A computer components & hardware forum. HardwareBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » HardwareBanter forum » Processors » Overclocking AMD Processors
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

Overclocking XP2600



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old August 14th 04, 11:12 AM
Humja
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default


"BigBadger" wrote in message
...
Yes, there is something 'special' about 200MHz. The KT600 chip-set used on
the board in question does not have locked AGP and PCI busses, therefore

the
only way to keep the PCI and AGP in spec is to run at the 'official' FSB

bus
speeds i.e. 100, 133, 166 or 200MHz. However, a +/- 10% variation around

the
specified speed, with any luck, is unlikely to cause too many problems.

A good XP2600+ Barton will do 200MHz no problem. My old one did 220MHz on
air cooling.


You are damn right! You sure do know something

I set my FSB to 200MHz...surprisingly it booted up no problem but I need to
change the multiplier down to 11 from 11.5 just to ease it up a bit. Mobo
recognised it as 3200+ now. But unfortunately it cannot boot up windows (it
would go blank and reset the system) because the CPU goes up to the 60Cs :/
Just need to get better cooling.

Any suggestions?

80mm or 60mm fan? Would air cooling with a good heatsink help?

Thanks


  #2  
Old August 14th 04, 11:23 AM
treker
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Overclocking XP2600

can anyone help out --- i have XP2600 barton core - i would like to
overclock

MOBO is gigibyte GA7-vt600-l

how do i overclock this processor ?

any help would be appreciated


---
Outgoing mail is certified Virus Free.
Checked by AVG anti-virus system (http://www.grisoft.com).
Version: 6.0.737 / Virus Database: 491 - Release Date: 11/08/2004


  #3  
Old August 14th 04, 12:03 PM
Humja
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default


"BigBadger" wrote in message
...
Set the FSB to 200MHz... increase the Vcore to 1.75V... play about with

the
Vcore to find the minimum you need for stability, test stability with
Prime95. Keep an eye on core temp, about 60C is the max under load you
should be seeing.
You will need DDR400 (PC3200) memory to run 200MHz FSB with synchronised
memory clock.


Isn't jumping to 200MHz a bit too big?

Is there something special about 200MHz? Can it be 199MHz?


  #4  
Old August 14th 04, 12:03 PM
BigBadger
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Set the FSB to 200MHz... increase the Vcore to 1.75V... play about with the
Vcore to find the minimum you need for stability, test stability with
Prime95. Keep an eye on core temp, about 60C is the max under load you
should be seeing.
You will need DDR400 (PC3200) memory to run 200MHz FSB with synchronised
memory clock.

--
*****Replace 'NOSPAM' with 'btinternet' in the reply address*****
"treker" wrote in message
...
can anyone help out --- i have XP2600 barton core - i would like to
overclock

MOBO is gigibyte GA7-vt600-l

how do i overclock this processor ?

any help would be appreciated


---
Outgoing mail is certified Virus Free.
Checked by AVG anti-virus system (http://www.grisoft.com).
Version: 6.0.737 / Virus Database: 491 - Release Date: 11/08/2004




  #5  
Old August 14th 04, 03:02 PM
BigBadger
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Yes, there is something 'special' about 200MHz. The KT600 chip-set used on
the board in question does not have locked AGP and PCI busses, therefore the
only way to keep the PCI and AGP in spec is to run at the 'official' FSB bus
speeds i.e. 100, 133, 166 or 200MHz. However, a +/- 10% variation around the
specified speed, with any luck, is unlikely to cause too many problems.

A good XP2600+ Barton will do 200MHz no problem. My old one did 220MHz on
air cooling.
--
*****Replace 'NOSPAM' with 'btinternet' in the reply address*****
"Humja" wrote in message
...

"BigBadger" wrote in message
...
Set the FSB to 200MHz... increase the Vcore to 1.75V... play about with

the
Vcore to find the minimum you need for stability, test stability with
Prime95. Keep an eye on core temp, about 60C is the max under load you
should be seeing.
You will need DDR400 (PC3200) memory to run 200MHz FSB with synchronised
memory clock.


Isn't jumping to 200MHz a bit too big?

Is there something special about 200MHz? Can it be 199MHz?




 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMD overclocking and semperon 3100s [email protected] General 0 November 24th 04 12:02 PM
6800 Ultra overclocking - XFX? PNY? eVGA? BFG? Marc Brown General 2 September 29th 04 04:50 PM
ABIT AI7 - Pentium®4 - 2.6GHz - Overclocking advice :) Wayne Youngman Overclocking 23 April 19th 04 12:02 PM
Opinion needed on new AMD system and overclocking ability Bill Overclocking AMD Processors 11 November 21st 03 06:15 PM
OverClocking Guides Phil Weldon Overclocking 0 August 15th 03 05:41 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004-2022 HardwareBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.