed on
your cd burner or it will NOT work.. I and countless others have
found this out by complete trial and error -- per LC's comments..

I suspect if you try the above technique, the problem will go away!

  #5  
Old July 1st 07, 11:21 PM posted to alt.sys.pc-clone.compaq.servers
Trojan Hussar
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 14
Default Proliant 2500 not booting from SmartStart 5.50 CD

In the end I dug out a generic x52 CD-ROM drive and it booted from the
SmartStart CD first time, obviously the SmartStart boot sectors are
more picky about the type of drives they like to be read by!

Many Thanks,
J.

On May 18, 12:54 am, "Rick F." wrote:
On 2007-05-17, VinceV wrote:

Did you burn this to a CDR? I've found that the older CD ROM drives
have a hard time with CD-RW media.


For some reason that SmartStart CD (not sure if the newer ones have
the same issue or not, but this does appear to be the case for the
v5.5 version) **MUST** be burned at the SLOWEST possible speed on
your cd burner or it will NOT work.. I and countless others have
found this out by complete trial and error -- per LC's comments..

I suspect if you try the above technique, the problem will go away!



 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help with Proliant 3000 and SmartStart 5.50 DarqFallen Compaq Servers 2 February 14th 05 10:58 PM
Help with Proliant 3000 and SmartStart 5.50 DarqFallen Compaq Servers 4 January 10th 05 05:02 AM
Help with Proliant 3000 and SmartStart 5.50 DarqFallen Compaq Servers 1 January 7th 05 03:53 PM
Smartstart problem on Proliant 400 onnotche Compaq Servers 1 November 24th 04 02:59 PM
req: smartstart for proliant 5500 chowumba Compaq Servers 1 July 3rd 04 12:57 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2022 HardwareBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.