A computer components & hardware forum. HardwareBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » HardwareBanter forum » General Hardware & Peripherals » Homebuilt PC's
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

nVidia GeForce FX 5200



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old July 14th 03, 01:24 AM
PentiumPunk
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default nVidia GeForce FX 5200

Any comments about the nVidia GeForce FX 5200 card? Is it a good buy, or no?
How does it compare to ATI?


  #2  
Old July 14th 03, 01:30 AM
John P.
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

PentiumPunk wrote:
Any comments about the nVidia GeForce FX 5200 card? Is it a good buy, or no?
How does it compare to ATI?


I have one. I'd tell you how it works, but I have no idea. I've never
managed to make it do that. One tech told me it was a compatibility
issue with my system (an HP), so I replace the MB, CPU, & Power supply
with **** hot new stuff... and the FX5200 still won't work. Took that
one back and got another one... that one doesn't work either. Just
freezes the system.

  #3  
Old July 14th 03, 06:15 AM
Wheat Muncher
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

John P. put me in my place by writing

PentiumPunk wrote:
Any comments about the nVidia GeForce FX 5200 card? Is it a good buy,
or no? How does it compare to ATI?


I have one. I'd tell you how it works, but I have no idea. I've never
managed to make it do that. One tech told me it was a compatibility
issue with my system (an HP), so I replace the MB, CPU, & Power supply
with **** hot new stuff... and the FX5200 still won't work. Took that
one back and got another one... that one doesn't work either. Just
freezes the system.



Do the 5200's have the AGP and PCI slot on them?
I wonder if it possibly has something to do with pallette snooping and
default boot display?
Just a quick thought...

--
Wheaty...


Gimme the ball... puhhllleeeeaaasssse gimme the ball!
  #4  
Old July 14th 03, 09:05 AM
Strontium
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I wasn't aware that video cards had slots, on them?

-
Wheat Muncher stood up, at show-n-tell, and said:

John P. put me in my place by writing

PentiumPunk wrote:
Any comments about the nVidia GeForce FX 5200 card? Is it a good
buy, or no? How does it compare to ATI?


I have one. I'd tell you how it works, but I have no idea. I've never
managed to make it do that. One tech told me it was a compatibility
issue with my system (an HP), so I replace the MB, CPU, & Power
supply with **** hot new stuff... and the FX5200 still won't work.
Took that one back and got another one... that one doesn't work
either. Just freezes the system.



Do the 5200's have the AGP and PCI slot on them?
I wonder if it possibly has something to do with pallette snooping and
default boot display?
Just a quick thought...


--
Strontium

"Shortcuts are self-defeating. Mean. If you cannot do it,
clean, you'll never reach your reward..." - 311



  #5  
Old July 14th 03, 09:11 AM
Wheat Muncher
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Strontium put me in my place by writing

I wasn't aware that video cards had slots, on them?

-

Oh for the love of pearl.... you know what I meant I should hope... the bus
connection type- Does it require and AGP as well as a PCI?



--
Wheaty...


Gimme the ball... puhhllleeeeaaasssse gimme the ball!
  #6  
Old July 14th 03, 09:31 AM
Strontium
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Video cards are either PCI, or AGP. And, no, I did not know what you
meant. You were way out, in left field, at least to me.


-
Wheat Muncher stood up, at show-n-tell, and said:

Strontium put me in my place by writing

I wasn't aware that video cards had slots, on them?

-

Oh for the love of pearl.... you know what I meant I should hope...
the bus connection type- Does it require and AGP as well as a PCI?


--
Strontium

"Shortcuts are self-defeating. Mean. If you cannot do it,
clean, you'll never reach your reward..." - 311



  #7  
Old July 14th 03, 12:53 PM
bluestringer
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default


"Wheat Muncher" wrote in message
...
Strontium put me in my place by writing

Video cards are either PCI, or AGP. And, no, I did not know what you
meant. You were way out, in left field, at least to me.


LOL...sorry then. Some of the Nvidia FX cards required two slots- The AGP
and the PCI1 slot. I am not sure if they ever made it onto the market with
that configuration, or if the vendors changed that. It was going to be a
headache at any rate, and the noise earned them the moniker "dustbuster"
That may have just been the prototype design, I never ordered any of these
cards simply because of that fact, but opted for the TI series. They are a
nice card.
Now going through some of my suppliers... it was a simple error on my
part...sorry to have upset you so.



--
Wheaty...


Gimme the ball... puhhllleeeeaaasssse gimme the ball!


The FX 5800 and 5900 take up the PCI next to the AGP slot, but it doesn't
use it. It only uses the AGP slot. The cooling system on them makes them
wider, so the PCI slot is covered by the card. The FX5200 is the budget card
and only requires the AGP slot. Most of them use passive cooling.



bluestringer



  #8  
Old July 14th 03, 05:51 PM
Wheat Muncher
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Strontium put me in my place by writing

Video cards are either PCI, or AGP. And, no, I did not know what you
meant. You were way out, in left field, at least to me.


LOL...sorry then. Some of the Nvidia FX cards required two slots- The AGP
and the PCI1 slot. I am not sure if they ever made it onto the market with
that configuration, or if the vendors changed that. It was going to be a
headache at any rate, and the noise earned them the moniker "dustbuster"
That may have just been the prototype design, I never ordered any of these
cards simply because of that fact, but opted for the TI series. They are a
nice card.
Now going through some of my suppliers... it was a simple error on my
part...sorry to have upset you so.



--
Wheaty...


Gimme the ball... puhhllleeeeaaasssse gimme the ball!
  #9  
Old July 14th 03, 07:37 PM
Strontium
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

You didn't upset me

-
Wheat Muncher stood up, at show-n-tell, and said:

Strontium put me in my place by writing

Video cards are either PCI, or AGP. And, no, I did not know what
you meant. You were way out, in left field, at least to me.


LOL...sorry then. Some of the Nvidia FX cards required two slots- The
AGP and the PCI1 slot. I am not sure if they ever made it onto the
market with that configuration, or if the vendors changed that. It
was going to be a headache at any rate, and the noise earned them the
moniker "dustbuster" That may have just been the prototype design, I
never ordered any of these cards simply because of that fact, but
opted for the TI series. They are a nice card.
Now going through some of my suppliers... it was a simple error on my
part...sorry to have upset you so.


--
Strontium

"Shortcuts are self-defeating. Mean. If you cannot do it,
clean, you'll never reach your reward..." - 311



  #10  
Old July 16th 03, 02:32 AM
MCheu
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

On Wed, 16 Jul 2003 00:45:50 +0100, "lates"
wrote::


"PentiumPunk" wrote in message
.com...
Any comments about the nVidia GeForce FX 5200 card? Is it a good buy, or

no?
How does it compare to ATI?

HI DUDE MY MATES GOT 1 AND ITS KINDA COOL BUT IF YA DONT MIND SPENDING A

BIT MORE YOU WANNA GET THE PROLINK GEFORCE FX5600 YOU GET A LOT MORE FOR YA
MONEY AND IT LOOKS SOLID TOO

NICE SOFTWARE BUNDLE

LATES.


You CAPS-LOCK key is stuck or your ISP's news server is doing
something weird to your posting. Might want to look in to that.


----------------------------------------
Thanks,

MCheu
 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
XFX GeForce 5200 [email protected] General 1 January 16th 05 06:21 AM
Performance Comparison: Nvidia Fx 5200 or GeForce 4 Ti 4200 Falcon1209 General 13 October 30th 04 02:26 AM
nvidia geforce mx 2 400 Giggio Overclocking 0 July 11th 04 09:49 AM
my new mobo o/c's great rockerrock Overclocking AMD Processors 9 June 30th 04 08:17 PM
nVidia GeForce 5700LE overclockability Javi Overclocking 1 June 25th 04 07:41 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2022 HardwareBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.