A computer components & hardware forum. HardwareBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » HardwareBanter forum » General Hardware & Peripherals » Homebuilt PC's
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

dual channel ram



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old September 3rd 03, 05:02 PM
philip.chadwick1
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default dual channel ram

hi all
can anyone shed any light on which dual channel ddr kit to use on a msi
865PE-NEO2-F1S2R i865 p4 motherboard/with P4 800fb CPU?
I've looked at all the websites I can find including MSI's and various
manufacturers (kingston/geil/corsair) but have not found the exact info I
require - though I do have a bad headache!
all I want is a list of 3 or 4 kits to compare prices on
thnx phil


  #2  
Old September 3rd 03, 05:26 PM
Joseph
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

htth://www.msi.com.tw/html/support/testreport/6728/memory.pdf



"philip.chadwick1" wrote in message
...
hi all
can anyone shed any light on which dual channel ddr kit to use on a msi
865PE-NEO2-F1S2R i865 p4 motherboard/with P4 800fb CPU?
I've looked at all the websites I can find including MSI's and various
manufacturers (kingston/geil/corsair) but have not found the exact info I
require - though I do have a bad headache!
all I want is a list of 3 or 4 kits to compare prices on
thnx phil




  #4  
Old September 3rd 03, 07:52 PM
Richard Dower
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default


"philip.chadwick1" wrote in message
...
hi all
can anyone shed any light on which dual channel ddr kit to use on a msi
865PE-NEO2-F1S2R i865 p4 motherboard/with P4 800fb CPU?
I've looked at all the websites I can find including MSI's and various
manufacturers (kingston/geil/corsair) but have not found the exact info I
require - though I do have a bad headache!
all I want is a list of 3 or 4 kits to compare prices on
thnx phil



Corsair memory is the best, DDR500 baby!


  #5  
Old September 3rd 03, 10:45 PM
philip.chadwick1
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

mmmmmmmmmm??
thnx so far
1) I got as far as the testreport - that was one of the things that gave me
a headache! don't these ppl speak english?
2) tried the link - got no html?
3) was looking at corsair but saw a report saying there were conflict
problems with dual channel!
is there a site out there that just tells you what to get?
I must confess this is giving me more problems than picking the rest of the
system so far
oh well I'll take some panadol and look at those test reports again - now
where did I leave the bottle?
bi phil
"Richard Dower" wrote in message
...

"philip.chadwick1" wrote in message
...
hi all
can anyone shed any light on which dual channel ddr kit to use on a msi
865PE-NEO2-F1S2R i865 p4 motherboard/with P4 800fb CPU?
I've looked at all the websites I can find including MSI's and various
manufacturers (kingston/geil/corsair) but have not found the exact info

I
require - though I do have a bad headache!
all I want is a list of 3 or 4 kits to compare prices on
thnx phil



Corsair memory is the best, DDR500 baby!




  #6  
Old September 4th 03, 09:35 AM
Jim Stevenson
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

In article ,
says...
mmmmmmmmmm??
thnx so far
1) I got as far as the testreport - that was one of the things that gave me
a headache! don't these ppl speak english?
2) tried the link - got no html?
3) was looking at corsair but saw a report saying there were conflict
problems with dual channel!
is there a site out there that just tells you what to get?
I must confess this is giving me more problems than picking the rest of the
system so far
oh well I'll take some panadol and look at those test reports again - now
where did I leave the bottle?
bi phil
"Richard Dower" wrote in message
...

"philip.chadwick1" wrote in message
...
hi all
can anyone shed any light on which dual channel ddr kit to use on a msi
865PE-NEO2-F1S2R i865 p4 motherboard/with P4 800fb CPU?
I've looked at all the websites I can find including MSI's and various
manufacturers (kingston/geil/corsair) but have not found the exact info

I
require - though I do have a bad headache!
all I want is a list of 3 or 4 kits to compare prices on
thnx phil



Corsair memory is the best, DDR500 baby!





OK, the bottom line is you can use PC2100, PC2700 or PC3200 modules
either 256Mb or 512Mb. It appears all the major manufacturers memory is
supported. The most recommended ones tend to be:

Corsair
TwinMOS
Samsung
Crucial

Obviously there are others.
Another interesting thing I came across was in most cases 1 module is ok
but when installing 2 modules it is preferable to install them in
alternate slots ie 1 & 3 or 2 & 4. I don't know the logic behind this
but I have come across problems on my own MSI mobo when installing
memory in slots 1 & 2.

HTH

Jim
--
------------------------
[email protected] team - SetiUK
The Official UK Team
------------------------
  #7  
Old September 4th 03, 12:06 PM
Strontium
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default


-
Jim Stevenson stood up at show-n-tell, in
, and said:

snip

OK, the bottom line is you can use PC2100, PC2700 or PC3200 modules
either 256Mb or 512Mb. It appears all the major manufacturers memory
is supported. The most recommended ones tend to be:

Corsair
TwinMOS
Samsung
Crucial

Obviously there are others.
Another interesting thing I came across was in most cases 1 module is
ok
but when installing 2 modules it is preferable to install them in
alternate slots ie 1 & 3 or 2 & 4. I don't know the logic behind this
but I have come across problems on my own MSI mobo when installing
memory in slots 1 & 2.


What you are referring to are actually Bank A, slot 0...Bank A, slot 1 and
Bank B, slot 0...Bank B, slot 1. For dual channel operation, you populate
either Bank A0 and Bank B0 or Bank A1 and Bank B1, with identical DIMMS
(each bank consists of two channels, ie slots, 0 and 1). If you populate
Bank A0 and Bank A1, with identical DIMMS, your memory is in single channel
mode. However, it's still running at it's stated speed. I've been
wondering about the difference, performance-wise, between the two modes.
And, have not seen any difference personally. I would imagine it would have
something to do with multitasking applications. But, I've yet to read any
articles. Might do that, later today.



HTH

Jim


--
Strontium

"It's no surprise, to me. I am my own worst enemy. `Cause every
now, and then, I kick the livin' **** `outta me." - Lit


  #8  
Old September 4th 03, 01:06 PM
Larc
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

On Thu, 4 Sep 2003 06:06:40 -0500, Strontium pondered exceedingly, then took
quill in hand and carefully composed...

| What you are referring to are actually Bank A, slot 0...Bank A, slot 1 and
| Bank B, slot 0...Bank B, slot 1. For dual channel operation, you populate
| either Bank A0 and Bank B0 or Bank A1 and Bank B1, with identical DIMMS
| (each bank consists of two channels, ie slots, 0 and 1). If you populate
| Bank A0 and Bank A1, with identical DIMMS, your memory is in single channel
| mode. However, it's still running at it's stated speed. I've been
| wondering about the difference, performance-wise, between the two modes.
| And, have not seen any difference personally. I would imagine it would have
| something to do with multitasking applications. But, I've yet to read any
| articles. Might do that, later today.

I've not had much luck finding anything that completely explains the differences
between using 1GB of RAM in one channel vs 512MB in each channel. Which is
better and why? I can't help thinking you'd need to double your RAM to get the
full benefit of hyperthreading.

When you learn the answer, please come back and educate us!

Larc



- Please raise temperature of mail to reply by e-mail -
  #9  
Old September 4th 03, 01:38 PM
Strontium
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

-
Larc stood up at show-n-tell, in ,
and said:

On Thu, 4 Sep 2003 06:06:40 -0500, Strontium pondered exceedingly,
then took quill in hand and carefully composed...

What you are referring to are actually Bank A, slot 0...Bank A,
slot 1 and Bank B, slot 0...Bank B, slot 1. For dual channel
operation, you populate either Bank A0 and Bank B0 or Bank A1 and
Bank B1, with identical DIMMS (each bank consists of two channels,
ie slots, 0 and 1). If you populate Bank A0 and Bank A1, with
identical DIMMS, your memory is in single channel mode. However,
it's still running at it's stated speed. I've been wondering about
the difference, performance-wise, between the two modes. And, have
not seen any difference personally. I would imagine it would have
something to do with multitasking applications. But, I've yet to
read any articles. Might do that, later today.


I've not had much luck finding anything that completely explains the
differences between using 1GB of RAM in one channel vs 512MB in each
channel. Which is better and why? I can't help thinking you'd need
to double your RAM to get the full benefit of hyperthreading.

When you learn the answer, please come back and educate us!


From what I have gleened, I'm thinking the whole 'dual mode' vs. 'single
mode' is a lot like AGP 4X vs AGP 8X. It's a bandwidth issue. While the
speed of the memory does not change, the transfer rate between the CPU and
the memory increases going to dual channel mode. I could be wrong. But, I
think that's the gist of it. I've been googling, around, and have not
really found anything either on it but hype.

I started out with 512MB DDR400, running in dual mode on my new
board/processor. For gaming reasons (very memory hungry games), I upped to
1GB. However, I did the initial 512 with 2x256. So, I was torn.... Do I
spend another $200+???? (as money is a bit tight, atm). Or, do I buy 2x256
more at $100 and suffer any degredation in performance (by populating all 4
channels). Instead, I decided on this: Got 1x512, stuck it in first
channel, first bank (first physical memory that is used by winblows). As
soon as I do some other things (9800pro, 21'' Samsung hehe) I can just get
another 1x512 and then have 1.5GB running in dual mode. Right now, all is
running in single, as apparently you can't mix modes (can't have the 1x512
running in single mode, whilst the 2x256 are in dual..it all defaults to
single channel).

But, as I said, I cannot see any difference between the two modes. And, I
have some pretty memory hungry games (postal2, SWG, etc...). I tried both
single and dual, with the 2x256. I could not discern any difference. Maybe
they aren't demanding enough (the games)? I don't know. But, I do know
that going up to a Gig took care of the major lag I had in the system after
exiting such memory hungry games. I had, even, tweaked around with the
pagefile to force winblows to use physical memory before taking the plunge
to a Gig of memory...no joy. Seems the sheer increase in physical memory
did the trick.

Now, back onto the topic I think this is a bit like the 4x vs 8x
thing... I doubt there is anything (that us endusers use) that would even
max out the bandwidth of single channel mode (much like AGP 4x).... that's
my current thinking, anyway. Subject to change.




Larc



- Please raise temperature of mail to reply by e-mail -


--
Strontium

"It's no surprise, to me. I am my own worst enemy. `Cause every
now, and then, I kick the livin' **** `outta me." - Lit


  #10  
Old September 5th 03, 10:06 AM
philip.chadwick1
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

hi
seems I started something here and also (encouragingly) seems noone really
understands this - whatever website you look at comes up with something
slightly different and I have yet to have any response from
msi/corsair/geil/kingston
for what it's worth - it seems to be (as strontium says) an increase in
bandwidth as you can only use ddr400 with a fsb of 800 mhz and the advantage
of the various twin packs is they are packed as identical - ohhhhhhh my head
hurts!!
enough already - I think I'll just take a pin and stick it in
thnx phil

"Strontium" wrote in message
...
-
Larc stood up at show-n-tell, in

,
and said:

On Thu, 4 Sep 2003 06:06:40 -0500, Strontium pondered exceedingly,
then took quill in hand and carefully composed...

What you are referring to are actually Bank A, slot 0...Bank A,
slot 1 and Bank B, slot 0...Bank B, slot 1. For dual channel
operation, you populate either Bank A0 and Bank B0 or Bank A1 and
Bank B1, with identical DIMMS (each bank consists of two channels,
ie slots, 0 and 1). If you populate Bank A0 and Bank A1, with
identical DIMMS, your memory is in single channel mode. However,
it's still running at it's stated speed. I've been wondering about
the difference, performance-wise, between the two modes. And, have
not seen any difference personally. I would imagine it would have
something to do with multitasking applications. But, I've yet to
read any articles. Might do that, later today.


I've not had much luck finding anything that completely explains the
differences between using 1GB of RAM in one channel vs 512MB in each
channel. Which is better and why? I can't help thinking you'd need
to double your RAM to get the full benefit of hyperthreading.

When you learn the answer, please come back and educate us!


From what I have gleened, I'm thinking the whole 'dual mode' vs. 'single
mode' is a lot like AGP 4X vs AGP 8X. It's a bandwidth issue. While the
speed of the memory does not change, the transfer rate between the CPU and
the memory increases going to dual channel mode. I could be wrong. But,

I
think that's the gist of it. I've been googling, around, and have not
really found anything either on it but hype.

I started out with 512MB DDR400, running in dual mode on my new
board/processor. For gaming reasons (very memory hungry games), I upped

to
1GB. However, I did the initial 512 with 2x256. So, I was torn.... Do I
spend another $200+???? (as money is a bit tight, atm). Or, do I buy

2x256
more at $100 and suffer any degredation in performance (by populating all

4
channels). Instead, I decided on this: Got 1x512, stuck it in first
channel, first bank (first physical memory that is used by winblows). As
soon as I do some other things (9800pro, 21'' Samsung hehe) I can just get
another 1x512 and then have 1.5GB running in dual mode. Right now, all is
running in single, as apparently you can't mix modes (can't have the 1x512
running in single mode, whilst the 2x256 are in dual..it all defaults to
single channel).

But, as I said, I cannot see any difference between the two modes. And, I
have some pretty memory hungry games (postal2, SWG, etc...). I tried both
single and dual, with the 2x256. I could not discern any difference.

Maybe
they aren't demanding enough (the games)? I don't know. But, I do know
that going up to a Gig took care of the major lag I had in the system

after
exiting such memory hungry games. I had, even, tweaked around with the
pagefile to force winblows to use physical memory before taking the plunge
to a Gig of memory...no joy. Seems the sheer increase in physical memory
did the trick.

Now, back onto the topic I think this is a bit like the 4x vs 8x
thing... I doubt there is anything (that us endusers use) that would even
max out the bandwidth of single channel mode (much like AGP 4x)....

that's
my current thinking, anyway. Subject to change.




Larc



- Please raise temperature of mail to reply by e-mail -


--
Strontium

"It's no surprise, to me. I am my own worst enemy. `Cause every
now, and then, I kick the livin' **** `outta me." - Lit




 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
dual channel memory Buddy Mills AMD x86-64 Processors 2 November 6th 04 02:37 AM
Sisoft Sandra - does it indicate if ram is running in dual channel mode Paul Overclocking 6 September 30th 04 07:53 PM
MSI Master2-FAR and Dual 244's dual memory channel questions?!!? Douglas Crane AMD x86-64 Processors 0 August 27th 04 06:40 AM
Dual channel question Augustus Overclocking 2 July 2nd 04 09:03 AM
Dual Channel DDR Joseph Sullivan Overclocking AMD Processors 2 January 2nd 04 01:20 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2022 HardwareBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.