A computer components & hardware forum. HardwareBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » HardwareBanter forum » General Hardware & Peripherals » General
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

Add PCI card gives 1 Long 2 Short Beeps



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old October 5th 03, 06:36 PM
Jane Tweedynn
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Add PCI card gives 1 Long 2 Short Beeps

I have a three year old PC PIII 500, 64MB with Voodoo 3 16MB card.

Computer works perfectly fine and always has. I recently purchased a
Firewire & USB combo card which when i put in any of the 5 free pci slots
and power on the computer, instantly beeps 1 long and 2 short. Although the
computers hard drive turns for a while i have no video output.

When the card is out, the computer works fine, when the card is in the
computer beeps.

I know the card is seated correctly and i have tried the card in another pc
and it works fine.

I was about to send card back, after all the card does not work in my pc.

Is this possible? Can some cards not work in some pc's? Surely if this is
the case the manufacturer should state this?

If this is not possible, then the only thing i can change to make it work is
the bios. I have no problem changing options, i can always do a restore.
Trouble is i don't know what to change.

Anyone with any ideas before i admit defeat and return the card.



  #2  
Old October 5th 03, 06:47 PM
Shepİ
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

On Sun, 5 Oct 2003 18:36:50 +0100, Knowing that it was a Hollywood
invention that lemmings jump off cliffs "Jane Tweedynn"
wrote :

I have a three year old PC PIII 500, 64MB with Voodoo 3 16MB card.

Computer works perfectly fine and always has. I recently purchased a
Firewire & USB combo card which when i put in any of the 5 free pci slots
and power on the computer, instantly beeps 1 long and 2 short. Although the
computers hard drive turns for a while i have no video output.

When the card is out, the computer works fine, when the card is in the
computer beeps.

I know the card is seated correctly and i have tried the card in another pc
and it works fine.

I was about to send card back, after all the card does not work in my pc.

Is this possible? Can some cards not work in some pc's? Surely if this is
the case the manufacturer should state this?

If this is not possible, then the only thing i can change to make it work is
the bios. I have no problem changing options, i can always do a restore.
Trouble is i don't know what to change.

Anyone with any ideas before i admit defeat and return the card.



Check the board maker's site for a BIOS update?



--
Free Windows/PC help,
It's a G not a J in jmx to reply
http://www.geocities.com/sheppola/trouble.html
Free songs download,
http://www.soundclick.com/bands/8/nomessiahsmusic.htm
  #3  
Old October 5th 03, 09:32 PM
Jane Tweedynn
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default


Is this possible? Can some cards not work in some pc's? Surely if this

is
the case the manufacturer should state this?

If this is not possible, then the only thing i can change to make it work

is
the bios. I have no problem changing options, i can always do a restore.
Trouble is i don't know what to change.

Anyone with any ideas before i admit defeat and return the card.



Check the board maker's site for a BIOS update?


Thanks, just updated BIOS. Unfortunately i still have the same problem. It
just doesn't make any sense!


  #4  
Old October 5th 03, 11:21 PM
kony
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

On Sun, 5 Oct 2003 21:32:25 +0100, "Jane Tweedynn"
wrote:


Is this possible? Can some cards not work in some pc's? Surely if this

is
the case the manufacturer should state this?

If this is not possible, then the only thing i can change to make it work

is
the bios. I have no problem changing options, i can always do a restore.
Trouble is i don't know what to change.

Anyone with any ideas before i admit defeat and return the card.



Check the board maker's site for a BIOS update?


Thanks, just updated BIOS. Unfortunately i still have the same problem. It
just doesn't make any sense!


I would expect a conflict between this new card and the video card...
that might be checked by swapping in a different video card.


Dave

  #5  
Old October 6th 03, 12:07 AM
Shepİ
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

On Sun, 5 Oct 2003 21:32:25 +0100, Knowing that it was a Hollywood
invention that lemmings jump off cliffs "Jane Tweedynn"
wrote :


Is this possible? Can some cards not work in some pc's? Surely if this

is
the case the manufacturer should state this?

If this is not possible, then the only thing i can change to make it work

is
the bios. I have no problem changing options, i can always do a restore.
Trouble is i don't know what to change.

Anyone with any ideas before i admit defeat and return the card.



Check the board maker's site for a BIOS update?


Thanks, just updated BIOS. Unfortunately i still have the same problem. It
just doesn't make any sense!




Unfortunately some cards don't work in some systems :/
I have an ECS board and you can't use any Netgear NICs on it IIRC





--
Free Windows/PC help,
It's a G not a J in jmx to reply
http://www.geocities.com/sheppola/trouble.html
Free songs download,
http://www.soundclick.com/bands/8/nomessiahsmusic.htm
  #6  
Old October 6th 03, 01:15 AM
JT
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

On Mon, 06 Oct 2003 00:07:07 +0100, Shepİ wrote:

On Sun, 5 Oct 2003 21:32:25 +0100, Knowing that it was a Hollywood
invention that lemmings jump off cliffs "Jane Tweedynn"
wrote :


Is this possible? Can some cards not work in some pc's? Surely if this

is
the case the manufacturer should state this?

If this is not possible, then the only thing i can change to make it work

is
the bios. I have no problem changing options, i can always do a restore.
Trouble is i don't know what to change.

Anyone with any ideas before i admit defeat and return the card.



Check the board maker's site for a BIOS update?


Thanks, just updated BIOS. Unfortunately i still have the same problem. It
just doesn't make any sense!




Unfortunately some cards don't work in some systems :/
I have an ECS board and you can't use any Netgear NICs on it IIRC

We have found 2 cards that will cause a K7S5A not to boot. One is the
Netgear NIC (FA 311 I think) and the other is a Lava PCI Parallel interface
card. Other network cards and parallel interface work fine, but we tried
several of each of the Netgear an Lava cards, same symptoms every time,
every revision, every BIOS. Just stopped fighting it, and used a different
model.

JT
 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding ATA 133 Controller Card Michael L. Coleman General 4 September 21st 03 07:20 AM
Where to get replacement video card fan? Or maybe just use a heatsink? Vanguard General 3 September 20th 03 07:24 PM
Video card memory too low BuDMaN General 4 September 12th 03 01:27 AM
What specs to look for in a video card to run 22" monitor at high resolutions Steve Rossiter General 7 September 7th 03 05:20 AM
Replacing AGP card prevents boot Vanguard General 0 August 10th 03 01:52 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright İ2004-2022 HardwareBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.