A computer components & hardware forum. HardwareBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » HardwareBanter forum » Video Cards » Nvidia Videocards
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

6800gt and Star Wars Galaxies



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old January 17th 05, 08:16 PM
Mark
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default 6800gt and Star Wars Galaxies

Has anyone got any experience of running swg with the 6800 gt? I ve got a
2.8 Pentium 4 and 1 gig of ram with a 1.5 mb cable connection but for the
life of me i can't get this game to go over 8fps. Ive tried lowering the in
game resolution, formatting the pc, defragraging the hard drive, lowering
the settings in the game, tried a variety of drivers and now on DNA 7124
drivers and it it still slow and sluggish.

Just wondered if others have experienced the same as i had no previous
problems with an ATI 9700 PRO?

Thanks

Mark


  #2  
Old January 18th 05, 05:33 AM
anthony
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

omg u cant get over 86fps WAAAAAAMBULANCE geez after 60 who cares lol




"Mark" wrote in message
...
Has anyone got any experience of running swg with the 6800 gt? I ve got a
2.8 Pentium 4 and 1 gig of ram with a 1.5 mb cable connection but for the
life of me i can't get this game to go over 8fps. Ive tried lowering the
in
game resolution, formatting the pc, defragraging the hard drive, lowering
the settings in the game, tried a variety of drivers and now on DNA 7124
drivers and it it still slow and sluggish.

Just wondered if others have experienced the same as i had no previous
problems with an ATI 9700 PRO?

Thanks

Mark




  #3  
Old January 18th 05, 07:28 AM
Mark
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

would have been nice Anthony if you'd actually read it. Who said anything
about 86fps!!.It said 8fps.
"anthony" wrote in message
news:%[email protected]
omg u cant get over 86fps WAAAAAAMBULANCE geez after 60 who cares lol




"Mark" wrote in message
...
Has anyone got any experience of running swg with the 6800 gt? I ve got

a
2.8 Pentium 4 and 1 gig of ram with a 1.5 mb cable connection but for

the
life of me i can't get this game to go over 8fps. Ive tried lowering the
in
game resolution, formatting the pc, defragraging the hard drive,

lowering
the settings in the game, tried a variety of drivers and now on DNA 7124
drivers and it it still slow and sluggish.

Just wondered if others have experienced the same as i had no previous
problems with an ATI 9700 PRO?

Thanks

Mark






  #4  
Old January 18th 05, 02:16 PM
anthony
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

ahhh now I see HAHHAHAHAHA thats funny LOL LOL LOL LOL LOL LOL geez my old
5600 gets 45fps lol



"Mark" wrote in message
...
would have been nice Anthony if you'd actually read it. Who said anything
about 86fps!!.It said 8fps.
"anthony" wrote in message
news:%[email protected]
omg u cant get over 86fps WAAAAAAMBULANCE geez after 60 who cares lol




"Mark" wrote in message
...
Has anyone got any experience of running swg with the 6800 gt? I ve got

a
2.8 Pentium 4 and 1 gig of ram with a 1.5 mb cable connection but for

the
life of me i can't get this game to go over 8fps. Ive tried lowering
the
in
game resolution, formatting the pc, defragraging the hard drive,

lowering
the settings in the game, tried a variety of drivers and now on DNA
7124
drivers and it it still slow and sluggish.

Just wondered if others have experienced the same as i had no previous
problems with an ATI 9700 PRO?

Thanks

Mark








  #5  
Old January 18th 05, 07:57 PM
Robmeister
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

That game is driven a lot by connection lag, your location on the
planet or in space and the graphical settings you have setup in the
game. It's also locked at 30FPS so you'll never see anything higher
than that. You might try monkeying around with your graphics settings
in SWG to smooth things out. Threre is a chance that the game poked
your settings up when you switched cards.

 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2022 HardwareBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.