A computer components & hardware forum. HardwareBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » HardwareBanter forum » General Hardware & Peripherals » Homebuilt PC's
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

PC reboots when FSB is increased !!!!



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old December 29th 04, 02:50 PM
Anthropy
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default PC reboots when FSB is increased !!!!

Hi
I recently bought a new Jetway Motherboard and an Athlon AMD 2.6.xp
The RAM is 500mb DDR 400 and is new. The power supply is 450w.
Everything is fine if I set the FSB to 133MHz (default) but when I
increase it to 166MHz the PC reboots when I run a demanding program
i.e game, video editing etc. The CPU temperature is about 50c and the
system 40c.
Am I supposed to do something in the BIOS after I've changed the
hardware FSB jumper?(the current setting is "optimum") There's nothing
in the manual about it.
Thanks for any help or ideas.

  #2  
Old December 29th 04, 06:18 PM
spodosaurus
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Anthropy wrote:
Hi
I recently bought a new Jetway Motherboard and an Athlon AMD 2.6.xp
The RAM is 500mb DDR 400 and is new. The power supply is 450w.
Everything is fine if I set the FSB to 133MHz (default) but when I
increase it to 166MHz the PC reboots when I run a demanding program
i.e game, video editing etc. The CPU temperature is about 50c and the
system 40c.
Am I supposed to do something in the BIOS after I've changed the
hardware FSB jumper?(the current setting is "optimum") There's nothing
in the manual about it.
Thanks for any help or ideas.


What's the temp of the video card GPU?

--
spammage trappage: replace fishies_ with yahoo

I'm going to die rather sooner than I'd like. I tried to protect my
neighbours from crime, and became the victim of it. To jump to the end
of the story, as a result of this I need a bone marrow transplant. Many
people around the world are waiting for a marrow transplant, too. Please
volunteer to be a marrow donor:
http://www.abmdr.org.au/
http://www.marrow.org/
  #3  
Old December 29th 04, 10:00 PM
Anthropy
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

On Thu, 30 Dec 2004 02:18:13 +0800, spodosaurus
wrote:

Anthropy wrote:
Hi
I recently bought a new Jetway Motherboard and an Athlon AMD 2.6.xp
The RAM is 500mb DDR 400 and is new. The power supply is 450w.
Everything is fine if I set the FSB to 133MHz (default) but when I
increase it to 166MHz the PC reboots when I run a demanding program
i.e game, video editing etc. The CPU temperature is about 50c and the
system 40c.
Am I supposed to do something in the BIOS after I've changed the
hardware FSB jumper?(the current setting is "optimum") There's nothing
in the manual about it.
Thanks for any help or ideas.


What's the temp of the video card GPU?


My video card is a Geforce 440. I don't know how to get a temperature
reading from it. There's nothing in the software.
My PC uses DDR 400 Ram and the video card SDRAM. Could that be the
cause of anything?
Thanks

  #4  
Old December 30th 04, 12:26 AM
Shep©
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

On Wed, 29 Dec 2004 14:50:29 GMT Not alowing their prejudice to rule
their future Anthropy wrote :

Hi
I recently bought a new Jetway Motherboard and an Athlon AMD 2.6.xp
The RAM is 500mb DDR 400 and is new. The power supply is 450w.
Everything is fine if I set the FSB to 133MHz (default) but when I
increase it to 166MHz the PC reboots when I run a demanding program
i.e game, video editing etc. The CPU temperature is about 50c and the
system 40c.
Am I supposed to do something in the BIOS after I've changed the
hardware FSB jumper?(the current setting is "optimum") There's nothing
in the manual about it.
Thanks for any help or ideas.


What's the board's full number/revision?
Also are you trying to Over clock?



--
Free Windows/PC help,
http://www.geocities.com/sheppola/trouble.html
remove obvious to reply
email
Free original songs to download and,"BURN" :O)
http://www.soundclick.com/bands/8/nomessiahsmusic.htm
  #5  
Old December 30th 04, 12:49 AM
Mac Cool
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Anthropy:

Everything is fine if I set the FSB to 133MHz (default) but when I
increase it to 166MHz the PC reboots when I run a demanding program
i.e game, video editing etc. The CPU temperature is about 50c and the
system 40c.


The system temp is high. Is that the temp at idle or at load? Try running
with the case opened and see if the temps go down and/or rebooting problem
stops. If it does, you need better ventilation.
--
Mac Cool
  #6  
Old December 30th 04, 06:18 AM
David Maynard
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Anthropy wrote:

Hi
I recently bought a new Jetway Motherboard and an Athlon AMD 2.6.xp
The RAM is 500mb DDR 400 and is new. The power supply is 450w.
Everything is fine if I set the FSB to 133MHz (default) but when I
increase it to 166MHz the PC reboots when I run a demanding program
i.e game, video editing etc. The CPU temperature is about 50c and the
system 40c.
Am I supposed to do something in the BIOS after I've changed the
hardware FSB jumper?(the current setting is "optimum") There's nothing
in the manual about it.
Thanks for any help or ideas.


Well, is it a 266 or a 333 FSB 2600+ XP?

  #7  
Old December 30th 04, 07:33 AM
spodosaurus
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Anthropy wrote:
On Thu, 30 Dec 2004 02:18:13 +0800, spodosaurus
wrote:


Anthropy wrote:

Hi
I recently bought a new Jetway Motherboard and an Athlon AMD 2.6.xp
The RAM is 500mb DDR 400 and is new. The power supply is 450w.
Everything is fine if I set the FSB to 133MHz (default) but when I
increase it to 166MHz the PC reboots when I run a demanding program
i.e game, video editing etc. The CPU temperature is about 50c and the
system 40c.
Am I supposed to do something in the BIOS after I've changed the
hardware FSB jumper?(the current setting is "optimum") There's nothing
in the manual about it.
Thanks for any help or ideas.


What's the temp of the video card GPU?



My video card is a Geforce 440. I don't know how to get a temperature
reading from it. There's nothing in the software.
My PC uses DDR 400 Ram and the video card SDRAM. Could that be the
cause of anything?
Thanks


Nah, and old card like that shouldn't be overheating unless its fan has
died, assuming it has a fan.

--
spammage trappage: replace fishies_ with yahoo

I'm going to die rather sooner than I'd like. I tried to protect my
neighbours from crime, and became the victim of it. To jump to the end
of the story, as a result of this I need a bone marrow transplant. Many
people around the world are waiting for a marrow transplant, too. Please
volunteer to be a marrow donor:
http://www.abmdr.org.au/
http://www.marrow.org/
  #8  
Old December 30th 04, 07:34 AM
spodosaurus
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Mac Cool wrote:
Anthropy:


Everything is fine if I set the FSB to 133MHz (default) but when I
increase it to 166MHz the PC reboots when I run a demanding program
i.e game, video editing etc. The CPU temperature is about 50c and the
system 40c.



The system temp is high.


No it isn't.

Is that the temp at idle or at load? Try running
with the case opened and see if the temps go down and/or rebooting problem
stops. If it does, you need better ventilation.


That never hurts.


--
spammage trappage: replace fishies_ with yahoo

I'm going to die rather sooner than I'd like. I tried to protect my
neighbours from crime, and became the victim of it. To jump to the end
of the story, as a result of this I need a bone marrow transplant. Many
people around the world are waiting for a marrow transplant, too. Please
volunteer to be a marrow donor:
http://www.abmdr.org.au/
http://www.marrow.org/
  #9  
Old December 30th 04, 07:36 AM
spodosaurus
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

David Maynard wrote:
Anthropy wrote:

Hi I recently bought a new Jetway Motherboard and an Athlon AMD 2.6.xp
The RAM is 500mb DDR 400 and is new. The power supply is 450w.
Everything is fine if I set the FSB to 133MHz (default) but when I
increase it to 166MHz the PC reboots when I run a demanding program
i.e game, video editing etc. The CPU temperature is about 50c and the
system 40c.
Am I supposed to do something in the BIOS after I've changed the
hardware FSB jumper?(the current setting is "optimum") There's nothing
in the manual about it.
Thanks for any help or ideas.


Well, is it a 266 or a 333 FSB 2600+ XP?


Did they even make any Thoroughbred (133/266) 2600+ CPUs?

--
spammage trappage: replace fishies_ with yahoo

I'm going to die rather sooner than I'd like. I tried to protect my
neighbours from crime, and became the victim of it. To jump to the end
of the story, as a result of this I need a bone marrow transplant. Many
people around the world are waiting for a marrow transplant, too. Please
volunteer to be a marrow donor:
http://www.abmdr.org.au/
http://www.marrow.org/
  #10  
Old December 30th 04, 08:29 AM
David Maynard
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

spodosaurus wrote:

David Maynard wrote:

Anthropy wrote:

Hi I recently bought a new Jetway Motherboard and an Athlon AMD 2.6.xp
The RAM is 500mb DDR 400 and is new. The power supply is 450w.
Everything is fine if I set the FSB to 133MHz (default) but when I
increase it to 166MHz the PC reboots when I run a demanding program
i.e game, video editing etc. The CPU temperature is about 50c and the
system 40c.
Am I supposed to do something in the BIOS after I've changed the
hardware FSB jumper?(the current setting is "optimum") There's nothing
in the manual about it.
Thanks for any help or ideas.


Well, is it a 266 or a 333 FSB 2600+ XP?


Did they even make any Thoroughbred (133/266) 2600+ CPUs?


Well, if they didn't then there's some sellers who're going to have a heck
of a time providing what they're advertising.

https://www.prismblue.com/shopping/p...ils.php?id=270 is one.

 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need help, please? Continous Reboots... techprincesse Homebuilt PC's 5 September 4th 04 01:16 PM
Random Reboots Chris Stolworthy General 4 June 7th 04 05:34 PM
Need help troubleshooting problem with frequent reboots!! BingBong Homebuilt PC's 5 May 3rd 04 08:25 PM
Machine reboots unexpectedly -help. half_pint General 27 April 12th 04 10:42 PM
PC Random Reboots Hardware Blue Homebuilt PC's 7 January 28th 04 08:57 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004-2022 HardwareBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.