A computer components & hardware forum. HardwareBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » HardwareBanter forum » Video Cards » Ati Videocards
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

9800 NON-Pro what does it says in Device Manager?



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old September 15th 03, 09:16 AM
meshJ
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default 9800 NON-Pro what does it says in Device Manager?

It's a known driver 'issue' but not really incorrect (can't remember a link,
but it's on Radeon forums everywhere), a non-pro is hardware identical
except for clock speeds and the rating of the RAM. Your default clock speed
is the way to tell if it's a non-pro.

BTW, what do you think of the card? I'll be getting a 9800 non-pro shortly.

meshJ


"J" wrote in message
...
I have a machine with a 9800 Non-Pro. In the device manager it read: "9800
series".
After i upgraded to WinXPPro and Catalyst 3.7 drivers it now says: "9800
Pro"?
The speed is set to 325/294,25 = Non-Pro, but I have no problem what so

ever
running the card at 378/340 via Rage3D Tweak?


Question to you 9800 Non-Pro owners:
Can someone with a 9800 Non-Pro card please answer what your device

manager
reads?!

/ J




  #2  
Old September 15th 03, 12:58 PM
Mike B
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

BTW, what do you think of the card? I'll be getting a 9800 non-pro
shortly.

Let me put it this way: I was accused of cheating on my regular TFC server
right after I got the card
The 9800 is actually too powerful for Half-Life, I had to turn all the
settings down.

-M

--
http://www.joinarnold.com
http://www.saveourlicense.com



"meshJ" wrote in message
...
It's a known driver 'issue' but not really incorrect (can't remember a

link,
but it's on Radeon forums everywhere), a non-pro is hardware identical
except for clock speeds and the rating of the RAM. Your default clock

speed
is the way to tell if it's a non-pro.

BTW, what do you think of the card? I'll be getting a 9800 non-pro

shortly.

meshJ


"J" wrote in message
...
I have a machine with a 9800 Non-Pro. In the device manager it read:

"9800
series".
After i upgraded to WinXPPro and Catalyst 3.7 drivers it now says: "9800
Pro"?
The speed is set to 325/294,25 = Non-Pro, but I have no problem what so

ever
running the card at 378/340 via Rage3D Tweak?


Question to you 9800 Non-Pro owners:
Can someone with a 9800 Non-Pro card please answer what your device

manager
reads?!

/ J






  #3  
Old September 15th 03, 01:43 PM
meshJ
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Should be a nice change from my *ahem* geforce2 32MB.

Got me thinking about old games which I play quite a bit, what sort of probs
are you seeing and is it the card clock speed settings you turn down?

OT I know but I'll start a new thread now.

meshJ

"Mike B" wrote in message
. ..
BTW, what do you think of the card? I'll be getting a 9800 non-pro

shortly.

Let me put it this way: I was accused of cheating on my regular TFC server
right after I got the card
The 9800 is actually too powerful for Half-Life, I had to turn all the
settings down.

-M

--
http://www.joinarnold.com
http://www.saveourlicense.com



"meshJ" wrote in message
...
It's a known driver 'issue' but not really incorrect (can't remember a

link,
but it's on Radeon forums everywhere), a non-pro is hardware identical
except for clock speeds and the rating of the RAM. Your default clock

speed
is the way to tell if it's a non-pro.

BTW, what do you think of the card? I'll be getting a 9800 non-pro

shortly.

meshJ


"J" wrote in message
...
I have a machine with a 9800 Non-Pro. In the device manager it read:

"9800
series".
After i upgraded to WinXPPro and Catalyst 3.7 drivers it now says:

"9800
Pro"?
The speed is set to 325/294,25 = Non-Pro, but I have no problem what

so
ever
running the card at 378/340 via Rage3D Tweak?


Question to you 9800 Non-Pro owners:
Can someone with a 9800 Non-Pro card please answer what your device

manager
reads?!

/ J








  #4  
Old September 15th 03, 02:09 PM
John Hall
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

My 9800 non pro was shown in the device manager as a 9800 series card until
I flashed the bios with the pro bios. After that, XP detected the card as a
pro card and it is now in the device manager as a 9800 Pro.

JK

"Wayne Youngman" wrote in message
...
"J" wrote
Question to you 9800 Non-Pro owners:
Can someone with a 9800 Non-Pro card please answer what your device

manager
reads?!



Hi,

mine says Radeon 9800, thats using Cat 3.7 on a fresh WinXP SP1 install. .

Wayne ][




  #5  
Old September 15th 03, 03:16 PM
Bratboy
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

LOL do what ther rest of us have hehe. Over in the Rage3d forum "Tweakers
Tweaking & Overclocking " (think thats right) there is a thread over 20
pages long on how if you have Samsung memory 3.3 on the card to simply flash
it with the pro bios there is a link to and Viola you have a pro running at
pro speeds. If its go infinion(read inferior) memory then you wont be as
happy with the flash. Also if your card uses 2.8 mem instead of 3.3 most
have said better just to OC and not flash those. Read this thread and decide
for self, heres a linkto it hopefully wordwrap wount break it but if does
just cut n paste it all into browser window:

http://www.rage3d.com/board/showthre...0&pagenumber=1

If you do it I HIGHLY recommend backingup the old bios first , that info is
also in the thread

Cheers
Just Jess (one very happy Nvidia-ATI convert)



"meshJ" wrote in message
...
It's a known driver 'issue' but not really incorrect (can't remember a

link,
but it's on Radeon forums everywhere), a non-pro is hardware identical
except for clock speeds and the rating of the RAM. Your default clock

speed
is the way to tell if it's a non-pro.

BTW, what do you think of the card? I'll be getting a 9800 non-pro

shortly.

meshJ


"J" wrote in message
...
I have a machine with a 9800 Non-Pro. In the device manager it read:

"9800
series".
After i upgraded to WinXPPro and Catalyst 3.7 drivers it now says: "9800
Pro"?
The speed is set to 325/294,25 = Non-Pro, but I have no problem what so

ever
running the card at 378/340 via Rage3D Tweak?


Question to you 9800 Non-Pro owners:
Can someone with a 9800 Non-Pro card please answer what your device

manager
reads?!

/ J






 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
pc problems after g card upgrade + sp2 ben reed Homebuilt PC's 9 November 30th 04 01:04 AM
Asus A7N8X-X and AMD Athlon XP 3200+ Information Scavenger Asus Motherboards 30 November 9th 04 09:30 PM
Update on Athlon 2600 Ghz discrepancy David Simmons Overclocking AMD Processors 7 August 27th 04 08:56 PM
Update on Athlon 2600 XP problem David Simmons Asus Motherboards 3 August 27th 04 03:52 AM
my new mobo o/c's great rockerrock Overclocking AMD Processors 9 June 30th 04 08:17 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2022 HardwareBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.