A computer components & hardware forum. HardwareBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » HardwareBanter forum » Processors » Overclocking AMD Processors
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

GA-7VAXP v1.1 and Barton 2500+ OC?



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old December 8th 03, 03:46 PM
Peder
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default GA-7VAXP v1.1 and Barton 2500+ OC?

Hi. I have an unlocked 2500+ and some CAS2 PC3200 RAM on the way and I'm
wondering if anyone is using this combo overclocked. I saw a couple of
forum posts with people running 185 x 12.5-13.5. Any hints on setup? Oh,
I have a good cooler, too (SLK900A). Appreciate any replies. Thanks.

--
Peder (Please reply to group only, email invalid)
  #2  
Old December 9th 03, 12:20 AM
~misfit~
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Peder wrote:
Hi. I have an unlocked 2500+ and some CAS2 PC3200 RAM on the way and
I'm wondering if anyone is using this combo overclocked. I saw a
couple of forum posts with people running 185 x 12.5-13.5. Any hints
on setup? Oh, I have a good cooler, too (SLK900A). Appreciate any
replies. Thanks.


Set it to 200FSB x 11 for a start. I don't know why anyone would go with the
lower FSB and higher multi if your RAM will do 200MHz at CAS 2. You might
have to raise the vcore a tad. Then go from there.
--
~misfit~


---
Outgoing mail is certified Virus Free.
Checked by AVG anti-virus system (http://www.grisoft.com).
Version: 6.0.548 / Virus Database: 341 - Release Date: 5/12/2003


  #3  
Old December 9th 03, 02:54 AM
tHatDudeUK
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default


"~misfit~" wrote in message
...
Peder wrote:
Hi. I have an unlocked 2500+ and some CAS2 PC3200 RAM on the way and
I'm wondering if anyone is using this combo overclocked. I saw a
couple of forum posts with people running 185 x 12.5-13.5. Any hints
on setup? Oh, I have a good cooler, too (SLK900A). Appreciate any
replies. Thanks.


Set it to 200FSB x 11 for a start. I don't know why anyone would go with

the
lower FSB and higher multi if your RAM will do 200MHz at CAS 2. You might
have to raise the vcore a tad. Then go from there.


That board won't do 200mhz FSB I recommend buying a new motherboard. I had
one and got rid of it.


  #4  
Old December 9th 03, 09:14 AM
~misfit~
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

tHatDudeUK wrote:
"~misfit~" wrote in message
...
Peder wrote:
Hi. I have an unlocked 2500+ and some CAS2 PC3200 RAM on the way
and I'm wondering if anyone is using this combo overclocked. I saw
a couple of forum posts with people running 185 x 12.5-13.5. Any
hints on setup? Oh, I have a good cooler, too (SLK900A).
Appreciate any replies. Thanks.


Set it to 200FSB x 11 for a start. I don't know why anyone would go
with the lower FSB and higher multi if your RAM will do 200MHz at
CAS 2. You might have to raise the vcore a tad. Then go from there.


That board won't do 200mhz FSB I recommend buying a new motherboard.
I had one and got rid of it.


OK, that'll teach me for assuming things won't it?
--
~misfit~


---
Outgoing mail is certified Virus Free.
Checked by AVG anti-virus system (http://www.grisoft.com).
Version: 6.0.548 / Virus Database: 341 - Release Date: 5/12/2003


  #5  
Old December 9th 03, 10:07 AM
Peder
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

"~misfit~" wrote in
:


Set it to 200FSB x 11 for a start. I don't know why anyone would go
with the lower FSB and higher multi if your RAM will do 200MHz at CAS
2. You might have to raise the vcore a tad. Then go from there.
--
~misfit~


No PCI/AGP lock...



--
Peder (Please reply to group only, email invalid)
  #6  
Old December 9th 03, 11:34 AM
~misfit~
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Peder wrote:
"~misfit~" wrote in
:


Set it to 200FSB x 11 for a start. I don't know why anyone would go
with the lower FSB and higher multi if your RAM will do 200MHz at CAS
2. You might have to raise the vcore a tad. Then go from there.
--
~misfit~


No PCI/AGP lock...


Oh, not a good idea then. I should shut up when I'm not familiar with the
mobo in question I guess.
--
~misfit~


---
Outgoing mail is certified Virus Free.
Checked by AVG anti-virus system (http://www.grisoft.com).
Version: 6.0.548 / Virus Database: 341 - Release Date: 5/12/2003


  #7  
Old December 9th 03, 09:58 PM
Hippy Paul
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default


"Peder" wrote in message ...
Hi. I have an unlocked 2500+ and some CAS2 PC3200 RAM on the way and I'm
wondering if anyone is using this combo overclocked. I saw a couple of
forum posts with people running 185 x 12.5-13.5. Any hints on setup? Oh,
I have a good cooler, too (SLK900A). Appreciate any replies. Thanks.

--
Peder (Please reply to group only, email invalid)


I suggest accessing the higher multipliers ie 14 (via a pin mod?) and
setting vcore as high as you can - at least 1.85v (and finding a way to get
it higher if your board will allow) and taking the fsb as far as it will go.

As you have a good heatsink, temperatures should not be too much of a
problem (especially as you are not ramping the fsb). Something I found was
that I could not get the fsb to run as fast with a higher multiplier (and
this is not because of a cpu ceiling) so I run a barton 2500+ on my board
(asus a7v333) at either 14x167 @ 1.85v which currently brings 18C case 36C
socket and 46C diode on full load - using a 6 (when I bought it)
Coolermaster HAC-V81 -
or at 15x167 @ 2.1v giving 18C case 50C socket and 60C diode on full load -
with ample case cooling

As stated above the KT 400 chipset will not do 200fsb so all you can really
do with the ram is set cas (CL) as low as you can. I would suggest leaving
memory in synch with the fsb - 185mhz is the most I have heard of on a KT
chipset - I have yet to see it myself - 182 is the best I can get - but I
only have pc2700 ram and a KT333.


 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Worth getting Barton 2500 now that Athlon64 is here? Steve Wolfe General 22 August 23rd 04 11:30 PM
Overclocked 2500 Barton to 3200 using my old Crucial 2100 DDR [email protected] General 5 January 18th 04 09:01 AM
XP 2500 Barton CPU Temperature question Bolton Gate Overclocking AMD Processors 15 November 3rd 03 06:23 AM
Athlon 2500 Barton HSF Bolton Gate Overclocking AMD Processors 13 October 1st 03 07:07 AM
PC2100 DDR Ram with Athlon XP 2500 Barton? Mr. Brian Allen Overclocking AMD Processors 2 July 21st 03 09:13 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2022 HardwareBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.