A computer components & hardware forum. HardwareBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » HardwareBanter forum » Motherboards » Asus Motherboards
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

ASUS P4PE motherboard, RAID-0 offline problem.



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old June 22nd 04, 03:55 PM
.
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default ASUS P4PE motherboard, RAID-0 offline problem.

ASUS P4PE motherboard, RAID-0 offline problem.

I have never used standby mode on my computer before, but when I tried
it, my RAID-0 drive stopped working. When I boot up, I get the
following error message:

Problem is detected with Array1

Array No: Array 1
RAID Mode: Stripe
Total Drives: 2
Capacity: 120044
Status: OFF LINE

My motherboard is an ASUS P4PE. The raid-0 consists of 2 Western
Digital 60GB.

There is a FastBuild utility that I can use, but don't know the effect
of using it. I don't want to destroy the data I have on the raid-0
drive.

MBFastBuild (tm) Utility 1.21 (c) 1996-2001 Promise Technology, Inc.

Options:
1. Auto Setup
2. View Drive Assignments
3. View Array
4. Delete Array
5. Rebuild Array
6. Controller Configuration

Any ideas?
  #2  
Old June 22nd 04, 04:20 PM
D
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

If you use a stripe array yr data is spread across two drives, therefore you
are unlikely to have any usable data on the single drive - other than by
using disk editing software -
You might as well rebuild the array
If you wish to have data available at all times, in the event of hd failure,
you should use a mirror array

"." wrote in message
om...
ASUS P4PE motherboard, RAID-0 offline problem.

I have never used standby mode on my computer before, but when I tried
it, my RAID-0 drive stopped working. When I boot up, I get the
following error message:

Problem is detected with Array1

Array No: Array 1
RAID Mode: Stripe
Total Drives: 2
Capacity: 120044
Status: OFF LINE

My motherboard is an ASUS P4PE. The raid-0 consists of 2 Western
Digital 60GB.

There is a FastBuild utility that I can use, but don't know the effect
of using it. I don't want to destroy the data I have on the raid-0
drive.

MBFastBuild (tm) Utility 1.21 (c) 1996-2001 Promise Technology, Inc.

Options:
1. Auto Setup
2. View Drive Assignments
3. View Array
4. Delete Array
5. Rebuild Array
6. Controller Configuration

Any ideas?



  #3  
Old June 23rd 04, 09:30 AM
Tim
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Hi,

At a guess I would say the standby has disagreed with the RAID driver. The
status implies that both discs are completely offline (IE not in a ready
state) - may be wrong.

I would just shutdown and restart and see if it comes back.

If you had any applications with files open on the drives at the time of
standby then you may have file corruptions.

Check on Promise web site to see if there are driver / firmware updates that
address the standby issue and also for any help on how to recover /
clarification of Fastbuild, array status etc.

I would not use standby until this is 100% cleared up and would test standby
on a drive you can afford to reformat.

As per D's comments: if the data is important then you should not be using
RAID 0.

- Tim


"." wrote in message
om...
ASUS P4PE motherboard, RAID-0 offline problem.

I have never used standby mode on my computer before, but when I tried
it, my RAID-0 drive stopped working. When I boot up, I get the
following error message:

Problem is detected with Array1

Array No: Array 1
RAID Mode: Stripe
Total Drives: 2
Capacity: 120044
Status: OFF LINE

My motherboard is an ASUS P4PE. The raid-0 consists of 2 Western
Digital 60GB.

There is a FastBuild utility that I can use, but don't know the effect
of using it. I don't want to destroy the data I have on the raid-0
drive.

MBFastBuild (tm) Utility 1.21 (c) 1996-2001 Promise Technology, Inc.

Options:
1. Auto Setup
2. View Drive Assignments
3. View Array
4. Delete Array
5. Rebuild Array
6. Controller Configuration

Any ideas?



  #4  
Old June 23rd 04, 07:19 PM
John Smith
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

"Tim" wrote in message ...
Hi,

At a guess I would say the standby has disagreed with the RAID driver. The
status implies that both discs are completely offline (IE not in a ready
state) - may be wrong.

I would just shutdown and restart and see if it comes back.

If you had any applications with files open on the drives at the time of
standby then you may have file corruptions.

Check on Promise web site to see if there are driver / firmware updates that
address the standby issue and also for any help on how to recover /
clarification of Fastbuild, array status etc.

I would not use standby until this is 100% cleared up and would test standby
on a drive you can afford to reformat.

As per D's comments: if the data is important then you should not be using
RAID 0.

- Tim


"." wrote in message
om...
ASUS P4PE motherboard, RAID-0 offline problem.

I have never used standby mode on my computer before, but when I tried
it, my RAID-0 drive stopped working. When I boot up, I get the
following error message:

Problem is detected with Array1

Array No: Array 1
RAID Mode: Stripe
Total Drives: 2
Capacity: 120044
Status: OFF LINE

My motherboard is an ASUS P4PE. The raid-0 consists of 2 Western
Digital 60GB.

There is a FastBuild utility that I can use, but don't know the effect
of using it. I don't want to destroy the data I have on the raid-0
drive.

MBFastBuild (tm) Utility 1.21 (c) 1996-2001 Promise Technology, Inc.

Options:
1. Auto Setup
2. View Drive Assignments
3. View Array
4. Delete Array
5. Rebuild Array
6. Controller Configuration

Any ideas?


P4PE Motherboard User Guide:

ref: Page 5-31

---Delete Array: This command deletes an array to reconfigure the
system. Deleting an array does not remove information on the hard
disks. If an array is deleted by mistake, recover it immediately by
redefining it as the deleted array---


I've tested this after standby mode put one of my RAID-0 drives
offline. Assuming the array was created with default settings (see
user guide), it's a simple case of deleting the array and then
redefining it.
 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Asus V9280 AGP video card and Asus P4C 800 motherboard problem Online Traveller Asus Motherboards 1 June 27th 05 06:31 PM
ASUS P2L97 motherboard boot-up problem goolu General 0 December 31st 04 05:25 AM
ASUS P2L97 motherboard boot-up problem (2) goolu General 1 December 30th 04 07:00 PM
RAID 0 problem on Asus P4T533. extra array showing up? BrentM Asus Motherboards 1 November 6th 03 12:26 PM
DAW & Windows XP RAID Tips, ProTools error -9086 Giganews Asus Motherboards 0 October 24th 03 06:45 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2022 HardwareBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.