A computer components & hardware forum. HardwareBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » HardwareBanter forum » System Manufacturers & Vendors » Compaq Computers
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

Compaq Armada 7800 Info Please



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old October 11th 03, 07:43 PM
Seinman
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Compaq Armada 7800 Info Please

I just bought a used 7800. I have 2 questions:

1.There are 2 volume control keys above the power switch on the chassis. How
are they controlled? Is it software? I cannot find software on the HP/Compaq
site that controls them, and they do not appear to adjust the volume.

2. It has an internal modem but no RJ11 port. Does this model have a
proprietary cable?

TIA



  #2  
Old October 16th 03, 07:50 PM
Seinman
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default


"Seinman" wrote in message
...
I just bought a used 7800. I have 2 questions:

1.There are 2 volume control keys above the power switch on the chassis.

How
are they controlled? Is it software? I cannot find software on the

HP/Compaq
site that controls them, and they do not appear to adjust the volume.

2. It has an internal modem but no RJ11 port. Does this model have a
proprietary cable?

TIA



Nobody own/owned one of these?



  #3  
Old October 16th 03, 10:49 PM
BRG
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

"Seinman" wrote in
:


"Seinman" wrote in message
...
I just bought a used 7800. I have 2 questions:

1.There are 2 volume control keys above the power switch on the
chassis.

How
are they controlled? Is it software? I cannot find software on
the

HP/Compaq
site that controls them, and they do not appear to adjust the
volume.

2. It has an internal modem but no RJ11 port. Does this model
have a proprietary cable?

TIA



Nobody own/owned one of these?


Why not RTFM?

....which is readily available via this site:
http://welcome.hp.com/country/us/en/support.html

Select "See support and troubleshooting information"
Type Armada 7800 in the box
Click the button
On the next page select the model from the list

--
BRG
===
http://www.brgservices.co.uk/
  #4  
Old October 16th 03, 11:57 PM
Seinman
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default



Why not RTFM?


Is it necessary to be abusive? I have read the manual, the answer is not in
it. Maybe you should read it.


  #5  
Old October 17th 03, 12:43 AM
David
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Because it is easier for him to pick his ass waiting for everyone else
to do his research

On 16 Oct 2003 21:49:26 GMT, BRG
wrote:

"Seinman" wrote in
:


"Seinman" wrote in message
...
I just bought a used 7800. I have 2 questions:

1.There are 2 volume control keys above the power switch on the
chassis.

How
are they controlled? Is it software? I cannot find software on
the

HP/Compaq
site that controls them, and they do not appear to adjust the
volume.

2. It has an internal modem but no RJ11 port. Does this model
have a proprietary cable?

TIA



Nobody own/owned one of these?


Why not RTFM?

...which is readily available via this site:
http://welcome.hp.com/country/us/en/support.html

Select "See support and troubleshooting information"
Type Armada 7800 in the box
Click the button
On the next page select the model from the list


  #6  
Old October 17th 03, 01:31 AM
Seinman
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Because it is easier for him to pick his ass waiting for everyone else
to do his research


Excuse me, I have done numerous amounts of research on this without an
answer. This is a question that seems can only be answered by personal
experience. ie. someone who owns this model with the factory settings.

Why not contribute something useful instead of making incorrect assertions?


  #7  
Old October 17th 03, 10:22 AM
BRG
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

"Seinman" wrote in
:



Why not RTFM?


Is it necessary to be abusive?


I wasn't. Maybe you are being over-sensitive?

I have read the manual, the
answer is not in it. Maybe you should read it.


It's your problem not mine. I pointed you to a source of
information, but it's down to you to Read The Fine Manual.

Suggest you try asking in the relevant forum for Armadas at HP's
site as well.


--
BRG
===
http://www.brgservices.co.uk/
  #8  
Old October 17th 03, 11:16 AM
Seinman
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Why not RTFM?

Is it necessary to be abusive?


I wasn't. Maybe you are being over-sensitive?


Actually the manual is not even on HP's site, what I have read is the
service manual which is there. I understand what you are saying, but what
does the "F" mean in "RTFM"?


  #9  
Old October 17th 03, 11:48 AM
BRG
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

"Seinman" wrote in
:

Why not RTFM?

Is it necessary to be abusive?


I wasn't. Maybe you are being over-sensitive?


Actually the manual is not even on HP's site, what I have read
is the service manual which is there. I understand what you are
saying, but what does the "F" mean in "RTFM"?



Re-read my previous response.

--
BRG
===
http://www.brgservices.co.uk/
  #10  
Old October 17th 03, 12:18 PM
Seinman
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default


Re-read my previous response.


Well if the "F" stands for fine, then I apologise, I was being
over-sensitive.


 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FA: 3 Compaq Armada M700 laptops - GREAT PRICE! FREE SHIPPING IN THE USA!!! TrueAmerican General 1 December 5th 04 05:20 AM
Compaq FAQ HH Compaq Computers 0 October 3rd 03 04:09 PM
Compaq FAQ HH Compaq Computers 1 August 7th 03 11:24 PM
Compaq FAQ HH Compaq Computers 0 August 7th 03 04:22 PM
Compaq Armada 7800 will not start with battery Damien Compaq Computers 4 July 27th 03 10:48 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2022 HardwareBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.