A computer components & hardware forum. HardwareBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » HardwareBanter forum » General Hardware & Peripherals » General
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

Need upgrade info on older Gateway mobo



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old August 29th 04, 06:09 PM
John Barrington
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Need upgrade info on older Gateway mobo

I have an older mobo laying around from a Gateway unit that I want to build
strictly for the family to surf with.

The mobo is a Gateway part #4000407 w/ currently a Pentium II 500mhz
installed. I know the maximum memory that it can use, but I don't know the
maximum CPU, and the only thing that I would be interested in is increasing
the CPU if it's possible.

So, what is the maximum CPU allowed?

Here's some additional information about the mobo that might help someone
help me:
http://support.gateway.com/s/MOTHERB...m00407nv.shtml


  #2  
Old August 29th 04, 06:25 PM
Pen
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Looks like the configure mode should tell you.
http://support.gateway.com/s/MOTHERB...m0006126.shtml
http://support.gateway.com/s/MOTHERB...m0006106.shtml
http://support.gateway.com/s/MOTHERB...m00407tc.shtml

"John Barrington" jbarrington at comcast dot net wrote in message
...
I have an older mobo laying around from a Gateway unit that I want to
build
strictly for the family to surf with.

The mobo is a Gateway part #4000407 w/ currently a Pentium II 500mhz
installed. I know the maximum memory that it can use, but I don't know
the
maximum CPU, and the only thing that I would be interested in is
increasing
the CPU if it's possible.

So, what is the maximum CPU allowed?

Here's some additional information about the mobo that might help
someone
help me:
http://support.gateway.com/s/MOTHERB...m00407nv.shtml



  #3  
Old August 29th 04, 07:15 PM
Mike Walsh
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default


500 Mhz is fast enough for surfing, even with a broadband connection. The amount of memory you need depends on your OS. You will need 256 MB with WinXP.

John Barrington wrote:

I have an older mobo laying around from a Gateway unit that I want to build
strictly for the family to surf with.

The mobo is a Gateway part #4000407 w/ currently a Pentium II 500mhz
installed. I know the maximum memory that it can use, but I don't know the
maximum CPU, and the only thing that I would be interested in is increasing
the CPU if it's possible.

So, what is the maximum CPU allowed?

Here's some additional information about the mobo that might help someone
help me:
http://support.gateway.com/s/MOTHERB...m00407nv.shtml


--

When replying by Email include NewSGrouP (case sensitive) in Subject

Mike Walsh
West Palm Beach, Florida, U.S.A.
  #4  
Old August 29th 04, 07:52 PM
kony
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

On Sun, 29 Aug 2004 13:09:47 -0400, "John Barrington"
jbarrington at comcast dot net wrote:

I have an older mobo laying around from a Gateway unit that I want to build
strictly for the family to surf with.

The mobo is a Gateway part #4000407 w/ currently a Pentium II 500mhz
installed. I know the maximum memory that it can use, but I don't know the
maximum CPU, and the only thing that I would be interested in is increasing
the CPU if it's possible.

So, what is the maximum CPU allowed?

Here's some additional information about the mobo that might help someone
help me:
http://support.gateway.com/s/MOTHERB...m00407nv.shtml


Generally speaking, an Intel OEM BX chipset board like that could
run up to 1.1GHz Celeron or 1GHz P3 (100MHz FSB models ONLY) with
a slotket adapter (in other words, these are socket 370 CPUs
needing the adapter for at least conversion to slot 1 interface).

Some also wouldn't support less than 1.8V, though I don't know if
it applies to your specific board. If so, a slotket with manual
voltage jumpers on it (fairly common feature) might be needed,
set to that 1.8V minimum value suppported. Note that CPU default
voltage will be less than this, somewhere inbetween 1.5-1.75V,
but back in that day many people did this type of upgrade and
1.8V is historically seen as still low enough to be "safe" and
promote acceptible lifespan (chips still run today) and not so
high as to create cooling problems with any *normal*, reasonable
quality small heatsink.

The other issues would be if your board unnecessarily halts
system when it can't make a proper CPU ID. IIRC, Intel's last
couple retail board bios did this, but your current bios for this
Gateway OEM board is "probably" not going to do this, odds are
high it'd work fine but even so it would be better to buy CPU
from someplace with a good return policy.

Also keep in mind that you might find an old socket 370
motherboard that can support same CPUs for little more than the
cost of the slotket, or for a little more $, a motherboard
supporting Tualatin Celerons might allow faster CPU while
allowing reuse of your memory (and "probably" power supply too,
depending on how many other power hungry parts are in the system,
in general a 200W PSU is sufficient for a Tualatin CPU in a basic
system config.).

So far as slotted CPUs go, the board might run up to PIII-600, or
higher speed P3 (still only those with 100MHz FSB) in the
coppermines up to same 1GHz, but with these slotted SECC2 CPUs
the board must support voltage lower than 1.8V already, else some
kind of circuit modification will be needed to force board to use
1.8V. You might check any available documentation to see if the
board supports lower than 1.8V, typically the voltage lower limit
would be 1.8V, 1.5V, or rarely 1.3V (IIRC).
  #5  
Old August 30th 04, 03:52 PM
:J:W:B:
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default


"Mike Walsh" wrote in message
...

500 Mhz is fast enough for surfing, even with a broadband connection. The

amount of memory you need depends on your OS. You will need 256 MB with
WinXP.

You're right, but I was interested into finding out the maximum CPU this
board could take within reason and without modifying anything (like over
clocking). I was going to keep the upgrading to this baord at a minimum
other than what I might have on hand. I'll buy a few things like a USB 2
port for it, but if I could find a faster but cheap CPU on eBay, I might go
ahead and spring for it.


  #6  
Old August 30th 04, 04:48 PM
:J:W:B:
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Thanks for the info, kony.

I'm a little slow here, but I think that you are saying that the fastest
*normal* CPU this board will handle will be a 600?


  #7  
Old August 30th 04, 06:48 PM
kony
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

On Mon, 30 Aug 2004 11:48:51 -0400, ":J:W:B:" jbarrington @@
comcast..net wrote:

Thanks for the info, kony.

I'm a little slow here, but I think that you are saying that the fastest
*normal* CPU this board will handle will be a 600?


Yes, the older "Katmai" P3 600 in the 100MHz FSB version (or
maybe all of them were 100MHz FSB, I don't remember), not the
Coppermine P3 600 which also came in a SECC2, slot 1 form, IIRC.

I have one of those around here somewhere, if you want it for $12
incl S/H, let me know, but it isn't much of an upgrade from the
500MHz CPU you already have. The coppermines (when used on a
slotket) are a better upgrade option, IMHO.
 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Please help with upgrade info James General 3 August 6th 04 09:21 PM
Upgrade old PPGA MoBo w/ Lin-Lin 370 to FC-PGA or ... ? pgtr General 3 June 27th 04 03:29 AM
Video card upgrade info Daniel Conroy General 2 April 21st 04 01:16 AM
Older Socket A mobo?? TANKIE General 1 April 7th 04 03:03 AM
Good AMD upgrade mobo? grendel General 7 July 17th 03 09:20 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2022 HardwareBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.