A computer components & hardware forum. HardwareBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » HardwareBanter forum » Processors » Overclocking AMD Processors
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

Upgrading Asus As7-vm mobo



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old June 25th 04, 11:47 AM
David Off
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Upgrading Asus As7-vm mobo

I want to upgrade my Asus AS7-VM motherboard. It currently has an
Athlon 1GHz processor. According to Asus it will take up to a 1.4GHz
Athlon or 900 MHz Duron, I don't see why there is a difference in CPU
speed.

I checked the local computer store and it is only possible to get
Duron processors, 1.4, 1.6, 1.8 GHz. Will a 1.4 GHz Duron buy me much
over a 1 GHz Athlon given the smaller on-board cache?

The Duron is a much later design, so will presumable generate less
heat.

I also wonder if I can run one of the higher speed Durons in this
mobo? The Asus doc only mentions 1.4GHz but maybe that is because
faster processors were not available at the time.

The Athlon XP processor doesn't seem to be any good due to the faster
FSB speed (266 MHz as opposed to 133MHz).

tia
David
  #2  
Old June 25th 04, 12:26 PM
JK
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

On 25 Jun 2004 03:47:49 -0700, (David Off) wrote:

I want to upgrade my Asus AS7-VM motherboard. It currently has an
Athlon 1GHz processor. According to Asus it will take up to a 1.4GHz
Athlon or 900 MHz Duron, I don't see why there is a difference in CPU
speed.


Your motherboard takes just the socalled fsb200 cpu's. They are rare
now.

I checked the local computer store and it is only possible to get
Duron processors, 1.4, 1.6, 1.8 GHz. Will a 1.4 GHz Duron buy me much
over a 1 GHz Athlon given the smaller on-board cache?


These newer durons are all fsb266. They won't fit the bios of your
motherboard.

The Duron is a much later design, so will presumable generate less
heat.

I also wonder if I can run one of the higher speed Durons in this
mobo? The Asus doc only mentions 1.4GHz but maybe that is because
faster processors were not available at the time.

The Athlon XP processor doesn't seem to be any good due to the faster
FSB speed (266 MHz as opposed to 133MHz).


266=2x133 that is the secret of it. Fsb200=2x100 and so on for fsb333
and 400.

My advice would be: don't upgrade it.

Sell the computer for 200 $ or so, excl. monitor but including the
rest.

Because: you have the following components that are outdated or
obsolete: sdram, harddisk, sound, net

Modern motherboards have mostly nice sound onboard and LAN and a new
big cache ide harddisk with 7200 rpm will mean a tremendeous
improvement, as will DDR ram.

best regards

John
  #3  
Old June 25th 04, 01:30 PM
rstlne
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default


"David Off" wrote in message
om...
I want to upgrade my Asus AS7-VM motherboard. It currently has an
Athlon 1GHz processor. According to Asus it will take up to a 1.4GHz
Athlon or 900 MHz Duron, I don't see why there is a difference in CPU
speed.

I checked the local computer store and it is only possible to get
Duron processors, 1.4, 1.6, 1.8 GHz. Will a 1.4 GHz Duron buy me much
over a 1 GHz Athlon given the smaller on-board cache?

The Duron is a much later design, so will presumable generate less
heat.

I also wonder if I can run one of the higher speed Durons in this
mobo? The Asus doc only mentions 1.4GHz but maybe that is because
faster processors were not available at the time.

The Athlon XP processor doesn't seem to be any good due to the faster
FSB speed (266 MHz as opposed to 133MHz).

tia
David



the chips are 100 / 133 / 166 / 200 fsb (thats all)
if you see a chip that's quoted as having 266 fsb then it's going to work
with a 133 fsb.
like the other poster said, your limited to 100fsb so you could go the path
of buying a mobile processor and running it at 15 x 100 (but you might have
trouble with that too)
I would think the newer durons (applebreds) are lock'd internally now (as
with all non mobile AXP chips) but if that 1.4 applebred runs at 10.5 x 133
then you would have a 1050 duron on startup.

I dont know what you'll pay for the conversion cost (wish the uk would go to
the euro)
but here is a mobile that should do that 15x100
http://www.cpucitystore.co.uk/catalo...roducts_id=416

Good luck in what ever you decide


  #4  
Old June 25th 04, 07:31 PM
CJK
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default


"rstlne" wrote in message
news:[email protected]

"David Off" wrote in message
om...
I want to upgrade my Asus AS7-VM motherboard. It currently has an
Athlon 1GHz processor. According to Asus it will take up to a 1.4GHz
Athlon or 900 MHz Duron, I don't see why there is a difference in CPU
speed.

I checked the local computer store and it is only possible to get
Duron processors, 1.4, 1.6, 1.8 GHz. Will a 1.4 GHz Duron buy me much
over a 1 GHz Athlon given the smaller on-board cache?

The Duron is a much later design, so will presumable generate less
heat.

I also wonder if I can run one of the higher speed Durons in this
mobo? The Asus doc only mentions 1.4GHz but maybe that is because
faster processors were not available at the time.

The Athlon XP processor doesn't seem to be any good due to the faster
FSB speed (266 MHz as opposed to 133MHz).

tia
David



the chips are 100 / 133 / 166 / 200 fsb (thats all)
if you see a chip that's quoted as having 266 fsb then it's going to work
with a 133 fsb.
like the other poster said, your limited to 100fsb so you could go the

path
of buying a mobile processor and running it at 15 x 100 (but you might

have
trouble with that too)
I would think the newer durons (applebreds) are lock'd internally now (as
with all non mobile AXP chips) but if that 1.4 applebred runs at 10.5 x

133
then you would have a 1050 duron on startup.

I dont know what you'll pay for the conversion cost (wish the uk would go

to
the euro)
but here is a mobile that should do that 15x100
http://www.cpucitystore.co.uk/catalo...roducts_id=416

Good luck in what ever you decide



Been looking into this for some time as I have an old Gigabyte 7AJA (KT133)
board
with a Duron 800 I would like to breathe some new life into cheaply while
keeping the
512MB of ECC PC133 memory and an ATI AIW AGP2 TV card so new mobo
not really an option.

Being unable to find a 200FSB processor, an XP2400 (15x133) underclocked
seems
fine. The mobo says 'unknown processor' but runs quite happily (& cool)
at 1.5GHz (15x100). Norton benchmarks about 4x as fast as the Duron 800
and it certainly performs better.

Processor is locked otherwise I assume I could run it at a higher clock
ratio
whilst still being in spec.

Chris K


  #5  
Old June 25th 04, 08:04 PM
Wes Newell
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

On Fri, 25 Jun 2004 03:47:49 -0700, David Off wrote:

I want to upgrade my Asus AS7-VM motherboard. It currently has an
Athlon 1GHz processor. According to Asus it will take up to a 1.4GHz
Athlon or 900 MHz Duron, I don't see why there is a difference in CPU
speed.

Forget what Asus says. It's crap.

I checked the local computer store and it is only possible to get
Duron processors, 1.4, 1.6, 1.8 GHz. Will a 1.4 GHz Duron buy me much
over a 1 GHz Athlon given the smaller on-board cache?

Any Duron should work. Although, I'd go for an XP.

The Athlon XP processor doesn't seem to be any good due to the faster
FSB speed (266 MHz as opposed to 133MHz).

There are no 266MHz AMD cpu's, only 100-200MHz. All the 266/333/400 crap
you see is just that, mraketing stratagies.

Your MB will support a fsb of up to 150MHz. See Advanced setup in manual
or bios. And even if it were limited to 100Mhz, that still wouldn't mean
you couldn't use an XP cpu. There's just 2 things that determine cpu
speed, multiplier x FSB clock= cpu clock. The highest multiplier is 24 (as
long as cpu is not a locked model), so in theory you could run a cpu at
3600MHz if you could find one that would run that fast, which you won't.
Your only gotya is the multiplier lock. If you buy a multiplier locked cpu
you can only adjust FSB to change speeds, either down or up to a max of
150MHz (but I'd say 133 to be conservative). So how fast do you want to
go, and how much are you willing to spend is the only question.

I configered a system with this MB for someone a couple of years ago and
was impressed with it's versitility for a SIS730 chipset. There's lot's
more general info in the link below. You might also not the the system
listed below is limited to 100Mhz FSB but still runs an XP cpu pretty
fast. A 3200+ only runs at 2200MHz.

--
Abit KT7-Raid (KT133) Tbred B core CPU @2400MHz (24x100FSB)
http://mysite.verizon.net/res0exft/cpu.htm
  #6  
Old June 25th 04, 08:27 PM
Wes Newell
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

On Fri, 25 Jun 2004 19:31:24 +0100, CJK wrote:

Been looking into this for some time as I have an old Gigabyte 7AJA
(KT133) board with a Duron 800 I would like to breathe some new life
into cheaply while keeping the 512MB of ECC PC133 memory and an ATI AIW
AGP2 TV card so new mobo not really an option.

Being unable to find a 200FSB processor, an XP2400 (15x133) underclocked
seems fine. The mobo says 'unknown processor' but runs quite happily (&
cool) at 1.5GHz (15x100). Norton benchmarks about 4x as fast as the
Duron 800 and it certainly performs better.

Processor is locked otherwise I assume I could run it at a higher clock
ratio whilst still being in spec.

Don't know if your board will let you adjust FSB or not, but if it does,
you can raise the FSB up to about 116Mhz for more core speed. At least
that what I could get out of my KT133 systems. That's another 240MHz. You
could go a lot higher with an unlocked one. See below.

--
Abit KT7-Raid (KT133) Tbred B core CPU @2400MHz (24x100FSB)
http://mysite.verizon.net/res0exft/cpu.htm
  #7  
Old June 26th 04, 09:16 AM
CJK
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default


"Wes Newell" wrote in message
news[email protected] .net...
On Fri, 25 Jun 2004 19:31:24 +0100, CJK wrote:

Been looking into this for some time as I have an old Gigabyte 7AJA
(KT133) board with a Duron 800 I would like to breathe some new life
into cheaply while keeping the 512MB of ECC PC133 memory and an ATI AIW
AGP2 TV card so new mobo not really an option.

Being unable to find a 200FSB processor, an XP2400 (15x133) underclocked
seems fine. The mobo says 'unknown processor' but runs quite happily (&
cool) at 1.5GHz (15x100). Norton benchmarks about 4x as fast as the
Duron 800 and it certainly performs better.

Processor is locked otherwise I assume I could run it at a higher clock
ratio whilst still being in spec.

Don't know if your board will let you adjust FSB or not, but if it does,
you can raise the FSB up to about 116Mhz for more core speed. At least
that what I could get out of my KT133 systems. That's another 240MHz. You
could go a lot higher with an unlocked one. See below.

--
Abit KT7-Raid (KT133) Tbred B core CPU @2400MHz (24x100FSB)
http://mysite.verizon.net/res0exft/cpu.htm


Thanks, I was intending to try that though I'd rather not risk stability for
small speed gains,
not sure how the 5 year old Graphics card would like the PCI bus speed
increase. 3/4x
improvement is OK for now.

Going to 24x100FSB would be good as it is not really overclocking but I
assume
that, as the processor is date coded only a few weeks ago, it cannot be
easily
unlocked.

Chris K (UK)


  #8  
Old June 26th 04, 04:53 PM
David Off
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Wes Newell wrote in message news:[email protected] .net...

Forget what Asus says. It's crap.


Hmmm that's pretty interesting. I did check the BIOS setup... and
found that I was underclocking my existing CPU, Doh. It was running at
90/30 with a multiplier (locked) of 10 and I bumped this up to 100/33.

Where I live (France) the Athlon XP 2000+ seems like the best value
upgrade currently. This runs at 1667 MHz so I assume it is locked at
12.5 with a FSB of 133.
  #9  
Old June 26th 04, 05:36 PM
Wes Newell
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

On Sat, 26 Jun 2004 09:16:58 +0100, CJK wrote:

Going to 24x100FSB would be good as it is not really overclocking but I
assume that, as the processor is date coded only a few weeks ago, it
cannot be easily unlocked.

2400MHz is way overclocked for the 2100+ below which normal speed is
1733MHz. The default speed of the 2400+ is only 2000MHz. There's a mod to
turn the locked cpu's into a mobile and then use software to adjust the
multiplier, but I haven't had the need nor the desire to do rthis as it
involes a lot of mod to the cpu bridges and there's some buts in too. Your
best option would be to find an older Tbred B core cpu that isn't locked
(ebay maybe). Or you could buy a new MP. They are still unlocked, but
expensive. A new mobile should work too, as they are not locked I'm told.

--
Abit KT7-Raid (KT133) Tbred B core CPU @2400MHz (24x100FSB)
http://mysite.verizon.net/res0exft/cpu.htm
 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ASUS K8V Deluxe - Motherboard Andre General 2 October 13th 04 01:46 AM
Memory - compatible with Asus P4C800-E Deluxe mobo Steve Schooler General 2 May 28th 04 08:16 AM
abit or asus mobo for OC? Martin Christensen General 1 April 18th 04 01:13 PM
Peculiar RAM problems with an old Asus mobo setup?!? Darth Joules General 7 October 16th 03 07:48 PM
Asus Vs. Intel mobo Dan J.S. General 4 September 21st 03 02:07 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2022 HardwareBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.