A computer components & hardware forum. HardwareBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » HardwareBanter forum » Processors » General
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

power supply for Intel Pentium 4 531



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old August 2nd 06, 10:04 PM posted to alt.comp.hardware,alt.comp.hardware.pc-homebuilt,comp.sys.ibm.pc.hardware.chips,comp.sys.ibm.pc.hardware.systems
[email protected]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 16
Default power supply for Intel Pentium 4 531

I just bought an Intel Pentium 4 531 CPU and motherboard. Been having
some trouble with it. So I'm wondering if the CPU/Motherboard is
defective or if my 350W power supply is insufficient? What is the Power
requirement for the Intel Pentium 4 processors? I can't seem to find
this information anywhere on the web.

Chieh
--
Camera Hacker - http://www.CameraHacker.com/

  #2  
Old August 2nd 06, 10:22 PM posted to alt.comp.hardware,alt.comp.hardware.pc-homebuilt,comp.sys.ibm.pc.hardware.chips,comp.sys.ibm.pc.hardware.systems
ducky
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 7
Default power supply for Intel Pentium 4 531


wrote:
I just bought an Intel Pentium 4 531 CPU and motherboard. Been having
some trouble with it. So I'm wondering if the CPU/Motherboard is
defective or if my 350W power supply is insufficient? What is the Power
requirement for the Intel Pentium 4 processors? I can't seem to find
this information anywhere on the web.

Chieh
--
Camera Hacker -
http://www.CameraHacker.com/

if you are running out of wattage it isn't because of your chip. 350
isn't that much though so tell us:

how many fans do you have?
how man hard drives are you using?
how many optical drives are you using?
are you using a PCIE video card that requires powering?
how many disk drives are you using (floppy)?

can you provide more detail on the nature of the 'trouble' you have
been experiencing?

AR

  #3  
Old August 2nd 06, 10:26 PM posted to alt.comp.hardware,alt.comp.hardware.pc-homebuilt,comp.sys.ibm.pc.hardware.chips,comp.sys.ibm.pc.hardware.systems
[email protected]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 16
Default power supply for Intel Pentium 4 531

if you are running out of wattage it isn't because of your chip. 350
isn't that much though so tell us:

how many fans do you have?


1 on the CPU
1 on the case
1 in the power supply

how man hard drives are you using?


1 IDE

how many optical drives are you using?


1 CD-ROM
1 DVD+-R

are you using a PCIE video card that requires powering?


ATi Radeon Xpress 200 built-in to the motherboard

how many disk drives are you using (floppy)?


zero.

can you provide more detail on the nature of the 'trouble' you have
been experiencing?


Well, the computer will boot up fine I'd install my Windows XP on it.
Then I turn it off. Couple of hours later, I come back to turn it on
and there would be no BIOS screen. The computer seems to reset it self.
Or if it boots the hard drive, it would show different error messages,
such as corrupted installation. Last night it hung during Windows
install. Seem to be a variety of problems.

Chieh
--
Camera Hacker - http://www.CameraHacker.com/

  #4  
Old August 2nd 06, 11:26 PM posted to alt.comp.hardware,alt.comp.hardware.pc-homebuilt,comp.sys.ibm.pc.hardware.chips,comp.sys.ibm.pc.hardware.systems
[email protected]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 1,418
Default power supply for Intel Pentium 4 531


wrote:
I just bought an Intel Pentium 4 531 CPU and motherboard. Been having
some trouble with it. So I'm wondering if the CPU/Motherboard is
defective or if my 350W power supply is insufficient? What is the Power
requirement for the Intel Pentium 4 processors? I can't seem to find
this information anywhere on the web.

Chieh
--
Camera Hacker -
http://www.CameraHacker.com/

Are you using a PSU from a previous generation of computer? If so, you
may not have all the proper connections, there's often a 4 prong plug
on the motherboard.

  #6  
Old August 3rd 06, 02:14 AM posted to alt.comp.hardware,alt.comp.hardware.pc-homebuilt,comp.sys.ibm.pc.hardware.chips,comp.sys.ibm.pc.hardware.systems
larry moe 'n curly
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 812
Default power supply for Intel Pentium 4 531


wrote:

1 IDE
1 CD-ROM
1 DVD+-R
ATi Radeon Xpress 200 built-in to the motherboard


Well, the computer will boot up fine I'd install my Windows XP on it.
Then I turn it off. Couple of hours later, I come back to turn it on
and there would be no BIOS screen. The computer seems to reset it self.
Or if it boots the hard drive, it would show different error messages,
such as corrupted installation. Last night it hung during Windows
install. Seem to be a variety of problems.


I would try running the computer with the side panel removed to cool it
down more, and then if it doesn't crash, the problem likely is the PSU.
I think a system like that will run fine from any good 250W PSU, maybe
even a 200W. How many watts can your 350W PSU put out? IOW, what
brand is it? Better yet, what's its UL certifcation number (Exxxxxx)
or CSA number (probably starts with "L")? If you have a digital
multimeter (even a $10 one with at last 3 1/2 digit display is fine),
measure the voltages. Voltage readings taken from the BIOS or a
software utility can't be trusted unless first verified with a meter.

  #8  
Old August 3rd 06, 04:12 AM posted to alt.comp.hardware,alt.comp.hardware.pc-homebuilt,comp.sys.ibm.pc.hardware.chips,comp.sys.ibm.pc.hardware.systems
Hackworth
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 26
Default power supply for Intel Pentium 4 531


wrote in message
oups.com...
snip

Well, the computer will boot up fine I'd install my Windows XP on it.
Then I turn it off. Couple of hours later, I come back to turn it on
and there would be no BIOS screen. The computer seems to reset it self.
Or if it boots the hard drive, it would show different error messages,
such as corrupted installation. Last night it hung during Windows
install. Seem to be a variety of problems.


That sure sounds like a crappy power supply to me. At least that would be my
first guess.



  #10  
Old August 4th 06, 03:58 AM posted to alt.comp.hardware,alt.comp.hardware.pc-homebuilt,comp.sys.ibm.pc.hardware.chips,comp.sys.ibm.pc.hardware.systems
[email protected]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 16
Default power supply for Intel Pentium 4 531

even a 200W. How many watts can your 350W PSU put out?

At first I was confused by this question. I thought a 350W power supply
can put out 350 watts. So I read the labey on the power supply and
there is one line that says:

+5V, +3.3V combined max. output: 130W

Is this significant?

IOW, what brand is it?


It's a Antec SP-350. It's brand new, never been used before.

Better yet, what's its UL certifcation number (Exxxxxx)


E161451
What does it mean?

or CSA number (probably starts with "L")? If you have a digital


I don't see a CSA number.

Chieh
--
Camera Hacker - http://www.CameraHacker.com/

 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
eMachine power supply issue Ben Myers Gateway Computers 0 February 4th 06 02:28 AM
power supply damaged even with ups ??????????? Vanguard General 1 January 1st 06 02:09 AM
System Failure - CPU Task JRS Asus Motherboards 13 November 9th 05 07:28 PM
Power supply, but no power??? U. Cortez General Hardware 27 September 2nd 05 12:31 AM
PSU Fans Muttly General 16 February 13th 04 10:42 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004-2022 HardwareBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.